Invasive Species http://nwpr.org en Cut The Carp: Turning Around Malheur Refuge One Carp Carcass At A Time http://nwpr.org/post/cut-carp-turning-around-malheur-refuge-one-carp-carcass-time <p>What could be the largest carp removal project in history is underway at the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge in Southeast Oregon.</p><p>EarthFix’s Devan Schwartz reports on the attempts to curb the invasive fish that has destroyed bird habitat for decades. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 14:25:24 +0000 Devan Schwartz 47233 at http://nwpr.org Cut The Carp: Turning Around Malheur Refuge One Carp Carcass At A Time Stink Bug Spread Alarms to Growers And Scientists http://nwpr.org/post/stink-bug-spread-alarms-growers-and-scientists <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A malodorous invasive bug has gone from a worry to a certifiable nuisance for some Northwest farmers and gardeners. The name of this insect is a mouthful: the brown </span>marmorated<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> stink bug. Researchers say the population really seems to have taken off this year. With the approach of winter, these stink bugs are leaving the fields and may just crawl into your home.</span></p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 14:54:48 +0000 Tom Banse 36640 at http://nwpr.org Stink Bug Spread Alarms to Growers And Scientists Plum Assignment: Inspecting Oregon Christmas Trees In Hawaii http://nwpr.org/post/plum-assignment-inspecting-oregon-christmas-trees-hawaii <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/103113CL_xmastrees_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A trio of Oregon entomologists has a plum assignment this holiday season. They're heading to Hawaii to help spot pests trying to hitch a ride to paradise on the branches of Oregon-grown Christmas trees.<p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 23:47:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 36611 at http://nwpr.org Plum Assignment: Inspecting Oregon Christmas Trees In Hawaii Fighting (And Cooking) Invasive Crayfish In Northwest Waters http://nwpr.org/post/fighting-and-cooking-invasive-crayfish-northwest-waters <p>Gumbo and Jambalaya may not be at the top of traditional Northwest menus, but if the invasive red swamp crayfish has its way, that could change. The crayfish – also known as a crawfish or crawdad – is native to the Southeastern U.S. and the Gulf Coast.</p><p>But over the past decade this firey-clawed, and delicious, crustacean has moved in on Northwestern lakes. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix.</p><p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 13:12:37 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 30965 at http://nwpr.org Fighting (And Cooking) Invasive Crayfish In Northwest Waters Study: Cheatgrass Severity Affected By Grazing http://nwpr.org/post/study-cheatgrass-severity-affected-grazing <p>A new study out of Oregon State University suggests that overgrazing could be helping an invasive grass to flourish. That differs from previous studies that have found grazing can better manage that plant -- cheatgrass -- which threatens rangeland habitat. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more.</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 14:18:22 +0000 Courtney Flatt 27414 at http://nwpr.org Preparing for Zebra Mussels in the Pacific Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/preparing-zebra-mussels-pacific-northwest <p></p><p>Invasive zebra mussels could soon be heading toward the Pacific Northwest. So, researchers are working to protect and prepare the region’s waterways. Sat, 30 Mar 2013 00:29:25 +0000 Courtney Flatt 25105 at http://nwpr.org Preparing for Zebra Mussels in the Pacific Northwest Boat Washed Ashore Near Newport Possible Tsunami Debris http://nwpr.org/post/boat-washed-ashore-near-newport-possible-tsunami-debris <p></p><p>A boat that washed ashore on Gleneden Beach near Newport on the Central Oregon Coast appears to be debris from the March 2011 Japan tsunami. Thu, 07 Feb 2013 00:13:31 +0000 Rachael McDonald 22346 at http://nwpr.org Boat Washed Ashore Near Newport Possible Tsunami Debris Biologists Try To Clean Invasive Species Off Tsunami Dock http://nwpr.org/post/biologists-try-clean-invasive-species-tsunami-dock <p></p><p>Federal and state biologists are trekking back to a remote beach in Olympic National Park where a large dock washed ashore. The concrete and steel dock appears to have drifted across the Pacific Ocean after last year's tsunami in Japan. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 02:16:35 +0000 Tom Banse 20681 at http://nwpr.org Biologists Try To Clean Invasive Species Off Tsunami Dock Crater Lake National Park Bans Scuba Diving, Fearing Invasives http://nwpr.org/post/crater-lake-national-park-bans-scuba-diving-fearing-invasives National park officials have abruptly closed Crater Lake to scuba divers. They say they need time to develop rules to keep invasive species out of the Southern Oregon lake. Amelia Templeton of Earthfix reports. <p> Scuba diving in Crater Lake is tricky. The lake sits on the Cascade crest at about 6,000 feet. So divers have to take precautions to handle the elevation. And then there’s the steep, rocky trail to the lake shore. Thu, 30 Aug 2012 12:52:13 +0000 Amelia Templeton 14356 at http://nwpr.org Northwest States Ask Public To 'Squeal' On Feral Pigs http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-states-ask-public-squeal-feral-pigs <p>Washington, Oregon and Idaho are joining forces to track populations of feral pigs across the Northwest. These &ldquo;hogs gone wild&rdquo; can do massive damage to the landscape. And wildlife agents want to know where swine are on the move. They&rsquo;re even launching a so-called &ldquo;swine line&rdquo; for people to call with sightings. Tue, 24 Jul 2012 00:32:53 +0000 Jessica Robinson 12126 at http://nwpr.org Northwest States Ask Public To 'Squeal' On Feral Pigs