Tuition http://nwpr.org en Oregon Board Hikes Tuition For College Students http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-board-hikes-tuition-college-students <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/06/062113CL_tuition_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon college students can expect to pay more for their education next fall. Sat, 22 Jun 2013 00:03:45 +0000 Chris Lehman 29776 at http://nwpr.org Washington Senate Majority Wants More Higher Ed Funding http://nwpr.org/post/washington-senate-majority-wants-more-higher-ed-funding <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031913AKoly_HigherEd_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>OLYMPIA, Wash. – The mostly Republican majority in the Washington state Senate want to spend an extra $300 million on higher education. Tuesday, Republican budget-writers unveiled a plan that would increase money universities receive and fully fund the state’s prepaid tuition program.<p>The Guaranteed Education Tuition program, or GET, allows parents to pay for university credits long before their kids are old enough for college. Wed, 20 Mar 2013 00:12:46 +0000 Alexandra Kocik 24553 at http://nwpr.org Washington Senate Majority Wants More Higher Ed Funding Support For In-State Tuition For Young Immigrants Gains Momentum http://nwpr.org/post/support-state-tuition-young-immigrants-gains-momentum <p></p><p>Momentum is building in Salem for a bill to give children of undocumented immigrants in-state tuition rates at Oregon universities. Gov. John Kitzhaber threw his weight behind the idea Monday. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 00:31:22 +0000 Virginia Alvino 22587 at http://nwpr.org Support For In-State Tuition For Young Immigrants Gains Momentum Oregon Higher Ed Board Raises Tuition For Most Students At State Schools http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-higher-ed-board-raises-tuition-most-students-state-schools <p>Oregon&#39;s Board of Higher Education voted Friday to raise tuition for most students at state supported schools. The increases vary from place to place. And for Portland State University, for example, the adjustment means a 1.4 percent reduction in tuition and fees. But for Southern Oregon University, it&#39;s a 9.9 percent increase in tuition.</p><p>University system staff pointed out that the state has cut funding for higher education by 16 percent for the coming fiscal year.</p><p>Board members like Lynda Ciafetti say they saw few options. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 23:40:28 +0000 April Baer 9316 at http://nwpr.org U.S. Senator Ron Wyden Discusses College Debt With Dozen UO Students http://nwpr.org/post/us-senator-ron-wyden-discusses-college-debt-dozen-uo-students <p>With tuition increasing again at Oregon&#39;s universities, students will be paying more for a college education. On Wednesday, U.S. Senator Ron Wyden sat down with a dozen students at the University of Oregon to hear their stories. KLCC&#39;s Angela Kellner reports. Thu, 31 May 2012 14:23:30 +0000 Angela Kellner 9204 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Board Of Education Approves Tuition Hikes http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-board-education-approves-tuition-hikes <p>The Idaho State Board of Education has approved the tuition and fee increases as requested by the state&rsquo;s colleges and universities.</p><p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 00:53:49 +0000 Glenn Mosley 6861 at http://nwpr.org