Northwest http://nwpr.org en Higher Nitrate Air Pollution In Central Wash. http://nwpr.org/post/higher-nitrate-air-pollution-central-wash <p>Researchers have found the source of an unusual pocket of air pollution in central Washington. Tiny particles from large agricultural operations mix with vehicle exhaust. That creates nitrate pollution.</p><p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 00:52:06 +0000 Courtney Flatt 44270 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Student Code-Breaking Competition Launches Soon http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-student-code-breaking-competition-launches-soon <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Code language is probably as old as language itself. Now, two Northwest university professors have launched a competition to test students’ code-breaking skills. The brain game starts April 10.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 00:35:55 +0000 Anna King 44026 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Student Code-Breaking Competition Launches Soon Nuclear Power Plant Safety Report http://nwpr.org/post/nuclear-power-plant-safety-report <p>A new report from the Union of Concerned Scientists says the Northwest’s only commercial nuclear power plant reported three safety problems in 2013. Officials at the plant say they’ve been on top of the issues.</p><p> Sat, 08 Mar 2014 01:19:35 +0000 Courtney Flatt 42462 at http://nwpr.org Nuclear Power Plant Safety Report Albertsons To Merge With Safeway Stores http://nwpr.org/post/albertsons-merge-safeway-stores <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Boise-based grocery store Albertsons is merging with Safeway supermarkets.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The companies announced Thursday the acquisition could be worth more than $9 billion.</span></p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 01:00:19 +0000 Emilie Ritter Saunders 42405 at http://nwpr.org Albertsons To Merge With Safeway Stores Columbia River Drawdown Continues To Take Pressure Off Wanapum Dam http://nwpr.org/post/columbia-river-drawdown-continues-take-pressure-wanapum-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030314AK_Wanapumupdate_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Water behind the Wanapum Dam near Vantage, Wash., is being drawn down 26 feet to relieve pressure on the big crack in the structure.<p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 01:57:15 +0000 Anna King 42261 at http://nwpr.org Columbia River Drawdown Continues To Take Pressure Off Wanapum Dam In Wake Of Arizona Veto, Similar Measures Considered In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/wake-arizona-veto-similar-measures-considered-northwest <p>Amidst the debate over the now-vetoed Arizona bill that would have protected businesses that refuse to serve gays and others for religious reasons, gay rights groups in the Northwest say similar legislation could surface here. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 01:53:13 +0000 Chris Lehman 42110 at http://nwpr.org In Wake Of Arizona Veto, Similar Measures Considered In Northwest 2013: A Good Year For West Coast Log And Lumber Exports http://nwpr.org/post/2013-good-year-west-coast-log-and-lumber-exports <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lumber and log exports from the West Coast rose about 20 percent last year, with demand peaking in the fourth quarter.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Most of the West Coast logs shipped overseas are going to China, although Japan has upped its demand, as well. With limited </span>forestlands<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> of their own, these countries rely on the United States’ timber supply.</span></p><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 00:59:15 +0000 Devan Schwartz 41955 at http://nwpr.org 2013: A Good Year For West Coast Log And Lumber Exports Snow Halts Oregon Legislature http://nwpr.org/post/snow-halts-oregon-legislature <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020614CL_kotek_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon lawmakers will take a rare snow day Friday. The wintry forecast prompted legislative leaders to cancel all hearings and floor sessions for the day.<p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 01:16:32 +0000 Chris Lehman 41077 at http://nwpr.org Snow Halts Oregon Legislature Broken Ribs Can't Stop Seattle Skier's Drive To Compete In Winter Olympics http://nwpr.org/post/broken-ribs-cant-stop-seattle-skiers-drive-compete-winter-olympics <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012714TB_Unlucky_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's every Olympic athlete's worst nightmare: After years of preparation, training and fundraising, an accident mere weeks before the Olympic Games derails everything.<p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 00:19:10 +0000 Tom Banse 40584 at http://nwpr.org Broken Ribs Can't Stop Seattle Skier's Drive To Compete In Winter Olympics Bend Ski Coach Guides Caribbean Island To First Winter Games http://nwpr.org/post/bend-ski-coach-guides-caribbean-island-first-winter-games <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012714TB_Dominica_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Northwest contribution to the U.S. Olympic team goes beyond athletes. A bunch of top coaches, ski tuners, wax technicians and physical therapists from here are Sochi-bound too.<p> Sat, 25 Jan 2014 01:09:08 +0000 Tom Banse 40461 at http://nwpr.org Bend Ski Coach Guides Caribbean Island To First Winter Games