rivers http://nwpr.org en Tests On Idaho River Reveal Challenge Of Cleaning Up Waterways http://nwpr.org/post/tests-idaho-river-reveal-challenge-cleaning-waterways <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A river basin cleanup in north Idaho is showing just how difficult it is to remove long-term pollution from Northwest waterways. This month, the EPA is running tests on layers of muck from the bottom of the Coeur </span>d'Alene<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> River. It’s downstream from a federal </span>superfund<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> site.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:05:22 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34571 at http://nwpr.org Tests On Idaho River Reveal Challenge Of Cleaning Up Waterways Study: Aquifers Draining Quickly, Less In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/study-aquifers-draining-quickly-less-northwest <p>A new study says the nation’s aquifers are shrinking at an alarming rate The problem is not as bad in the Northwest, thanks to an abundance of rivers and streams. But even here, aquifers are shrinking. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more.</p><p> Tue, 21 May 2013 13:31:16 +0000 Courtney Flatt 27887 at http://nwpr.org Study: Aquifers Draining Quickly, Less In Northwest Controversial Dredge Mining Ban Advances in Oregon Senate http://nwpr.org/post/controversial-dredge-mining-ban-advances-oregon-senate <p>A bill that restricts motorized mining in salmon and trout streams advanced in the Oregon Senate Wednesday evening. Amelia Templeton from our EarthFix team reports.</p><p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 13:33:33 +0000 Amelia Templeton 26097 at http://nwpr.org Controversial Dredge Mining Ban Advances in Oregon Senate Conservation Groups Lists Rivers in Southern Oregon, Idaho As Most Endangered http://nwpr.org/post/conservation-groups-lists-rivers-southern-oregon-idaho-most-endangered <p>American Rivers has named three Northwest streams among the most endangered in the United States this year. Two are remote creeks in Southwest Oregon. The conservation group says exploration for nickel could harm the creeks. Amelia Templeton reports.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:23:11 +0000 Amelia Templeton 26041 at http://nwpr.org NOAA Hopes to Foster Ideas and Future Collaboration http://nwpr.org/post/noaa-hopes-foster-ideas-and-future-collaboration <p>Environmentalists, farmers and irrigators could play a bigger role in creating long term management policies for Columbia Basin salmon and steelhead. The government has asked two university programs in Oregon and Washington to act as mediators over the next six months, talking with more than 200 organizations, states and tribes in order to find a better way of managing fish. Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:24:01 +0000 Aaron Kunz 19915 at http://nwpr.org NOAA Hopes to Foster Ideas and Future Collaboration NOAA Asks for Input From NW Salmon Stakeholders http://nwpr.org/post/noaa-asks-input-nw-salmon-stakeholders <p>Environmentalists in the Northwest are being offered an expanded role in shaping the long-term recovery plan for salmon and steelhead in the Columbia Basin.</p><p>Earthfix reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 14:37:07 +0000 Aaron Kunz 19674 at http://nwpr.org NOAA Asks for Input From NW Salmon Stakeholders Working for Idaho's Extinct Coho Salmon http://nwpr.org/post/working-idahos-extinct-coho-salmon <p>The Northwest’s declining salmon runs have spurred marathon legal battles and inspired billions in spending to save the iconic species.</p><p>But Idaho’s coho salmon were never listed as endangered before they went extinct in 1987. Very few people noticed when the fish were gone. But the Nez Perce Indian tribe noticed. And thanks to its extraordinary efforts, coho are once again returning by the thousands to Idaho waters.</p><p>Earthfix reporter Aaron Kunz explains. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 14:40:47 +0000 Aaron Kunz 19462 at http://nwpr.org Working for Idaho's Extinct Coho Salmon Mining Gold In The Northwest Causes Conflict http://nwpr.org/post/mining-gold-northwest-causes-conflict <p>A recreational gold miner in Idaho now has the exclusive right to mine for gold on a stretch of the Salmon River. But the lease process approved by the Idaho Land Board this week raised some questions about the process he will use to get the gold. Aaron Kunz with EarthFix explains. Thu, 20 Sep 2012 13:08:15 +0000 Aaron Kunz 15493 at http://nwpr.org Mining Gold In The Northwest Causes Conflict Rep. Hastings Questions Panel on Dams, Hydropower http://nwpr.org/post/rep-hastings-questions-panel-dams-hydropower <p>A Washington congressmen returned to his hometown Wednesday to promote a bill protecting hydropower dams from removal. Courtney Flatt of EarthFix reports from Pasco, Washington. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 13:37:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 13611 at http://nwpr.org Clean Water Act: Agriculture Struggles With Temperature http://nwpr.org/post/clean-water-act-agriculture-struggles-temperature <p>Farming is the single biggest reason rivers are failing to meet standards set by the Clean Water Act. EarthFix Reporter Aaron Kunz visited Idaho’s Pahsimeroi Valley for our series with Investigate West on this environmental law’s 40th anniversary. It turns out the problem isn’t so much what cattle ranchers and alfalfa growers are putting into the water – it’s what they’re taking out. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 13:32:00 +0000 Aaron Kunz 13609 at http://nwpr.org Clean Water Act: Agriculture Struggles With Temperature