immigration http://nwpr.org en JBLM Could Be Shelter for Immigrant Children http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-could-be-shelter-immigrant-children <p>Hundreds of immigrant children held at the southern border could be moved to a military base near Tacoma. Federal and local officials plan to discuss the option tomorrow.</p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 00:13:20 +0000 Liz Jones 49092 at http://nwpr.org JBLM Could Be Shelter for Immigrant Children JBLM Eyed As Possible Shelter for Immigrant Kids http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-eyed-possible-shelter-immigrant-kids <p>A flood of immigrant children arriving at the U.S.-Mexico border could spill over into Washington state. For some of these undocumented kids, their journey north could lead to Joint Base Lewis-McChord, near Tacoma.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:12:41 +0000 Liz Jones 48009 at http://nwpr.org JBLM Eyed As Possible Shelter for Immigrant Kids Oregon Counties Say No To ICE http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-counties-say-no-ice <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Five Oregon counties now say they will no longer hold people in jail in response to requests from the federal immigration agency.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">That’s after a federal district court judge found those detentions violate the constitution.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:02:28 +0000 Amelia Templeton 44558 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Counties Say No To ICE Hunger Strike Continues at NW Detention Center http://nwpr.org/post/hunger-strike-continues-nw-detention-center <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">More than a hundred detainees at an immigration lockup in Tacoma are entering their fifth day without food. The hunger strike began Friday, with about 750 people refusing to eat. Immigration and Customs Enforcement has stepped up medical observations of the protesters.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 13:16:38 +0000 Liz Jones 42609 at http://nwpr.org Hunger Strike Continues at NW Detention Center Day 4 of Hunger Strike at Tacoma Detention Center http://nwpr.org/post/day-4-hunger-strike-tacoma-detention-center <p>Immigration officials say a lockdown has been lifted at a Tacoma detention center where hundreds of detainees are involved in a hunger strike.</p><p>As of Monday morning, 154 detainees were refusing food.</p><p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:19:36 +0000 Liz Jones 42585 at http://nwpr.org Day 4 of Hunger Strike at Tacoma Detention Center Republican Senator Pushes Back On College Aid For Undocumented Students http://nwpr.org/post/republican-senator-pushes-back-college-aid-undocumented-students <p>A bipartisan plan in the Washington legislature to give undocumented students access to college aid is coming under fire. A Republican state senator from eastern Washington has introduced a measure to amend the so-called “Real Hope” Act. This change would give priority to lawful residents when it comes to limited financial aid dollars.</p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 01:29:14 +0000 Austin Jenkins 41259 at http://nwpr.org Republican Senator Pushes Back On College Aid For Undocumented Students Immigrant Investors Could Finance Green Trucks For Green Cards http://nwpr.org/post/immigrant-investors-could-finance-green-trucks-green-cards <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010914TB_GreenFleet_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has approved an unusual way for prospective immigrants to earn a U.S. green card and permanent residency.<p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 00:07:55 +0000 Tom Banse 39818 at http://nwpr.org Immigrant Investors Could Finance Green Trucks For Green Cards Washington State Sees Big Jump In Use of Temporary Foreign Farmhands http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-sees-big-jump-use-temporary-foreign-farmhands <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121213TB_WorkVisas_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest farmers hired significantly more foreign guest workers this season under a special immigration program.<p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 01:45:07 +0000 Tom Banse 38636 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Sees Big Jump In Use of Temporary Foreign Farmhands 12 Immigrant Rights Advocates Arrested In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/12-immigrant-rights-advocates-arrested-spokane <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Spokane police arrested twelve immigrant’s rights advocates Wednesday outside of Representative Cathy </span>McMorris<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Rodger’s office. Their acts of civil disobedience were aimed at third ranking GOP member </span>McMorris<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Rodgers and House Speaker John Boehner.</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 14:22:58 +0000 Paige Browning 37290 at http://nwpr.org 12 Immigrant Rights Advocates Arrested In Spokane Signature Drive Forces Vote On Oregon Driver License Bill http://nwpr.org/post/signature-drive-forces-vote-oregon-driver-license-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/101813CL_licenses_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon voters will decide next year whether people in this country illegally can qualify for a state driver license.<p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 23:09:22 +0000 Chris Lehman 35948 at http://nwpr.org Signature Drive Forces Vote On Oregon Driver License Bill