climate http://nwpr.org en Long, Warm Summer On Tap According To Weather Service Outlook http://nwpr.org/post/long-warm-summer-tap-according-weather-service-outlook <p>The&nbsp;supercomputers&nbsp;at the Weather Service's Climate Prediction Center have crunched long-term trends to produce an outlook for June, July and August. For most of the Northwest, the forecast gives a strong probability of above-normal temperatures.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 00:14:11 +0000 Tom Banse 46303 at http://nwpr.org Long, Warm Summer On Tap According To Weather Service Outlook New Study: Glacial Collapse In Antarctica “Unstoppable” http://nwpr.org/post/new-study-glacial-collapse-antarctica-unstoppable <p>New research from the University of Washington provides detailed predictions for the collapse of the Thwaites glacier in West Antarctica. When that glacier melts, it could trigger even more extreme sea level rise than scientists previously thought. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. Tue, 13 May 2014 14:49:35 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 45827 at http://nwpr.org New Study: Glacial Collapse In Antarctica “Unstoppable” Report Says Climate Change Is Likely To Reduce Hydropower In The Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/report-says-climate-change-likely-reduce-hydropower-northwest <p>If the Northwest continues to operate dams as it does now, the region could be left with 20 percent less hydropower by 2080.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 01:07:07 +0000 Cassandra Profita 45572 at http://nwpr.org Report Says Climate Change Is Likely To Reduce Hydropower In The Northwest Washington Governor Finds Wealthy Partner In Fight Against Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/washington-governor-finds-wealthy-partner-fight-against-climate-change <p></p><p>There’s a lot of debate these days about unlimited money in politics - and whether it corrupts the process. But does it matter who’s giving the money? And what their motivation is? In Washington state, Governor Jay Inslee has found a wealthy partner in his fight to combat global climate change. He’s California hedge fund founder Tom Steyer – a man the L.A. Times says may be the “liberals’ answer” to the conservative billionaire Koch brothers. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins reports on Inslee’s connection to this out-of-state billionaire.</p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 15:33:20 +0000 Austin Jenkins 45536 at http://nwpr.org Washington Governor Finds Wealthy Partner In Fight Against Climate Change Climate Model Shows Pollution In Asia Influences Weather Worldwide http://nwpr.org/post/climate-model-shows-pollution-asia-influences-weather-worldwide <p>Pollution in Asia can influence weather over much of the world. Those are the findings from a new climate study from northwest researchers, who teamed up with researchers from Texas.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 23:34:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 44730 at http://nwpr.org Climate Model Shows Pollution In Asia Influences Weather Worldwide Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input http://nwpr.org/post/megaloads-opponents-seek-more-public-input <p>The latest dispute over whether huge megaload trucks should be allowed on Northwest roads is currently in Oregon. Opponents of the massive big-rigs are taking their objections to court.</p><p> Sat, 05 Apr 2014 00:14:22 +0000 Chris Lehman 43907 at http://nwpr.org Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input What Does Climate Change Mean For Ice Climbing? http://nwpr.org/post/what-does-climate-change-mean-ice-climbing <p>Ice climbers are a lot like snowboarders and skiers – they count on winter weather to create the right conditions for their sport. But here’s a big difference: mountain resorts can manufacture snow; no one has invented a machine to freeze waterfalls. And as winter temperatures rise, outdoor recreationalists worry that climate change could threaten some ice climbing destinations.</p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 15:18:24 +0000 Courtney Flatt 41912 at http://nwpr.org What Does Climate Change Mean For Ice Climbing? In The World's 'Sixth Extinction,' Are Humans The Asteroid? http://nwpr.org/post/worlds-sixth-extinction-are-humans-asteroid The dinosaurs were killed during the Fifth Extinction — which scientists suspect was caused by an asteroid. Now, we are living through an epoch that many scientists describe as the Sixth Extinction, and this time, human activity is the culprit. As one scientist put it: We're the asteroid.<p>Elizabeth Kolbert is the author of the new book <em>The Sixth Extinction</em>. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 18:50:00 +0000 editor 41353 at http://nwpr.org In The World's 'Sixth Extinction,' Are Humans The Asteroid? Northwest Farmers Take Heart In Prediction Of Rainy Spring http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-farmers-take-heart-prediction-rainy-spring <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020414JR_FarmWeatherWoes_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest farmers call him “the weather man.” And at a farming conference in Spokane, he offered a reason for them to be optimistic about the upcoming season.<p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 01:04:24 +0000 Jessica Robinson 40976 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Farmers Take Heart In Prediction Of Rainy Spring Secretary of the Interior Tours Mount Rainier National Park, Talks Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/secretary-interior-tours-mount-rainier-national-park-talks-climate-change <p></p><p>The Secretary of the Interior visited Mt. Rainier National Park on Monday on the heels of President Obama’s latest State of the Union Address. In it, the President acknowledged that climate change is a fact.</p><p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 15:09:07 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40937 at http://nwpr.org