Capital Punishment http://nwpr.org en Report: Hard To Pin Down Death Penalty Costs In Idaho http://nwpr.org/post/report-hard-pin-down-death-penalty-costs-idaho <p></p><p>Death penalty cases take longer to work through Idaho's court system, but it's hard to put a dollar figure on the extra expense. That's according to a new report released Wednesday. As Jessica Robinson reports, it's unlikely to prompt any drastic changes in Idaho's policy on capital punishment.</p><p>Two recent executions in Idaho after a 17-year pause made lawmakers want to get more information on how much capital punishment costs the state. The legislature’s Office of Performance Evaluations has now come back with an answer: hard to say.</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:37:27 +0000 Jessica Robinson 43047 at http://nwpr.org Report: Hard To Pin Down Death Penalty Costs In Idaho Victims' Families Want Curbs On Governor's Ability To Halt Death Penalty http://nwpr.org/post/victims-families-want-curbs-governors-ability-halt-death-penalty <p>Family members of murder victims are expressing anguish over Governor Jay Inslee’s decision to halt the state’s death penalty. They testified before lawmakers considering curbs on the governor’s authority to grant reprieves.</p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 02:31:44 +0000 Gabriel Spitzer 42062 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Announces Moratorium On Executions In Washington http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-announces-moratorium-executions-washington <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021114AJ_Inslee-MORATORIUM_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says as long as he’s in office the state won’t execute death row inmates.<p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 00:05:12 +0000 Austin Jenkins 41313 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Announces Moratorium On Executions In Washington Execution Witnesses In Washington To See Needle Insertion http://nwpr.org/post/execution-witnesses-washington-see-needle-insertion <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012914AJ_NewProtocols_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The next time a death row inmate is executed by lethal injection in Washington state, witnesses will see more of the process.<p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 01:32:08 +0000 Austin Jenkins 40694 at http://nwpr.org Execution Witnesses In Washington To See Needle Insertion U.S. Supreme Court Turns Down Oregon Inmate's Request To Be Executed http://nwpr.org/post/us-supreme-court-turns-down-oregon-inmates-request-be-executed <p>The U.S. Supreme Court has turned down an Oregon death-row inmate's request to be executed. Tuesday's ruling means that two-time murderer Gary Haugen will not be executed for the foreseeable future.</p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 02:56:58 +0000 Chris Lehman 40290 at http://nwpr.org Former Death Row Inmate Darold Stenson on Trial Again http://nwpr.org/post/former-death-row-inmate-darold-stenson-trial-again <p>The retrial of former death row inmate Darold Stenson starts today in Kitsap County.<br>Stenson is charged with aggravated murder in the 1993 deaths of his wife and business partner.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 23:44:34 +0000 Patricia Murphy 34613 at http://nwpr.org Former Death Row Inmate Darold Stenson on Trial Again Oregon Supreme Court Takes Up Haugen's Request To Die http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-supreme-court-takes-haugens-request-die <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031313CL_deathpenpreview_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Oregon Supreme Court is set to hear arguments Thursday in a case involving a death row inmate who wants to die. Two-time murderer Gary Haugen is trying to reject a reprieve issued by Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber.<p>It's definitely an unusual situation. Normally you'd expect people on death row to be happy about having their execution delayed. But Haugen had dropped all of his appeals and was actually trying to be executed. He repeatedly told judges that he was ready. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 00:09:18 +0000 Chris Lehman 24244 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Supreme Court Takes Up Haugen's Request To Die Oregon Lawmakers Consider Death Penalty Repeal http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-consider-death-penalty-repeal <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/022613CL_deathfeature_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. – More than a year ago, Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber stunned people by enacting a moratorium on the death penalty. It happened just weeks before the scheduled execution of two-time murderer Gary Haugen. At a hearing Tuesday, lawmakers took up the question of whether to ask voters to repeal the death penalty altogether. But it’s not clear whether that will actually happen.<p>Dan Bryant knows the unique pain of learning a loved one has been murdered. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 00:47:40 +0000 Chris Lehman 23400 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Consider Death Penalty Repeal Judges Overturns Kitzhaber's Reprieve Of Haugen http://nwpr.org/post/judges-overturns-kitzhabers-reprieve-haugen <p>An Oregon judge says death row inmate Gary Haugen has the right to reject a reprieve from Gov. John Kitzhaber. Circuit Court Judge Timothy Alexander&#39;s ruling Friday paves the way for a possible new execution date for the two-time murderer. Fri, 03 Aug 2012 23:51:02 +0000 Chris Lehman 12743 at http://nwpr.org Judges Overturns Kitzhaber's Reprieve Of Haugen Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-death-row-inmate-asks-judge-overturn-governors-reprieve <p>Late last year, Gov. John Kitzhaber issued a moratorium that put on hold the execution of twice-convicted murderer Gary Haugen. Now the death row inmate is asking a judge to overrule that reprieve. Haugen appeared in a Marion County courtroom Tuesday. Tue, 24 Jul 2012 23:33:54 +0000 Virginia Alvino 12189 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve