BPA http://nwpr.org en New Administrator Steps Up To Handle BPA Woes http://nwpr.org/post/new-administrator-steps-handle-bpa-woes <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012714AK_BPA_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The region’s largest power marketer has a new permanent top manager.<p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 01:38:46 +0000 Anna King 40589 at http://nwpr.org New Administrator Steps Up To Handle BPA Woes Wyden Says He’ll Seek Accountability for Hiring Discrimination at BPA http://nwpr.org/post/wyden-says-he-ll-seek-accountability-hiring-discrimination-bpa <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon Senator Ron </span>Wyden<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says he’s exploring whether executives from the </span>Bonneville<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Power Administration should be held accountable for a hiring discrimination scandal.</span></p><p> Sat, 19 Oct 2013 00:56:16 +0000 Amelia Templeton 35955 at http://nwpr.org Wyden Says He’ll Seek Accountability for Hiring Discrimination at BPA Fixing Bonneville Power Hiring Mess A 'Monumental' Task http://nwpr.org/post/fixing-bonneville-power-hiring-mess-monumental-task <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100813TB_BPAreport_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A final inspector general&#39;s report released Tuesday condemns the Bonneville Power Administration for discriminating against veterans and other applicants during jobs hires. </span><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bonneville is this region&#39;s biggest wholesale electricity and transmission provider.&#160;</span><p>BPA issued a contrite response to the scathing report from the U.S. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 00:09:20 +0000 Tom Banse 35437 at http://nwpr.org Fixing Bonneville Power Hiring Mess A 'Monumental' Task Suspended BPA Officer Testifies In Hiring Scandal http://nwpr.org/post/suspended-bpa-officer-testifies-hiring-scandal <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/080113TB_BPAside_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The plot thickened Thursday in the hiring scandal that's enveloped the </span>Bonneville<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Power Administration. One of the two top executives who was suspended last month told her side of story in public for the first time.&#160;</span><p>BPA Chief Operating Officer Anita Decker testified reluctantly but voluntarily to the U.S. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 22:53:52 +0000 Tom Banse 31896 at http://nwpr.org Suspended BPA Officer Testifies In Hiring Scandal BPA Shakeup In Wake Of Alleged Hiring Misdeeds http://nwpr.org/post/bpa-shakeup-wake-alleged-hiring-misdeeds <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">There's been a management shakeup at the Bonneville Power Administration. The U.S. Department of Energy replaced BPA's agency head and chief operating officer without explanation. The move came just before the Tuesday morning release of a damaging Inspector General report.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 23:19:15 +0000 Tom Banse 31073 at http://nwpr.org BPA Shakeup In Wake Of Alleged Hiring Misdeeds Study Challenges BPA Exposure http://nwpr.org/post/study-challenges-bpa-exposure <p></p><p>A new study out of the Pacific Northwest has found people may be exposed to far less of the chemical BPA than previously thought. BPA, also known as bisphenol A, has been linked to genital defects, early onset of puberty and obesity. Sat, 23 Feb 2013 01:38:52 +0000 Courtney Flatt 23220 at http://nwpr.org Study Confirms BPA Damages Reproductive Systems http://nwpr.org/post/study-confirms-bpa-damages-reproductive-systems <p>Research in the Northwest is finding new evidence that a chemical used to harden plastics can damage female reproductive systems. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 23:42:07 +0000 Courtney Flatt 15846 at http://nwpr.org BPA Shuts Down Wind Farms and Promises Compensation http://nwpr.org/post/bpa-shuts-down-wind-farms-and-promises-compensation <p>Wind farms along the Columbia River were asked to shut down for about 10 hours over the weekend. For the second year in a row, spring rain and snowmelt have led to an oversupply of hydropower on the Columbia River. Amelia Templeton reports. Wed, 02 May 2012 13:34:11 +0000 Amelia Templeton 7613 at http://nwpr.org BPA Wind Power Sets New Record http://nwpr.org/post/bpa-wind-power-sets-new-record <p>RICHLAND, Wash. &ndash; Wind farms have generated a record-breaking amount of power this month. As correspondent Courtney Flatt reports, the Bonneville Power Administration is hoping to avoid over-generation problems that happened last spring. Thu, 22 Mar 2012 12:40:31 +0000 Courtney Flatt 5297 at http://nwpr.org BPA Wind Power Sets New Record