Native Americans http://nwpr.org en Native Corporation With Northwest Shareholders Picks New Leaders http://nwpr.org/post/native-corporation-northwest-shareholders-picks-new-leaders <p>A Native American-owned corporation with thousands of shareholders in the Pacific Northwest has new leadership. The Alaska-based business is trying to bounce back from heavy losses. CoastAlaska’s Ed Schoenfeld reports from Juneau. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 13:36:51 +0000 Ed Schoenfeld 48727 at http://nwpr.org Native Corporation With Northwest Shareholders Picks New Leaders Proposed Tribal Recognition Changes Hold Promise And Pitfalls http://nwpr.org/post/proposed-tribal-recognition-changes-hold-promise-and-pitfalls <p>The U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs wants to rewrite the rules for when a native tribe is officially a tribe - in the eyes of the feds. This again raises hopes for status and federal benefits among some unrecognized tribes in the West. Those hopefuls still face a bumpy road.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 00:27:59 +0000 Tom Banse 48378 at http://nwpr.org Proposed Tribal Recognition Changes Hold Promise And Pitfalls Could An Alliance Of Tribes And Farmers Solve Klamath’s Water Woes? http://nwpr.org/post/could-alliance-tribes-and-farmers-solve-klamath-s-water-woes <p>Much of the West is entering a second straight summer of drought. In Southern Oregon’s Klamath Basin, ranchers are once again watching their pastureland go dry for a lack of water. That has them preparing to sell their livestock earlier – and for lower prices – than they’d like. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:18:28 +0000 Devan Schwartz 48343 at http://nwpr.org Could An Alliance Of Tribes And Farmers Solve Klamath’s Water Woes? The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before http://nwpr.org/post/map-native-american-tribes-youve-never-seen Finding an address on a map can be taken for granted in the age of GPS and smartphones. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 47995 at http://nwpr.org The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before Lamprey Fishing Blessing Ceremony Has Tribal Sovereignty Undertone http://nwpr.org/post/lamprey-fishing-blessing-ceremony-has-tribal-sovereignty-undertone <p>You've no doubt heard people say they're "goin' fishin'." But how about going "eeling?" As in, fishing for eel.</p><p>For centuries, Native Americans from Boise to Wenatchee to the southern Oregon coast have harvested Pacific lamprey, colloquially called eels. Monday, the Warm Springs and Yakama tribes held a season-opening "blessing ceremony" at Willamette Falls. Correspondent Tom Banse reports the event happened against a backdrop of treaty rights tension over management of the dwindling fish. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:20:13 +0000 Tom Banse 46901 at http://nwpr.org Lamprey Fishing Blessing Ceremony Has Tribal Sovereignty Undertone Gathering The Stories Of Northwest People "Left Out" Of History http://nwpr.org/post/gathering-stories-northwest-people-left-out-history <p>It started with the discovery of long-forgotten gravestones in a thicket of bramble and alder. That set one author on the faint trail of a feisty Native American woman and oyster farmer who lived in 19th century western Washington. The biographer is using the resulting book to inspire other Northwesterners - particularly tribal members. She wants to bring out the stories of people who, in her words, have been "left out of our histories." Correspondent Tom Banse reports from Oyster Bay in Mason County, Washington. Mon, 12 May 2014 14:31:32 +0000 Tom Banse 45763 at http://nwpr.org Gathering The Stories Of Northwest People "Left Out" Of History Bones Found Near Wanapum Dam Repatriated To Northwest Tribes http://nwpr.org/post/bones-found-near-wanapum-dam-repatriated-northwest-tribes <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This week two skeletons found upstream of the cracked </span>Wanapum<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Dam were handed over to Northwest tribes.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The remains were found near each other several weeks ago along the newly exposed Columbia River shore.</span></p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 00:28:16 +0000 Anna King 43434 at http://nwpr.org Bones Found Near Wanapum Dam Repatriated To Northwest Tribes Native-Owned Fish Shop Opens In Cascade Locks, Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/native-owned-fish-shop-opens-cascade-locks-oregon <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In the recent past, native fishers have sold just-caught fish from coolers at near-river sites. But this weekend, a woman entrepreneur is opening the first brick and mortar, Native American family owned fish market along the Columbia River.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 00:27:50 +0000 Anna King 41023 at http://nwpr.org Native-Owned Fish Shop Opens In Cascade Locks, Oregon UW Prof To Advise Justice Dept. On Children & Violence In Indian Country http://nwpr.org/post/uw-prof-advise-justice-dept-children-violence-indian-country <p></p><p>Tribal leaders from the Northwest and from around the country had the opportunity today to tell the Obama Administration what they want in the coming year. The White House convened what has become an annual conference with Native American tribes. A University of Washington law school professor will be giving advice all year long thanks to his appointment to a new Justice Department advisory panel. Ron Whitener says the group is specifically looking at violence faced by American Indian children.</p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 02:31:20 +0000 Tom Banse 37273 at http://nwpr.org UW Prof To Advise Justice Dept. On Children & Violence In Indian Country Totem To Protest Coal Facilities Visits Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/totem-protest-coal-facilities-visits-spokane <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Native American ceremony was held in Riverfront Park in Spokane Friday to protest plans for coal shipping terminals on the west coast.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:17:47 +0000 Steve Jackson 34572 at http://nwpr.org Totem To Protest Coal Facilities Visits Spokane