Washington State Patrol http://nwpr.org en Video Released Of Break-In At Washington Governor’s Office http://nwpr.org/post/video-released-break-washington-governor-s-office <p> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysK53ZPmaj8</p><p>It doesn’t rise to the level of the Watergate break-in. But the Washington State Patrol Friday released surveillance video of a recent burglary in Governor Jay Inslee’s office. Instead of political skullduggery, this appears to be a crime of opportunity.</p><p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 00:55:03 +0000 Austin Jenkins 48200 at http://nwpr.org Video Released Of Break-In At Washington Governor’s Office Stopped By A Trooper? Don’t Reach For Your Registration http://nwpr.org/post/stopped-trooper-don-t-reach-your-registration <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The summer driving season is approaching. That means road trips and family adventures. But also the chance of getting pulled over by the police for speeding or some other moving violation. The Washington State Patrol is reminding drivers what to do and not do if you’re stopped.</span></p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 00:26:56 +0000 Austin Jenkins 46651 at http://nwpr.org Stopped By A Trooper? Don’t Reach For Your Registration Lawmakers Raise Concerns About Troubled State Patrol Radio System http://nwpr.org/post/lawmakers-raise-concerns-about-troubled-state-patrol-radio-system <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington’s troubled State Patrol radio system is getting fresh scrutiny from state lawmakers. The Joint Transportation Committee got an update Wednesday on the $40 million conversion to digital technology.</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 00:52:33 +0000 Austin Jenkins 45923 at http://nwpr.org Lawmakers Raise Concerns About Troubled State Patrol Radio System Watching For 'Spray' And Other Tips For Navigating Icy Roads http://nwpr.org/post/watching-spray-and-other-tips-navigating-icy-roads <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121113AJ_IcyDriving_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Northwest’s deep freeze is over for most of the region, but snow remains in some areas and winter is just arriving. That means more cold temperatures and potentially icy commutes in the months ahead.<p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 00:50:50 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38586 at http://nwpr.org Watching For 'Spray' And Other Tips For Navigating Icy Roads Washington State Patrol Doesn't Expect Big Changes From New Pot Law http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-patrol-doesnt-expect-big-changes-new-pot-law <p></p><p>Officials with the Washington State Patrol say they don’t expect the initiative legalizing marijuana to alter their work very much. While the law contains a new limit on marijuana in a driver’s bloodstream, state troopers will continue to look at a driver’s behavior to see who is impaired. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 01:00:04 +0000 Amy Radil 19053 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Patrol Doesn't Expect Big Changes From New Pot Law Bizarre Incidents At Wash. And Oregon State Capitols http://nwpr.org/post/bizarre-incidents-wash-and-oregon-state-capitols <p>The Washington and Oregon state capitols have been the scenes of two bizarre incidents in recent days. Both involved apparently mentally unstable men. One had a gallon of gasoline, the other wielded a samurai sword. Mon, 16 Jul 2012 23:33:33 +0000 Austin Jenkins 11719 at http://nwpr.org Bizarre Incidents At Wash. And Oregon State Capitols Static In Olympia Over Wash. State Patrol Radio Upgrade http://nwpr.org/post/static-olympia-over-wash-state-patrol-radio-upgrade <p>OLYMPIA, Wash. &ndash; Just like the rest of us, police officers use cell phones and smart phones. But in an emergency, they still rely on old-fashioned two-way radios to communicate. In Washington, the State Patrol is about to upgrade that radio system to meet new federal standards. The $26 million contract went to Motorola with no opportunity for other companies to bid. Now the project is under fierce criticism from a tech-savvy Washington state lawmaker. Wed, 28 Mar 2012 00:59:58 +0000 Austin Jenkins 5640 at http://nwpr.org Static In Olympia Over Wash. State Patrol Radio Upgrade