opera http://nwpr.org en Gertrude Stein Opera Finds Beauty In The Mundane http://nwpr.org/post/gertrude-stein-opera-finds-beauty-mundane <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjbUAJjYexs</p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 15:52:00 +0000 Jim Dryden 47946 at http://nwpr.org Gertrude Stein Opera Finds Beauty In The Mundane Mothers Of Intervention: The Operatic Moms Puzzler http://nwpr.org/post/mothers-intervention-operatic-moms-puzzler It's not easy being a mom, but it's even tougher for mothers in opera. So often they're completely absent while fathers have leading roles in shows like <em>Rigoletto</em>, <em>La traviata</em>, <em>The Flying Dutchman</em>. When depicted at all, operatic moms are usually under supreme stress. They can be murderous, manipulative or simply mad. Only rarely are they the loving moms who brought us into the world. Here your job is to identify the operas and their mothers. Score high and brag to your own sweet (or stressed) mom. Score low and go to your room without supper. Thu, 08 May 2014 19:25:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 45852 at http://nwpr.org Mothers Of Intervention: The Operatic Moms Puzzler The 'Marvelous Living' Of Soprano Jessye Norman http://nwpr.org/post/marvelous-living-soprano-jessye-norman <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9680zhMmIqM</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 12:11:00 +0000 NPR Staff 45444 at http://nwpr.org The 'Marvelous Living' Of Soprano Jessye Norman Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://nwpr.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:09:56 +0000 Susan Stamberg 44211 at http://nwpr.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours http://nwpr.org/post/two-leads-two-deaths-18-hours Over the weekend, soprano Kristine Opolais sang her heart out — and died twice.<p>Friday evening she had sung the lead in <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/90063951/giacomo-puccini" target="_blank">Puccini</a>'s <em>Madama Butterfly</em>. It was her debut in that role at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. It was a big deal. Opolais was so excited about it that she stayed up until five the next morning.<p>At 7:30 Saturday morning, she got a call from Peter Gelb, the general manager of the Met. Groggy-voiced, Opolais said hello, and after a moment it became clear what was happening. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 NPR Staff 44012 at http://nwpr.org Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' http://nwpr.org/post/opera-powerhouse-dolora-zajick-singing-connected-body <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZNN0VqaSlE</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 19:08:00 +0000 editor 43029 at http://nwpr.org For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera http://nwpr.org/post/gerard-mortier-polarizing-impresario-who-transformed-opera <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPakF1dNcs8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJYN4gSwaaw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGDELst-HTU</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:55:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42572 at http://nwpr.org Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera Philippe Jaroussky And The Impossibly High Male Voice http://nwpr.org/post/philippe-jaroussky-and-impossibly-high-male-voice Philippe Jaroussky cuts a masculine figure on the cover of his new album, <em>Farinelli: Porpora Arias</em>, but you might do a double take upon hearing the music. The arias the French opera singer performs on this release were written in the 18th century for a castrato — a boy singer castrated to retain his high singing voice through adulthood.<p>Jaroussky is still intact, as they say. He's a countertenor who achieves that high pitch through vocal technique — singing in a 'head voice,' the way the way a female soprano would, rather than in his speaking register. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 00:09:00 +0000 NPR Staff 42576 at http://nwpr.org Philippe Jaroussky And The Impossibly High Male Voice What Do Salmon Ladders and Opera Have in Common? Thomas Hampson Explains http://nwpr.org/post/what-do-salmon-ladders-and-opera-have-common-thomas-hampson-explains <div style="margin: 0px;"><p></p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 19:04:15 +0000 Gigi Yellen 32432 at http://nwpr.org What Do Salmon Ladders and Opera Have in Common? Thomas Hampson Explains Versatile Opera Star, Director, Teacher Regina Resnik Dies at 90 http://nwpr.org/post/versatile-opera-star-director-teacher-regina-resnik-dies-90 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4d1YunTgUzQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipFMt7bPStg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zA2_jx9qiqc</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 21:55:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 32444 at http://nwpr.org Versatile Opera Star, Director, Teacher Regina Resnik Dies at 90