taxes http://nwpr.org en Oregon Revenue Forecast Up As Job Growth Continues http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-revenue-forecast-job-growth-continues <p>Oregon's economy still hasn't recovered to pre-recession levels. But state economists told lawmakers Wednesday that job growth is driving an expected increase in tax revenue for the state.</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 00:07:52 +0000 Chris Lehman 46650 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Revenue Forecast Up As Job Growth Continues Study: Cigarette Tax Evasion Sky-High In Washington, Idaho Big Supplier http://nwpr.org/post/study-cigarette-tax-evasion-sky-high-washington-idaho-big-supplier <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Nearly half of the cigarettes smoked in Washington went untaxed by the state. That estimate comes from a new study by two think tanks from back East. They compared actual legal sales in a state against the level you would expect to see based on its smoking rate. From that, they came up with a smuggling estimate. The study pegs low-tax Idaho as a major source of smuggled cigarettes. Correspondent Tom Banse reports.</p> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 00:27:17 +0000 Tom Banse 43157 at http://nwpr.org Study: Cigarette Tax Evasion Sky-High In Washington, Idaho Big Supplier Proposal Would End Idaho Sales Tax on Groceries http://nwpr.org/post/proposal-would-end-idaho-sales-tax-groceries <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An Idaho state senator and gubernatorial candidate has introduced a bill that would repeal the sales tax on groceries.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Republican State Senator Russ </span>Fulcher<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says it’s time </span>Idahoans<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> were able to take advantage of the same savings that neighboring states like Washington, Oregon, and Montana have, by not having to pay sales tax on most grocery items.</span></p><p> Sat, 01 Mar 2014 00:48:24 +0000 Steve Jackson 42160 at http://nwpr.org Proposal Would End Idaho Sales Tax on Groceries Ore. Farmers Want Tax Break For Donated Crops http://nwpr.org/post/ore-farmers-want-tax-break-donated-crops <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021914CL_cropcredit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon farmers are hoping the state Legislature makes it worth their while to donate crops that would otherwise go to waste.<p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 01:24:42 +0000 Chris Lehman 41707 at http://nwpr.org Ore. Farmers Want Tax Break For Donated Crops Washington Initiative Promoter Files Measure To Resurrect Anti-Tax Rule http://nwpr.org/post/washington-initiative-promoter-files-measure-resurrect-anti-tax-rule <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010614AJ_2014Initiatives_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington initiative promoter Tim Eyman kicked off the New Year with a new ballot proposal.<p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 00:07:11 +0000 Austin Jenkins 39645 at http://nwpr.org Washington Initiative Promoter Files Measure To Resurrect Anti-Tax Rule Washington Governor Calls State Tax System 'Old Jalopy' http://nwpr.org/post/washington-governor-calls-state-tax-system-old-jalopy <p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says the state’s tax system is outdated and insufficient to cover expenses. The Democrat made his comments Tuesday at the release of his proposed update to Washington’s two-year budget.</p><p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 01:34:10 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38875 at http://nwpr.org Washington Governor Calls State Tax System 'Old Jalopy' Washington Lawmakers Hear Pitch For Corporate Tax Disclosure http://nwpr.org/post/washington-lawmakers-hear-pitch-corporate-tax-disclosure <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/120513AJ_CorporateTaxes_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The issue of tax transparency in Washington is getting fresh attention on the heels of a major tax deal for Boeing.<p> Sat, 23 Nov 2013 00:53:59 +0000 Austin Jenkins 37743 at http://nwpr.org Washington Lawmakers Hear Pitch For Corporate Tax Disclosure Is The Window Closing On A Washington Gas Tax Package? http://nwpr.org/post/window-closing-washington-gas-tax-package <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/112113AJ_Eide-King_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Two key transportation leaders says time is running out for Washington lawmakers to agree on a multi-billion dollar roads and transit package.<p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 00:30:34 +0000 Austin Jenkins 37683 at http://nwpr.org Is The Window Closing On A Washington Gas Tax Package? Washington Legislature Plows Ahead With Boeing 777X Tax Breaks http://nwpr.org/post/washington-legislature-plows-ahead-boeing-777x-tax-breaks <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/110813TB_BoeingBreaks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Washington Legislature is plowing ahead with a package of tax breaks and incentives to convince the Boeing Company to build its next big jet in Washington.<p> Sat, 09 Nov 2013 01:13:20 +0000 Tom Banse 37038 at http://nwpr.org Washington Legislature Plows Ahead With Boeing 777X Tax Breaks Education Watchers In Washington Eye Colorado School Funding Vote http://nwpr.org/post/education-watchers-washington-eye-colorado-school-funding-vote <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/110413AJ_TaxVote_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A decade after Washington voters defeated a one-cent sales tax increase for schools, a school funding vote in Colorado has education watchers in Washington paying close attention.<p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 01:56:51 +0000 Austin Jenkins 36795 at http://nwpr.org Education Watchers In Washington Eye Colorado School Funding Vote