CDC http://nwpr.org en Gonorrhea Rising Outside Urban Hubs In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/gonorrhea-rising-outside-urban-hubs-northwest <p>Public health officials in the Northwest say they're seeing gonorrhea infections at levels they haven't seen in years. Three counties in Washington state are now in the midst of an outbreak. Parts of Oregon and Idaho are set to top even last year's high numbers. Health departments are seeing some unusual trends in the data.</p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 01:24:12 +0000 Jessica Robinson 49093 at http://nwpr.org Gonorrhea Rising Outside Urban Hubs In Northwest Flu Season Arrives In Northwest, Bringing New Cases Of H1N1 http://nwpr.org/post/flu-season-arrives-northwest-bringing-new-cases-h1n1 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010313JR_NWFlu_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The latest figures from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention show Washington, Oregon and Idaho are among 25 states now facing widespread cases of the flu.<p> Sat, 04 Jan 2014 02:03:04 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39547 at http://nwpr.org Flu Season Arrives In Northwest, Bringing New Cases Of H1N1 More Adults Are Walking Nowadays http://nwpr.org/post/more-adults-are-walking-nowadays <p>People are walking more, especially in the West, according to a new study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. In 2005, 56 percent of adults reported walking for at least 10 minutes a week. Five years later, that percentage was up to 62 percent. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 00:14:34 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 12982 at http://nwpr.org More Adults Are Walking Nowadays CDC Says U.S. On Track For Record Rates of Whooping Cough http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-says-us-track-record-rates-whooping-cough <p>The number of whooping cough cases in Washington State has passed 3,000. Washington&rsquo;s infection rate was rising so rapidly that health officials called on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for help. That was in May. Yesterday, the CDC issued a report on its findings. Scientists noticed an unusual pattern. Fri, 20 Jul 2012 00:35:47 +0000 Ruby de Luna 11923 at http://nwpr.org CDC Says U.S. On Track For Record Rates of Whooping Cough CDC Cuts Lead Poisoning Threshold http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-cuts-lead-poisoning-threshold <p>Correspondent John Ryan of Seattle station KUOW has been investigating lead pollution in the Northwest. Lead has been known for centuries to be a powerful poison. Even small concentrations can lower children&#39;s IQs and cause permanent brain damage. As John reports, the federal government now says children&#39;s brains are even more sensitive to lead than previously thought. Thu, 17 May 2012 13:44:31 +0000 John Ryan 8471 at http://nwpr.org CDC to Investigate Wash. Whooping Cough Epidemic http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-investigate-wash-whooping-cough-epidemic <p>The U.S. Centers for Disease Control has sent two epidemiologists to Washington State. The investigators will try to find out what&rsquo;s causing the state&rsquo;s rapid rise of whooping cough cases. We get more from Ruby de Luna. Mon, 07 May 2012 13:22:22 +0000 Ruby de Luna 7864 at http://nwpr.org