Disease http://nwpr.org en Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/study-microbial-hitchhikers-ride-wind-asia-northwest <p>Researchers have discovered something they didn’t expect in the air above an Oregon mountain: hundreds of tiny organisms from Asia. The study suggests the atmosphere is filled with life capable of traveling long distances. Jessica Robinson reports. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:10:38 +0000 Jessica Robinson 19968 at http://nwpr.org Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest Unexplained Hoof Disease Spreads Quickly in Southwest Washington Elk http://nwpr.org/post/unexplained-hoof-disease-spreads-quickly-southwest-washington-elk <p>Biologists are asking for help gathering clues about a hoof disease affecting elk in southwest Washington. They say the disease is severe and spreading quickly. Amelia Templeton of Earthfix has the story. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 13:50:45 +0000 Amelia Templeton 14791 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Reports One Horse Infected With West Nile Virus http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-reports-one-horse-infected-west-nile-virus <p>A horse in Klamath County has tested positive for West Nile virus. It’s the first reported case in a mammal in Oregon this year. Amelia Templeton of Earthfix reports. Fri, 24 Aug 2012 14:07:20 +0000 Amelia Templeton 14017 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Reports One Horse Infected With West Nile Virus Third Oregon County Detects Presence Of West Nile http://nwpr.org/post/third-oregon-county-detects-presence-west-nile <p>Health officials in Morrow County say they've detected West Nile Virus in mosquitoes trapped at county two test sites. That makes Morrow the third Oregon county this year to detect the presence of the virus. Wed, 22 Aug 2012 00:31:17 +0000 David Nogueras 13851 at http://nwpr.org Detection Of ‘Zebra Chip’ Disease Makes NW Spud Growers Uneasy http://nwpr.org/post/detection-zebra-chip-disease-makes-nw-spud-growers-uneasy <p>A recent discovery in an Idaho potato field has Northwest spud growers worried. Researchers this week reported that insects from the Twin Falls area tested positive for bacteria that cause &ldquo;zebra chip disease.&rdquo; Fri, 06 Jul 2012 12:54:16 +0000 Jessica Robinson 11199 at http://nwpr.org Detection Of ‘Zebra Chip’ Disease Makes NW Spud Growers Uneasy High Bacteria Levels in WA Waters, Not Found In OR, ID http://nwpr.org/post/high-bacteria-levels-wa-waters-not-found-or-id <p>Environmental regulators have detected high levels of fecal coliform in one of the Northwest&#39;s most important areas for growing food. Reporting for EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Mon, 02 Jul 2012 13:39:48 +0000 Courtney Flatt 11001 at http://nwpr.org Deadly Virus Makes First Appearance in Washington Salmon Farm http://nwpr.org/post/deadly-virus-makes-first-appearance-washington-salmon-farm <p>A deadly virus that prompted salmon farmers in British Columbia to kill 560,000 fish has shown up for the first time in Washington. Ashley Ahearn reports. Wed, 30 May 2012 14:00:56 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 9131 at http://nwpr.org University of Oregon Student Dies of Meningitis http://nwpr.org/post/university-oregon-student-dies-meningitis <p>Health officials say it&#39;s unlikely those who had casual contact with a University of Oregon student who died Friday are at risk of contracting bacterial meningitis. The disease is believed to have caused the death of 21-year old Lillian Pagenstecher. KLCC&#39;s Rachael McDonald reports. Tue, 15 May 2012 13:11:37 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8330 at http://nwpr.org CDC to Investigate Wash. Whooping Cough Epidemic http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-investigate-wash-whooping-cough-epidemic <p>The U.S. Centers for Disease Control has sent two epidemiologists to Washington State. The investigators will try to find out what&rsquo;s causing the state&rsquo;s rapid rise of whooping cough cases. We get more from Ruby de Luna. Mon, 07 May 2012 13:22:22 +0000 Ruby de Luna 7864 at http://nwpr.org Study: Chemicals In Great-Grandma’s Life May Promote Disease In You http://nwpr.org/post/study-chemicals-great-grandma-s-life-may-promote-disease-you <p>The chance of a woman getting ovarian disease may be tied to the toxic chemicals her great-grandmother was exposed to. That&rsquo;s according to a new study by researchers at Washington State University. As Jessica Robinson reports, the study could help explain the role of environmental factors in inherited diseases. Fri, 04 May 2012 13:43:13 +0000 Jessica Robinson 7742 at http://nwpr.org