Whooping Cough http://nwpr.org en CDC Recommends Pertussis Vaccine For Expectant Moms http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-recommends-pertussis-vaccine-expectant-moms <p>Public health experts are now recommending that pregnant women get the vaccine for whooping cough during pregnancy. The recommendation is in response to the growing outbreak of the disease in the U.S. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 00:05:20 +0000 Ruby de Luna 17284 at http://nwpr.org CDC Recommends Pertussis Vaccine For Expectant Moms Whooping Cough Epidemic Grows http://nwpr.org/post/whooping-cough-epidemic-grows <p>Washington state’s whooping cough epidemic continues to grow. State health officials say the latest number of reported cases has topped 4,300. Tue, 09 Oct 2012 23:39:52 +0000 Derek Wang 16480 at http://nwpr.org Back To School Heightens Whooping Cough Concerns http://nwpr.org/post/back-school-heightens-whooping-cough-concerns <p>Most public school students in the Northwest head back to class next week. And that has public health officials on alert. They're afraid that classrooms could be fertile ground for the spread of whooping cough, an infectious disease that's already being called an epidemic in some states. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 23:06:54 +0000 Chris Lehman 14254 at http://nwpr.org Back To School Heightens Whooping Cough Concerns CDC Says U.S. On Track For Record Rates of Whooping Cough http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-says-us-track-record-rates-whooping-cough <p>The number of whooping cough cases in Washington State has passed 3,000. Washington&rsquo;s infection rate was rising so rapidly that health officials called on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for help. That was in May. Yesterday, the CDC issued a report on its findings. Scientists noticed an unusual pattern. Fri, 20 Jul 2012 00:35:47 +0000 Ruby de Luna 11923 at http://nwpr.org CDC Says U.S. On Track For Record Rates of Whooping Cough CDC to Investigate Wash. Whooping Cough Epidemic http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-investigate-wash-whooping-cough-epidemic <p>The U.S. Centers for Disease Control has sent two epidemiologists to Washington State. The investigators will try to find out what&rsquo;s causing the state&rsquo;s rapid rise of whooping cough cases. We get more from Ruby de Luna. Mon, 07 May 2012 13:22:22 +0000 Ruby de Luna 7864 at http://nwpr.org State Takes Emergency Action To Fight Wooping Cough Epidemic http://nwpr.org/post/state-takes-emergency-action-fight-wooping-cough-epidemic <p>Gov. Chris Gregoire is reaching into emergency funds to help contain the state&#39;s whooping cough epidemic. Thu, 03 May 2012 23:43:09 +0000 Ruby de Luna 7722 at http://nwpr.org