China http://nwpr.org en Climate Model Shows Pollution In Asia Influences Weather Worldwide http://nwpr.org/post/climate-model-shows-pollution-asia-influences-weather-worldwide <p>Pollution in Asia can influence weather over much of the world. Those are the findings from a new climate study from northwest researchers, who teamed up with researchers from Texas.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 23:34:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 44730 at http://nwpr.org Climate Model Shows Pollution In Asia Influences Weather Worldwide China Wants Better Testing For Arsenic In US Shellfish Exports http://nwpr.org/post/china-wants-better-testing-arsenic-us-shellfish-exports <p>For the first time, U.S. officials reported on recent meetings in Beijing to discuss China's ban on shellfish imports from most of the West Coast.</p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 23:46:46 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 43542 at http://nwpr.org China Wants Better Testing For Arsenic In US Shellfish Exports China Exporting More Than Just Goods To US http://nwpr.org/post/china-exporting-more-just-goods-us <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The goods produced in China and sold to the U.S. come at an environmental cost, according to a new study. Scientists are linking air pollution in the Western United States to China’s booming exports.</span></p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:25:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40301 at http://nwpr.org Washington Officials Say Shellfish Are Safe To Export http://nwpr.org/post/washington-officials-say-shellfish-are-safe-export <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington health officials have been testing shellfish from an area believed to be contaminated with arsenic. China banned all imports of shellfish from much of the west coast after finding high levels of arsenic in </span>geoduck<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> clams harvested near Tacoma in October.</span></p><p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 15:12:53 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 39729 at http://nwpr.org Washington Officials Say Shellfish Are Safe To Export In Fast-Changing China, Reality Can Overtake Fiction http://nwpr.org/post/fast-changing-china-reality-can-overtake-fiction One of the challenges of writing about China is the country moves fast — sometimes faster than the publishing business. Take <em>Enigma of China</em>, the latest detective novel by Chinese-American author Qiu Xiaolong.<p>In one scene, Qiu's main character, Inspector Chen, sits in a Shanghai restaurant scanning a hotel where government agents are holding a corrupt official in secret detention.<p>Recently, Qiu took me on a tour of the book's real-life settings, including the site of that eatery.<p>"It's a restaurant with a red lantern, so it's lovely," recalls Qiu, returning to the spot. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 39646 at http://nwpr.org In Fast-Changing China, Reality Can Overtake Fiction 'On Such A Full Sea': A Fable From A Fractured Future http://nwpr.org/post/such-full-sea-fable-fractured-future Fast-forward to a few hundred years into the future: Resources in the United States are scarce. The government has fallen apart and most of the population has left, looking for a better life somewhere else.<p>Immigrant laborers — many from China — have come to fill the labor void, and life in the new America is divided into three distinct societies. First, the Charters, walled-off cities populated by the elites. Sun, 05 Jan 2014 16:13:00 +0000 NPR Staff 39648 at http://nwpr.org 'On Such A Full Sea': A Fable From A Fractured Future Arsenic To Blame For Chinese Ban On Shellfish Imports From Washington http://nwpr.org/post/arsenic-blame-chinese-ban-shellfish-imports-washington <p>China banned all imports of shellfish from Alaska to Northern California last week. Chinese officials said two samples of geoduck&nbsp;came back with high levels of arsenic and the toxin that causes paralytic shellfish poisoning.</p><p> Sat, 21 Dec 2013 01:27:55 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 39039 at http://nwpr.org Arsenic To Blame For Chinese Ban On Shellfish Imports From Washington China Closes Doors To All West Coast Shellfish Imports http://nwpr.org/post/china-closes-doors-all-west-coast-shellfish-imports <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">China has closed its doors to all imports of West coast shellfish. Chinese officials tested samples of </span>geoduck<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> clams and found elevated levels of arsenic and a toxin that causes Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning.</span></p><p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 14:15:34 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 38650 at http://nwpr.org China Closes Doors To All West Coast Shellfish Imports Amy Tan's Latest: Mothers, Daughters And The Oldest Profession http://nwpr.org/post/amy-tans-latest-mothers-daughters-and-oldest-profession Family secrets, life-changing betrayals and the paradox of wondering about the old country while belonging to the new are at the heart of Amy Tan's work. She enthralled readers of her phenomenally successful first novel, <em>The Joy Luck Club</em> (1989), with the interlocking stories of four Chinese-born mothers and their four California-born daughters. Sat, 09 Nov 2013 23:10:00 +0000 Jane Ciabattari 37196 at http://nwpr.org Amy Tan's Latest: Mothers, Daughters And The Oldest Profession Northwest Winemakers Hope To Whet-The-Whistle Of China's Emerging Middle Class http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-winemakers-hope-whet-whistle-chinas-emerging-middle-class <p>Northwest winemakers are trying to whet-the-whistle of China's emerging middle class. Demand for wine is growing significantly there. And that’s drawn Chinese business delegations, restaurateurs and tourists to our region. There even may be a reality TV show that would feature Northwest wineries. Correspondent Anna King begins our story in Walla Walla, Washington. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 15:20:34 +0000 Anna King 21875 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Winemakers Hope To Whet-The-Whistle Of China's Emerging Middle Class