conservation http://nwpr.org en Redwood Burl Poaching Spreads To Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/redwood-burl-poaching-spreads-oregon <p>Redwood burl poaching has long been an issue in the Redwood National Park in California. But now a conservation group says it’s spotted evidence of this type of tree damage in a national forest in Oregon. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 23:16:14 +0000 Chris Lehman 47456 at http://nwpr.org Redwood Burl Poaching Spreads To Oregon Stalking Steelhead With Science http://nwpr.org/post/stalking-steelhead-science <p>Steelhead in Puget Sound have been listed as “threatened” under the Endangered Species Act since 2007.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Millions of dollars have been spent improving the habitat of this iconic fish, but the population isn’t increasing.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In fact, a lot of the fish aren’t even making it out of Puget Sound&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">and scientists can’t pinpoint why.</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 00:54:48 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 41314 at http://nwpr.org Stalking Steelhead With Science Conservation Groups And Oregon Settle Timber Lawsuit http://nwpr.org/post/conservation-groups-and-oregon-settle-timber-lawsuit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Oregon Department of Forestry has reached a settlement with conservation groups that had sued to prevent logging in forests that are home to a threatened seabird. The agreement was filed Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Eugene and still must be approved by a judge.</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 00:13:50 +0000 Rachael McDonald 41022 at http://nwpr.org Conservation Groups And Oregon Settle Timber Lawsuit Legislation Revived To Protect 126,000 Acres Of Olympic Peninsula http://nwpr.org/post/legislation-revived-protect-126000-acres-olympic-peninsula <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New legislation could put 126,000 acres of Washington’s Olympic Peninsula into permanent conservation.</span></p><p>Democratic Senator Patty Murray introduced the Wild Olympics Act on Friday.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">It’s a chunk of national forest land almost as big as the city of Chicago.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Act would also provide protection for 19 rivers on the Olympic Peninsula.</span></p><p> Sat, 18 Jan 2014 00:59:33 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40164 at http://nwpr.org Legislation Revived To Protect 126,000 Acres Of Olympic Peninsula Groups Unveil Plans For Redeveloping Hanford http://nwpr.org/post/groups-unveil-plans-redeveloping-hanford <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/110413AK_Hanfordplan_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Community leaders in southeast Washington are looking to develop parts of the Hanford Nuclear Reservation as a prime spot for tourists.<p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 01:32:10 +0000 Anna King 36792 at http://nwpr.org Groups Unveil Plans For Redeveloping Hanford Hints To Winterize Your Home http://nwpr.org/post/hints-winterize-your-home <p></p><p>Updating your home can have a dramatic effect on energy savings. One Central Washington couple reduced their energy use by about one-third. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 02:00:05 +0000 Courtney Flatt 19055 at http://nwpr.org Hints To Winterize Your Home Eastern WA's Red Counties Overwhelmed By Blue http://nwpr.org/post/eastern-was-red-counties-overwhelmed-blue <p>Last night’s election put Washington’s electoral map on display. For the most part, western counties near the Puget Sound voted one way, while Eastern Washington voted more conservative on the issues of same-sex marriage, legalizing marijuana and in the race for governor.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:35:51 +0000 Anna King 17997 at http://nwpr.org Eastern WA's Red Counties Overwhelmed By Blue Conservationists Want More Water in Klamath for Migrating Birds http://nwpr.org/post/conservationists-want-more-water-klamath-migrating-birds <p>Conservation groups say one of the largest wetlands on the west coast has been allowed to go virtually dry this fall. Tue, 25 Sep 2012 13:19:38 +0000 Amelia Templeton 15744 at http://nwpr.org Development Ban Lifted Causing Conservation Groups To Sue http://nwpr.org/post/development-ban-lifted-causing-conservation-groups-sue <p>RICHLAND, Wash. – Two conservation groups have filed a lawsuit against county commissioners on the Washington side of the Columbia Gorge. The Skamania County commissioners have lifted a development moratorium. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 13:44:32 +0000 Courtney Flatt 15681 at http://nwpr.org Wolf Kill Order Re-Issued For Washington's Wedge Pack http://nwpr.org/post/wolf-kill-order-re-issued-washingtons-wedge-pack <p>The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife has re-issued the kill order for four wolves in a pack in the Northeastern corner of the state. Starting Wednesday marksmen will take to the field, Ashley Ahearn reports. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 13:19:05 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 14649 at http://nwpr.org Wolf Kill Order Re-Issued For Washington's Wedge Pack