Ecology http://nwpr.org en Spill Cleanup From Sunken Vessel Near Longview Continues http://nwpr.org/post/spill-cleanup-sunken-vessel-near-longview-continues <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/082913TB_Kent_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A spill cleanup crew remains on the scene Thursday near Longview where an old wooden boat sunk in a side channel of the Columbia River.<p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 23:36:19 +0000 Tom Banse 33384 at http://nwpr.org Spill Cleanup From Sunken Vessel Near Longview Continues USDA Funds Effort To Cool Northwest Streams With Credit Trading http://nwpr.org/post/usda-funds-effort-cool-northwest-streams-credit-trading <p>Two Oregon conservation groups have a new idea for cooling down streams. Their plan is similar to the credits used to offset carbon emissions. And today, the federal government is backing the plan with a grant. Amelia Templeton of Earthfix explains. Fri, 24 Aug 2012 14:26:38 +0000 Amelia Templeton 14021 at http://nwpr.org State Changes Course On Water Regulation http://nwpr.org/post/state-changes-course-water-regulation The Department of Ecology recently decided not to change the fish consumption rate in Washington. The rate is important because it drives regulatory standards for water quality. In other words how much seafood we eat determines how clean our water is.Indian tribes and environmentalists say the current rate is dangerously low. Lesley McClurg explains. <p> Jim Peters has been a longtime fisherman. <p> Peters: "My kids, we eat a lot of fish, and shellfish. Wed, 22 Aug 2012 13:15:15 +0000 Lesley McClurg 13876 at http://nwpr.org Clean Water: The Next Act - Seattle's Duwamish River Part II http://nwpr.org/post/clean-water-next-act-seattles-duwamish-river-part-ii <p>This fall marks the 40th Anniversary of the Clean Water Act &ndash; a piece of legislation that changed the way waterbodies in this country are regulated and protected.</p><p>Pollution was supposed to be curtailed so that fish from all the waters in America would be safe for people to eat. 40 years later, though, many waterways still bear fish too tainted to consume safely.</p><p>One of the most polluted waterways in the Northwest is Seattle&rsquo;s Duwamish River. We&rsquo;re taking a look at the Duwamish as part of EarthFix&rsquo;s series &ldquo;Clean Water: The Next Act.&rdquo; Thu, 19 Jul 2012 13:05:36 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 11876 at http://nwpr.org Clean Water: The Next Act - Seattle's Duwamish River Part II Tsunami Debris Dock Gets Scrubdown, Attracts Onlookers http://nwpr.org/post/tsunami-debris-dock-gets-scrubdown-attracts-onlookers <p>A giant piece of Japanese tsunami debris on the Oregon coast is now scraped free of what marine biologists worried were invasive species. The floating dock landed on the beach near Newport this week. Park rangers and volunteers worked quickly [today] Thursday to remove seaweed, mussels and barnacles, some of which are found only in Japanese waters. Meanwhile, the massive hulk has attracted hundreds of onlookers. Correspondent Tom Banse spoke with O.J Cortez of Reedsport. Fri, 08 Jun 2012 13:43:38 +0000 Tom Banse 9679 at http://nwpr.org Gawkers Welcome, Invasive Species Not, Around Tsunami Debris Dock http://nwpr.org/post/gawkers-welcome-invasive-species-not-around-tsunami-debris-dock <p>Park rangers and volunteers worked quickly Thursday to defuse an invasive species time bomb that washed up near Newport, Oregon. They scraped off and sterilized a huge boat dock that was set adrift by last year&rsquo;s terrible tsunami in Japan. Correspondent Tom Banse reports from the Oregon Coast. Fri, 08 Jun 2012 13:37:29 +0000 Tom Banse 9677 at http://nwpr.org Gawkers Welcome, Invasive Species Not, Around Tsunami Debris Dock Deep-Sea Stowaways Get A Leg Up From Scientists http://nwpr.org/post/deep-sea-stowaways-get-leg-scientists <p>Scientists working more than a mile underwater off the Washington coast have learned that the bottom of the ocean is surprisingly vulnerable to human disturbance. Even from scientists. KUOW&#39;s John Ryan reports from Seattle. Fri, 08 Jun 2012 13:28:06 +0000 John Ryan 9675 at http://nwpr.org