People of Northwest Public Radio
Minimum Wage In Oregon
Mon September 17, 2012
Oregon's Minimum Wage Will Go Up In January
Oregon's minimum wage will go up 15 cents in January to $8.95 an hour. State Labor Commissioner Brad Avakian made the announcement Monday in Springfield.
Avakian spoke to reporters at the Sheet Metal Institute Campus, where high school students can get vocational training. As mandated by voters in 2002, the minimum wage is calculated based on the consumer price index.
Since the CPI went up by 1.7 percent from August 2011 to 2012, Avakian says Oregon's minimum wage will go up by 15 cents. Washington is the only state with a higher minimum wage, at $9.04 an hour.
Avakian: "I think it's heartening to know that both of our states have stood up for working families and decided that we're going to protect a strong minimum wage for our wage-earners."
Avakian says he does not hear many complaints from Oregon businesses about the minimum wage. He says the state has struck a balance between taking care of workers and businesses.
Copyright 2012 KLCC
On the Web:
Minimum wage laws by state: