Debris http://nwpr.org en New Wave of Suspected Tsunami Debris Washes Ashore http://nwpr.org/post/new-wave-suspected-tsunami-debris-washes-ashore <p>A new wave of suspected debris from the devastating 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan is washing up on Northwest shores. The latest noteworthy object to arrive, a large skiff coated with sea life, was found Thursday near Moclips, Wash.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 01:32:59 +0000 Tom Banse 46717 at http://nwpr.org New Wave of Suspected Tsunami Debris Washes Ashore Washington Shuts Down Tsunami Marine Debris Hotline http://nwpr.org/post/washington-shuts-down-tsunami-marine-debris-hotline <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121113TB_Debris_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington and other Pacific Coast states set up tsunami debris reporting hotlines in the wake of the 2011 disaster in Japan.<p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 00:20:55 +0000 Tom Banse 38585 at http://nwpr.org Washington Shuts Down Tsunami Marine Debris Hotline Wash. and Ore. Get More Tsunami Debris Cleanup Money http://nwpr.org/post/wash-and-ore-get-more-tsunami-debris-cleanup-money <p>Here on the western coast of the U.S., we have a special connection to Japan. The ocean between us keeps bringing remnants from the massive tsunami there. It left more than 16,000 people dead. The debris is expensive to remove and can carry invasive species with it.</p><p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:48:08 +0000 Sara Lerner 27822 at http://nwpr.org Tsunami Debris Dock Decontaminated; Removal Poses Next Challenge http://nwpr.org/post/tsunami-debris-dock-decontaminated-removal-poses-next-challenge <p>State and federal biologists say they are confident they have minimized the invasive species threat posed by a derelict dock that washed ashore last month in Olympic National Park. The concrete and steel dock appears to have drifted across the Pacific Ocean after last year's tsunami in Japan. But correspondent Tom Banse reports the story is not over yet. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 14:11:34 +0000 Tom Banse 20796 at http://nwpr.org Tsunami Debris Dock Decontaminated; Removal Poses Next Challenge Lull Or Tail End Of Japanese Tsunami Debris? http://nwpr.org/post/lull-or-tail-end-japanese-tsunami-debris <p>It’s been more than four months since the last confirmed piece of Japanese tsunami debris washed ashore on the Pacific Northwest coast. Even sightings of suspected disaster debris have tapered way off in recent months. Does that mean we’re just in a lull or past the worst of it? Correspondent Tom Banse reports from the coast. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 14:23:06 +0000 Tom Banse 19408 at http://nwpr.org Lull Or Tail End Of Japanese Tsunami Debris? Hundreds Turn Out To Clean Up Coastal Beaches http://nwpr.org/post/hundreds-turn-out-clean-coastal-beaches More than 700 volunteers turned out Thursday to help pick up litter and flotsam on the Oregon and southwest Washington coasts. Volunteers were on alert for debris from last year's tsunami in Japan. There were some possible new finds on Long Beach, Washington. Correspondent Tom Banse reports. <p> The fifth of July is a traditional beach cleanup day in Manzanita and Seaside, Oregon and on Washington's Long Beach Peninsula. The coordinator of Manzanita's cleanup estimates the three dump truck loads hauled away were "99 percent fireworks" related. Fri, 06 Jul 2012 12:59:20 +0000 Tom Banse 11200 at http://nwpr.org Hundreds Turn Out To Clean Up Coastal Beaches Oregon Sets Out Dumpsters For Tsunami Debris Clean-up http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-sets-out-dumpsters-tsunami-debris-clean <p>Oregon is putting out dumpsters at coastal parks for beachgoers to throw away tsunami debris. Governor John Kitzhaber announced Thursday he&rsquo;s appointed an interagency team to coordinate efforts to dispose of materials washed up from last year&rsquo;s Japanese tsunami. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 14:29:43 +0000 Virginia Alvino 10868 at http://nwpr.org No Decision Yet On The Fate of Tsunami Debris http://nwpr.org/post/no-decision-yet-fate-tsunami-debris <p>Oregon Parks officials are still weighing their options for the giant piece of tsunami debris that washed up on the Oregon coast this week. The Japanese dock continues to draw onlookers to the beach near Newport. Mon, 11 Jun 2012 14:04:22 +0000 Virginia Alvino 9796 at http://nwpr.org Spy Satellites Used In Search For Tsunami Debris http://nwpr.org/post/spy-satellites-used-search-tsunami-debris <p>Another piece of confirmed tsunami debris &ndash; part of a restaurant sign &ndash; has washed ashore in Alaska. But marine scientists can&rsquo;t say how much other Japanese disaster debris is trailing behind. This problem surfaced at a U.S. Senate hearing Thursday. As correspondent Tom Banse reports, researchers are now getting some access to spy satellite imagery. Fri, 18 May 2012 13:35:30 +0000 Tom Banse 8537 at http://nwpr.org Spy Satellites Used In Search For Tsunami Debris