legislature http://nwpr.org en Nearly $33M So Far In Washington Mid-Term Elections http://nwpr.org/post/nearly-33m-so-far-washington-mid-term-elections <p>Washington’s August primary is less than a month away. It’s a midterm election year with no statewide offices on the ballot. Even so, already nearly $33 million has been contributed to campaigns. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins takes a look at who’s giving. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:36:52 +0000 Austin Jenkins 49231 at http://nwpr.org Nearly $33M So Far In Washington Mid-Term Elections How One Young Girl Could Change Idaho’s Strict Marijuana Laws http://nwpr.org/post/how-one-young-girl-could-change-idaho-s-strict-marijuana-laws <p>Unlike Washington and Oregon, Idaho doesn’t have any form of legal marijuana. In fact in 2013 Idaho lawmakers passed a resolution saying they would never support legalizing marijuana for any reason. But one year later, during the 2014 legislative session many of those same lawmakers held closed door discussions about creating an exception to the state’s strict anti-pot laws. As Adam Cotterell reports it was because of a Boise girl and her mom. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:29:15 +0000 Adam Cotterell 47783 at http://nwpr.org How One Young Girl Could Change Idaho’s Strict Marijuana Laws The Balance Between Privacy And Public Safety Debated in Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/balance-between-privacy-and-public-safety-debated-oregon <p>Oregon lawmakers are wading into the debate on the balance between personal privacy and public safety. Advocates on both sides weighed in on the issue before an Oregon Senate panel Thursday.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 01:04:35 +0000 Chris Lehman 46715 at http://nwpr.org The Balance Between Privacy And Public Safety Debated in Oregon Oregon Court Allows Rule Banning Overnight Protests At Capitol http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-court-allows-rule-banning-overnight-protests-capitol <p>The Oregon Legislature has the right to ban protestors from using the capitol steps overnight. That's the upshot of a ruling Thursday by the Oregon Supreme Court. The case involved anti-war protesters speaking out against the deployment of Oregon National Guard troops to Iraq and Afghanistan back in 2009.</p><p> Fri, 16 May 2014 00:00:39 +0000 Chris Lehman 45987 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Court Allows Rule Banning Overnight Protests At Capitol Despite Party Differences, Millennial State Lawmakers Find Common Ground http://nwpr.org/post/despite-party-differences-millennial-state-lawmakers-find-common-ground <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Washington legislature is trending a bit younger these day. &nbsp;Nine of the 147 members are under-34 year olds.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 18:04:06 +0000 Austin Jenkins 45244 at http://nwpr.org Despite Party Differences, Millennial State Lawmakers Find Common Ground Wash. Lawmakers Deliver K-12 Funding Report To High Court http://nwpr.org/post/wash-lawmakers-deliver-k-12-funding-report-high-court <p>It’s no grand pact for beefing up Washington’s education budget, but a legislative committee did deliver a report on the subject to the state’s high court.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 01:08:36 +0000 Kyle Stokes 45159 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Lawmakers Deliver K-12 Funding Report To High Court Flood At Washington State Archives; County Birth and Death Records Wet http://nwpr.org/post/flood-washington-state-archives-county-birth-and-death-records-wet <p>Cleanup efforts are underway at the Washington State Archives in Olympia after a newly installed kitchen sink line caused a flood overnight.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Among the historic records that got wet: marriage and birth records from the late 1800s. But the damage could have been much worse.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 26 Apr 2014 01:01:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 44975 at http://nwpr.org Flood At Washington State Archives; County Birth and Death Records Wet Wash. Senate Majority Leader Tom Announces He Won’t Run For Re-Election http://nwpr.org/post/wash-senate-majority-leader-tom-announces-he-won-t-run-re-election <p>One of the most influential and controversial members of the Washington legislature made a bombshell announcement Monday.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 23:40:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 44380 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Senate Majority Leader Tom Announces He Won’t Run For Re-Election Washington Legislature Adjourns Without Action On Medical Marijuana, Gas Tax http://nwpr.org/post/washington-legislature-adjourns-without-action-medical-marijuana-gas-tax <p></p><p>The Washington legislature adjourned its 60-day session just before midnight Thursday night. This was Senate Floor Leader Joe Fain.</p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:42:04 +0000 Austin Jenkins 42791 at http://nwpr.org Washington Legislature Adjourns Without Action On Medical Marijuana, Gas Tax Budget Deal Struck In Washington Legislature http://nwpr.org/post/budget-deal-struck-washington-legislature <p>Washington public schools will get an additional nearly $60 million, but teachers will not get a cost of living raise this year. That’s the upshot of a budget deal that’s being announced at this hour at the Capitol in Olympia.</p><p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:47:42 +0000 Austin Jenkins 42772 at http://nwpr.org Budget Deal Struck In Washington Legislature