gun rights http://nwpr.org en Poll Finds Washington Gun Rights Initiative Losing Support http://nwpr.org/post/poll-finds-washington-gun-rights-initiative-losing-support <p>A new Elway&nbsp;poll out Tuesday shows support for a gun rights measure on Washington’s fall ballot is flagging. Meanwhile, a dueling measure that would expand background checks remains popular.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 23:43:57 +0000 Austin Jenkins 49089 at http://nwpr.org Poll Finds Washington Gun Rights Initiative Losing Support Gun Range Takes Act of Congress http://nwpr.org/post/gun-range-takes-act-congress <p>Idaho Congressman Raul Labrador introduced a bill Wednesday that would allow a parcel of BLM land to be transferred into county ownership for use as a gun range.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 00:29:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 48772 at http://nwpr.org Gun Range Takes Act of Congress Oregon To Investigate Failed Firearm Background Checks http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-investigate-failed-firearm-background-checks <p>Oregon state troopers are now being dispatched when a person tries to buy a gun but fails the background check. It comes after critics complained that state laws that ban certain categories of people from buying guns were not being enforced.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 00:46:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 48327 at http://nwpr.org Oregon To Investigate Failed Firearm Background Checks You Could Win A Gun If You Give This Candidate Your Contact Info http://nwpr.org/post/you-could-win-gun-if-you-give-candidate-your-contact-info <p>One candidate for an eastern Washington congressional seat has hit on a way to appeal to 2nd amendment advocates AND increase the names on his campaign mailing list. He’s offering voters a chance to win a gun. Jessica Robinson has more. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:19:36 +0000 Jessica Robinson 47720 at http://nwpr.org You Could Win A Gun If You Give This Candidate Your Contact Info Police: One Student Dead In Oregon High School Shooting http://nwpr.org/post/police-one-student-dead-oregon-high-school-shooting <div><p>Update: Police in Oregon say 1 student was killed in this morning's school shooting. The gunman is also dead.</p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 17:02:42 +0000 Sueann Ramella 47241 at http://nwpr.org Shooting At Seattle Pacific University's Campus http://nwpr.org/post/shooting-seattle-pacific-universitys-campus <div style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13.63636302947998px; line-height: normal;">There was a shooting at <a href="http://www.seattlepi.com/local/article/Four-shot-at-Seattle-Pacific-University-It-s-5532190.php">Seattle Pacific University this afternoon</a>. As of 5pm Seattle Police believe a lone gunman shot four people before being disarmed by a University staff member. There are reports one person is dead, another is in critical condition and two others sustained less serious injuries.</div> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 00:54:22 +0000 Sueann Ramella 47064 at http://nwpr.org 'Guns Kept People Alive' During The Civil Rights Movement http://nwpr.org/post/guns-kept-people-alive-during-civil-rights-movement <em>This year marks the 50th anniversary of many pivotal events in the civil rights movement, and</em> <em>to commemorate "Freedom Summer," </em>Tell Me More <em>is</em><em> diving into books that explore that theme. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 47031 at http://nwpr.org Giffords Urges Lawmakers To 'Fight, Fight, Fight' For Background Checks http://nwpr.org/post/giffords-urges-lawmakers-fight-fight-fight-background-checks <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012814AJ_Giffords_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>She was shot in the head during a mass shooting in Tucson, Arizona in 2011. Tuesday former Arizona Congresswoman Gabby Giffords testified in Olympia in support of <a href="http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?year=2014&bill=594">Initiative 594</a>.<p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 00:21:35 +0000 Austin Jenkins 40635 at http://nwpr.org Giffords Urges Lawmakers To 'Fight, Fight, Fight' For Background Checks A New Gun Exchange In The Midst Of Dueling Measures http://nwpr.org/post/new-gun-exchange-midst-dueling-measures <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Starting Monday, Washington gun owners will have a new place to sell their firearms. That’s when a website called Washington Gun Exchange plans to launch. The arrival of this online marketplace comes as Washington lawmakers prepare to hold contentious hearings on dueling gun measures.</span></p><p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 15:07:33 +0000 Austin Jenkins 40543 at http://nwpr.org A New Gun Exchange In The Midst Of Dueling Measures Oregon Lawmakers Could Reconsider Background Checks For Gun Purchases http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-could-reconsider-background-checks-gun-purchases <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010914CL_gunsales_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon lawmakers are gearing up for another fight over background checks for gun purchases.<p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 01:25:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 39822 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Could Reconsider Background Checks For Gun Purchases