Bullying http://nwpr.org en Washington Lawmakers Consider ‘Emotional Harm’ As Form Of Bullying http://nwpr.org/post/washington-lawmakers-consider-emotional-harm-form-bullying <p>The definition of bullying in Washington could be expanded to include any act of “emotional harm” against a student. State lawmakers took testimony Thursday on this potentially controversial revision to the state’s anti-bullying law.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:40:14 +0000 Taylor Winkel 41754 at http://nwpr.org Washington Lawmakers Consider ‘Emotional Harm’ As Form Of Bullying What's It Like To Be Young And Bullied? http://nwpr.org/post/whats-it-be-young-and-bullied <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/255743572/overcoming" target="_blank">Overcoming</a>.<p><strong>About Shane Koyczan's TEDTalk</strong><p><a href="http://www.shanekoyczan.com/" target="_blank">Shane Koyczan</a> describes growing up endlessly tormented by bullies. When he turned to spoken-word poetry to cope, he found that millions related to his anti-bullying message.<p><strong>About Shane Koyczan</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/Koyczan" target="_blank">Shane Koyczan</a> is a poet, author and performer. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 15:48:00 +0000 editor 39517 at http://nwpr.org What's It Like To Be Young And Bullied? North Idaho Schools Launch Effort To Change Bullying Culture http://nwpr.org/post/north-idaho-schools-launch-effort-change-bullying-culture <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/092513JR_Handelman_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A north Idaho school district is launching a campaign to curb bullying. The effort includes curriculum changes and focus groups with a cross section of student cliques.<p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 23:40:55 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34746 at http://nwpr.org North Idaho Schools Launch Effort To Change Bullying Culture Schools May Have To Do More To Help Bullied Students http://nwpr.org/post/schools-may-have-do-more-help-bullied-students <p>BOISE, Idaho -- Idaho&rsquo;s public schools may have to do more when it comes to stopping bullying. The state Senate approved legislation Thursday that would require schools to give tools to teachers on how to spot and stop bullying. It also says school employees must intervene if bullying happens.</p><p>Democratic Senator Nicole LeFavour told her colleagues there was a real need for this bill.</p> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 12:03:51 +0000 Samantha Wright 4975 at http://nwpr.org