northwest athletes http://nwpr.org en Five Athletes With Northwest Ties In Sochi For Paralympic Winter Games http://nwpr.org/post/five-athletes-northwest-ties-sochi-paralympic-winter-games <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030714TB_Paralympic_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>American and European politicians are boycotting the Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi to protest Russian moves in Ukraine. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:58:31 +0000 Tom Banse 42461 at http://nwpr.org Five Athletes With Northwest Ties In Sochi For Paralympic Winter Games How They Fared: Northwest Olympians Bring Home Silver & Gold http://nwpr.org/post/how-they-fared-northwest-olympians-bring-home-silver-gold Short track speedskater J.R. Celski of Federal Way, Wash., led Team USA to a silver medal in the men's 5000-meter relay Friday, ending a medal drought in the discipline for the Americans. Russia took the gold. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 01:16:54 +0000 Tom Banse 41827 at http://nwpr.org How They Fared: Northwest Olympians Bring Home Silver & Gold Northwest Claims Another Medal, But It Comes In Heartbreaking Hockey Loss http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-claims-another-medal-it-comes-heartbreaking-hockey-loss <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022014TB_HockeySV_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>More Olympic hardware is coming home to the Northwest, but it comes via a heartbreaking loss.&#160;<p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 00:48:46 +0000 Tom Banse 41749 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Claims Another Medal, But It Comes In Heartbreaking Hockey Loss Idaho Snowboarder Grabs Northwest's First 2014 Olympic Medal http://nwpr.org/post/how-they-fared-medals-elude-northwest-olympians The Northwest has its first Olympic gold medal from the 2014 Sochi Games. Snowboarder <a href="http://www.teamusa.org/Athletes/FA/Kaitlyn-Farrington">Kaitlyn Farrington</a> of Bellevue, Idaho triumphed in the women's halfpipe Wednesday.<p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 00:10:42 +0000 Tom Banse 41256 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Snowboarder Grabs Northwest's First 2014 Olympic Medal Watching Winter Olympics 'Live' Is For the Birds: Night Owls and Early Birds http://nwpr.org/post/watching-winter-olympics-live-birds-night-owls-and-early-birds <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 12-hour time difference between the Pacific Northwest and </span>Sochi<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Russia threatens to rob sleep from diehard sports fans and the families of local athletes competing at the Winter Olympics. Watching events 'live' often requires getting up in the middle of the night or early in the morning.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 01:51:57 +0000 Tom Banse 41146 at http://nwpr.org Watching Winter Olympics 'Live' Is For the Birds: Night Owls and Early Birds Two Northwest Athletes Chosen As Flag Bearers in Sochi http://nwpr.org/post/two-northwest-athletes-chosen-flag-bearers-sochi <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020714TB_OlyBanse_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Two athletes from the Northwest had the honor of carrying their nation's flag in the Opening Ceremonies of the Winter Olympics -- but neither banner was the Stars and Stripes.<p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 00:58:49 +0000 Tom Banse 41141 at http://nwpr.org Two Northwest Athletes Chosen As Flag Bearers in Sochi Opening Ceremony Never Gets Old, Even For Olympic Veterans http://nwpr.org/post/opening-ceremony-never-gets-old-even-olympic-veterans <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020614TB_Holland_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>For some of the Northwest athletes competing at the Winter Games, this will be the third or fourth time to experience the Opening Ceremonies.<p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 01:08:41 +0000 Tom Banse 41074 at http://nwpr.org Opening Ceremony Never Gets Old, Even For Olympic Veterans Coach From Tacoma Helps U.S. Olympians Play Mental Game http://nwpr.org/post/coach-tacoma-helps-us-olympians-play-mental-game <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020414TB_MentalCoach_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Super Bowl-winning Seattle Seahawks had one. Professional baseball teams have them. And the U.S. Olympic women's ice hockey team found one in Tacoma: a "mental skills" coach.<p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 00:51:15 +0000 Tom Banse 40922 at http://nwpr.org Coach From Tacoma Helps U.S. Olympians Play Mental Game Big Crop Of Northwest Olympians Headed To Sochi Games http://nwpr.org/post/big-crop-northwest-olympians-headed-sochi-games Athletes headed to the Winter Games from Oregon, Idaho and Washington run the gamut from Olympic rookies to medal-draped veterans.<p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 01:42:08 +0000 Tom Banse 40590 at http://nwpr.org Big Crop Of Northwest Olympians Headed To Sochi Games