Portland http://nwpr.org en Contamination Leads Portland To Issue Water Boil Order http://nwpr.org/post/contamination-leads-portland-issue-water-boil-order <p>The city of Portland has issued <a href="https://www.portlandoregon.gov/water/">a boil water notice for all Portland Water Bureau</a> customers.</p><p>Until further notice, all customers should boil all tap water used for drinking, food preparation, tooth brushing and ice. The water should boil for at least one minute. Ice or any beverages prepared with un-boiled tap water on or after May 20 should be discarded.</p><p> Sat, 24 May 2014 01:14:58 +0000 Eve Epstein 46427 at http://nwpr.org Contamination Leads Portland To Issue Water Boil Order Displaced By Development Urban Goat Herd Needs A New Home http://nwpr.org/post/displaced-development-urban-goat-herd-needs-new-home <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A herd of goats is getting the boot in Portland. The goats had been living on a lot in the city's southeast neighborhood, where a developer has been using them to keep the grass down. But now an apartment building is about to go up. So the goats will have to get out. That leaves a lot of people wondering how to keep goats in the city.</span></p><p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 14:33:57 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37919 at http://nwpr.org Displaced By Development Urban Goat Herd Needs A New Home Portland Selected To Host International Track And Field Event http://nwpr.org/post/portland-selected-host-international-track-and-field-event <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">International track and field organizers announced today that Portland will host the 2016 World Indoor Championships. Event organizers predict more than two thousand hotel rooms will be booked.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 16 Nov 2013 00:53:18 +0000 Sergio Cisneros 37400 at http://nwpr.org Portland Selected To Host International Track And Field Event You Can See It! Willamette Falls Open to Public For The First Time in 100 Years http://nwpr.org/post/you-can-see-it-willamette-falls-open-public-first-time-100-years <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New plans for a former paper mill site south of Portland would allow public access to one of the largest waterfalls in the country for the first time in 100 years.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 14:22:08 +0000 Cassandra Profita 35571 at http://nwpr.org You Can See It! Willamette Falls Open to Public For The First Time in 100 Years Hundreds Gather In Portland For Conference On Climate Change Science http://nwpr.org/post/hundreds-gather-portland-conference-climate-change-science <p></p><p>Hundreds of scientists and environmental managers from across the Pacific Northwest are gathering in Portland this week for a two-day conference on climate science.</p><p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 13:27:15 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33685 at http://nwpr.org Portland Manufacturer Challenges Its Ranking As Top Toxic Polluter http://nwpr.org/post/portland-manufacturer-challenges-its-ranking-top-toxic-polluter <p></p><p>Portland-based manufacturer Precision Castparts is denouncing a recent study that ranked the company number one in the nation for toxic air pollution.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:36:02 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33407 at http://nwpr.org Portland-Based Manufacturer Tops List Of Toxic Polluters http://nwpr.org/post/portland-based-manufacturer-tops-list-toxic-polluters <p></p><p>The Portland-based manufacturing firm Precision Castparts Corporation is the number one toxic air polluter in the country in a new ranking released by the University of Massachusetts.</p><p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 14:02:53 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33024 at http://nwpr.org Nation's First Tiny House Hotel Opens In Portland http://nwpr.org/post/nations-first-tiny-house-hotel-opens-portland <p>The country's first tiny house hotel is holding its grand opening in Portland on Saturday. The Caravan Tiny House Hotel invites guests to stay in one of three tiny homes as if they were hotel rooms. For EarthFix, Cassandra Profita reports.</p><p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 13:58:07 +0000 Cassandra Profita 31691 at http://nwpr.org Nation's First Tiny House Hotel Opens In Portland Interior Secretary Jewell Makes First Visit To Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/interior-secretary-jewell-makes-first-visit-northwest <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Interior Secretary Sally Jewell made her first public stop in the Northwest in Portland today, six weeks into the job. Amelia Templeton from our </span>EarthFix<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> team reports that local activists wanted to know how she will handle coal leases on federal land.</span></p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 14:04:48 +0000 Amelia Templeton 28083 at http://nwpr.org Fluoride Measure Fails In Portland http://nwpr.org/post/fluoride-measure-fails-portland <p>Unofficial results show Portland's fluoridation measure going down by a resounding 60-to-40 margin. Oregon Public Broadcasting's April Baer reports opponents got the upper hand despite being outspent two-to-one.</p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:29:35 +0000 April Baer 27947 at http://nwpr.org