voting http://nwpr.org en Washington Breaks Own Record For Registered Voters http://nwpr.org/post/washington-breaks-own-record-registered-voters <p>A new record's been set in Washington state for the number of registered voters, 3,922,537. The Secretary of State's office said that's even higher than the last milestone set six years ago when there was intense voter interest.</p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 01:08:16 +0000 Kim Malcolm 48851 at http://nwpr.org Washington Breaks Own Record For Registered Voters Should Oregon Study Internet Voting? http://nwpr.org/post/should-oregon-study-internet-voting <p>Oregonians could one day be able to cast their votes through the internet. An Oregon Senate panel Tuesday advanced a measure that would study whether the state should enact online voting.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 02:53:49 +0000 Chris Lehman 41652 at http://nwpr.org Should Oregon Study Internet Voting? Oregon Secretary of State Wants To Automatically Register Voters http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-secretary-state-wants-automatically-register-voters <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/032013VA_VoterRegistration_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. - State elections officials in Oregon would use DMV data to automatically register people to vote under a plan presented in Salem Wednesday. Supporters of the idea say it could give Oregon one of the broadest voter registration pools in the country.<p>In 2012, about 25 percent of those eligible to vote in Oregon did not register. That’s despite the fact that people can register at the DMV, online, or through the mail. Wed, 20 Mar 2013 23:17:33 +0000 Virginia Alvino 24608 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Secretary of State Wants To Automatically Register Voters Washington's New Secretary Of State Wants Primary Voters' Pamphlets http://nwpr.org/post/washingtons-new-secretary-state-wants-primary-voters-pamphlets <p></p><p>Washington’s new Secretary of State Kim Wyman wants printed voters’ pamphlets in statewide and legislative primary elections. She’s asking state lawmakers to pay the $1 million cost. Currently it’s up to county auditors to decide whether to print voters’ pamphlets for those primaries and some choose not to. Sat, 19 Jan 2013 00:54:04 +0000 Alexandra Kocik 21413 at http://nwpr.org Washington's New Secretary Of State Wants Primary Voters' Pamphlets Alleged Oregon Ballot Tampering Has Statewide Implications http://nwpr.org/post/alleged-oregon-ballot-tampering-has-statewide-implications <p></p><p>An alleged case of ballot tampering in Oregon’s Clackamas County has implications for races statewide. Officials say a volunteer elections worker is suspected of marking votes for Republicans in races a voter had left blank. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 01:33:53 +0000 Chris Lehman 17876 at http://nwpr.org Alleged Oregon Ballot Tampering Has Statewide Implications Voter Registration Increase Lags Last Presidential Election http://nwpr.org/post/voter-registration-increase-lags-last-presidential-election <p>Registering to vote is easier than ever. But Northwest residents don’t appear as eager to vote as they were during the last presidential election. As the deadline to register draws near, state figures show a smaller uptick in voter registration than in 2008. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 00:48:17 +0000 Chris Lehman 16486 at http://nwpr.org Washington Aims To Reduce Dual-Registered Voters http://nwpr.org/post/washington-aims-reduce-dual-registered-voters <p>If you recently moved to Washington State and registered to vote, you may still be on the voter rolls of the last state you lived in. In Washington, it&rsquo;s legal to be registered here and somewhere else. But it&#39;s illegal in other states. Fri, 27 Jul 2012 00:12:08 +0000 Kate Elston 12316 at http://nwpr.org Washingtonians Can Register to Vote on Facebook By Month's End http://nwpr.org/post/washingtonians-can-register-vote-facebook-months-end <p>As early as next week, Washington residents will be able to register to vote on Facebook. Reporter Paige Browning explains. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 13:17:38 +0000 Paige Browning 11879 at http://nwpr.org Young Voter Registration Bill Dies, but the Fight's Not Over http://nwpr.org/post/young-voter-registration-bill-dies-fights-not-over <p>As lawmakers face a pressing deadline for Washington&rsquo;s legislative session, the budget remains their priority. Other issues have been pushed aside, like a bill supported by a group of politically charged young people. Wed, 07 Mar 2012 00:26:33 +0000 Paige Browning 4400 at http://nwpr.org Young Voter Registration Bill Dies, but the Fight's Not Over