Air Pollution http://nwpr.org en Higher Nitrate Air Pollution In Central Wash. http://nwpr.org/post/higher-nitrate-air-pollution-central-wash <p>Researchers have found the source of an unusual pocket of air pollution in central Washington. Tiny particles from large agricultural operations mix with vehicle exhaust. That creates nitrate pollution.</p><p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 00:52:06 +0000 Courtney Flatt 44270 at http://nwpr.org China Exporting More Than Just Goods To US http://nwpr.org/post/china-exporting-more-just-goods-us <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The goods produced in China and sold to the U.S. come at an environmental cost, according to a new study. Scientists are linking air pollution in the Western United States to China’s booming exports.</span></p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:25:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40301 at http://nwpr.org Air Pollution Triggers Wood Stove Ban During Klamath Cold Snap http://nwpr.org/post/air-pollution-triggers-wood-stove-ban-during-klamath-cold-snap <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Twenty below zero. That was the record breaking low in Klamath Falls Oregon this weekend. And the temperature has stayed below freezing. But county health officials are urging people in town not to fire up their </span>woodstoves<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. The cold front is also creating a pollution problem.</span></p><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 14:11:41 +0000 Amelia Templeton 38475 at http://nwpr.org Air Pollution Triggers Wood Stove Ban During Klamath Cold Snap Portland Manufacturer Challenges Its Ranking As Top Toxic Polluter http://nwpr.org/post/portland-manufacturer-challenges-its-ranking-top-toxic-polluter <p></p><p>Portland-based manufacturer Precision Castparts is denouncing a recent study that ranked the company number one in the nation for toxic air pollution.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:36:02 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33407 at http://nwpr.org Portland-Based Manufacturer Tops List Of Toxic Polluters http://nwpr.org/post/portland-based-manufacturer-tops-list-toxic-polluters <p></p><p>The Portland-based manufacturing firm Precision Castparts Corporation is the number one toxic air polluter in the country in a new ranking released by the University of Massachusetts.</p><p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 14:02:53 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33024 at http://nwpr.org Weather Conditions And Fine Particulate Matter Make Unhealthy Air http://nwpr.org/post/weather-conditions-and-fine-particulate-matter-make-unhealthy-air <p></p><p>Several areas in the Pacific Northwest are experiencing unhealthy air. Winter weather conditions have trapped air pollution near the ground. Sat, 19 Jan 2013 00:39:39 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 21407 at http://nwpr.org Weather Conditions And Fine Particulate Matter Make Unhealthy Air Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/study-microbial-hitchhikers-ride-wind-asia-northwest <p>Researchers have discovered something they didn’t expect in the air above an Oregon mountain: hundreds of tiny organisms from Asia. The study suggests the atmosphere is filled with life capable of traveling long distances. Jessica Robinson reports. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:10:38 +0000 Jessica Robinson 19968 at http://nwpr.org Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest Residents Report Central Washington Smells Like Smoke http://nwpr.org/post/residents-report-central-washington-smells-smoke <p>The smell of smoke hangs in the air across much of central Washington Wednesday. At least four significant wildfires are burning around Wenatchee, making the skies hazy. Vicky Cibcki works at the Anjou Bakery near the town of Cashmere. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 13:16:11 +0000 Colin Fogarty 15125 at http://nwpr.org Residents Report Central Washington Smells Like Smoke Icicle Seafood Company Fined Over Release Of Ozone-Depleting Refrigerant http://nwpr.org/post/icicle-seafood-company-fined-over-release-ozone-depleting-refrigerant A Seattle-based seafood company has been fined 430,000 dollars for violations of the Clean Air Act. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. <p> Icicle Seafoods harvests and sells salmon, crab Pollock and other fish from the waters of the Northwest and Alaska. And one of the key components of catching fish and bringing them to market – is refrigerant. <p> R-22, to be more specific. It’s a substance that’s used to keep refrigerators cold and it’s being phased out because it depletes the ozone layer. Tue, 14 Aug 2012 13:01:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 13398 at http://nwpr.org Coal Train Traffic Increase Could Be Bad News For Human Health http://nwpr.org/post/coal-train-traffic-increase-could-be-bad-news-human-health <p>BELLINGHAM, Wash. -- There are now six new export terminals proposed to be built along the Northwest coast. The goal? To bring American coal to Asia, via train and ship.</p><p>If these terminals are approved that could mean more than 100 million tons of coal traveling by rail across Idaho, Washington and Oregon every year.</p><p>The potential for more train traffic has public health experts concerned. EarthFix reporters Ashley Ahearn and Courtney Flatt have the story. Tue, 27 Mar 2012 12:27:58 +0000 Courtney Flatt & Ashley Ahearn 5587 at http://nwpr.org Coal Train Traffic Increase Could Be Bad News For Human Health