Basketball http://nwpr.org en Slackline World Cup In U.S. For First Time, At Hoopfest http://nwpr.org/post/slackline-world-cup-us-first-time-hoopfest <p>7,000 or so basketball teams take to the streets of Spokane this weekend to play in the 24th annual Hoopfest. Hoopfest’s organizers have a new trick up their sleeves this year, which will bring athletes from around the world to compete in a different sport. Paige Browning has the story.</p><p> Mon, 24 Jun 2013 13:46:30 +0000 Paige Browning 29859 at http://nwpr.org Sonics To Seattle Or Sacramento - More Details Emerge http://nwpr.org/post/sonics-seattle-or-sacramento-more-details-emerge <p>The NBA’s Board of Governors meets in Dallas today (Wednesday) to decide whether the Sacramento Kings move to Seattle. Until a few days ago, it seemed clear that the answer was no. Now as KUOW’s Carolyn Adolph reports, the fate of the team is up in the air.</p><p> Wed, 15 May 2013 14:10:01 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27562 at http://nwpr.org Gonzaga Fans Nervous After Rocky Opening Game http://nwpr.org/post/gonzaga-fans-nervous-after-rocky-opening-game <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/032213JR_Opila_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SPOKANE, Wash. - Gonzaga University basketball fans are jittery after a near-loss for the small Catholic school with high hopes for March Madness. Gonzaga's men's basketball team narrowly won its first game in the national tournament on Thursday when it played Louisiana's Southern University.<p>The Zags next play Wichita State on Saturday.<p>“I'm so nervous! It was very frustrating to watch us just throw bricks in the air," says Gonzaga University senior Andrew Opila. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 23:02:28 +0000 Jessica Robinson 24729 at http://nwpr.org Gonzaga Fans Nervous After Rocky Opening Game Springfield Basketball Star Scores National Honor http://nwpr.org/post/springfield-basketball-star-scores-national-honor <p>A senior at Oregon’s Springfield High has been named the Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, Rob Manning reports.</p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 13:13:25 +0000 Rob Manning 24689 at http://nwpr.org Basketball Team Prompts Gonzaga's Growth Spurt http://nwpr.org/post/basketball-team-prompts-gonzagas-growth-spurt <p>Gonzaga University’s name is seemingly everywhere this month – including the covers of magazines and newspapers, and mentions on NPR. Paige Browning explains that, while the basketball program gets more name recognition, the school is on a growth spurt.</p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 13:08:53 +0000 Paige Browning 24687 at http://nwpr.org No. 1 Ranking Delights Gonzaga's Devout Fan Base http://nwpr.org/post/no-1-ranking-delights-gonzagas-devout-fan-base <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/030413JR_ZagsFans_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SPOKANE, Wash. - Basketball fans in the Inland Northwest are in a very good mood today. The new Associated Press poll for men's college basketball ranks Gonzaga University number one in the country. It's a first for Gonzaga – and the state of Washington.<p>Traditional basketball powers like Indiana and Duke,just couldn't hold their grip on the top spot. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 01:12:52 +0000 Jessica Robinson 23721 at http://nwpr.org No. 1 Ranking Delights Gonzaga's Devout Fan Base Zags Closer To Number One Ranking After Title Win http://nwpr.org/post/zags-closer-number-one-ranking-after-title-win <p>After a strong win on Saturday, the Gonzaga men’s basketball team is the West Coast Conference Champion. But, the excitement goes beyond that in Spokane. Paige Browning reports. Mon, 04 Mar 2013 14:42:42 +0000 Paige Browning 23679 at http://nwpr.org U.S. Olympic Women Train In Seattle; Beat China 100-62 http://nwpr.org/post/us-olympic-women-train-seattle-beat-china-100-62 <p>The U.S. women&#39;s basketball team dominated China in an exhibition game played in Seattle Saturday. Final score: 100 to 62. The prelude to an upcoming Summer Olympics showdown coincided with the U.S. squad&#39;s first team training camp. Correspondent Tom Banse reports on why that&#39;s in Seattle. Mon, 14 May 2012 13:15:25 +0000 Tom Banse 8255 at http://nwpr.org U.S. Olympic Women Train In Seattle; Beat China 100-62