Real Estate http://nwpr.org en Northwest Mirrors National Shift Away From Single Family Homes http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-mirrors-national-shift-away-single-family-homes <p>New housing starts are a key economic indicator. But not all new houses are created the same. A <a href="http://www.census.gov/construction/nrc/">new report issued Friday</a> shows that Oregon and Washington are following a national shift away from single family homes towards more apartment complexes.</p><p> Sat, 17 May 2014 00:16:52 +0000 Chris Lehman 46043 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Mirrors National Shift Away From Single Family Homes Nineties Real Estate Deal Proved To Be Money-Loser For Washington State http://nwpr.org/post/nineties-real-estate-deal-proved-be-money-loser-washington-state <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/111113AJ_PacMed_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The state of Washington is expected to sign a 30-year lease Tuesday for Seattle’s iconic Pacific Tower on Beacon Hill.<p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 00:13:04 +0000 Austin Jenkins 37141 at http://nwpr.org Nineties Real Estate Deal Proved To Be Money-Loser For Washington State Aspiring Pot Retailers Say Real Estate Is Hard To Find http://nwpr.org/post/aspiring-pot-retailers-say-real-estate-hard-find <p>Initiative 502 allows the state to license marijuana stores. Many aspiring pot retailers are scouting for real estate. But they aren’t having much luck finding space. Legislators say they may need to open up more real estate for the stores if I-502 is going to succeed. KUOW’s Amy Radil reports. Mon, 11 Mar 2013 14:04:48 +0000 Amy Radil 24086 at http://nwpr.org Aspiring Pot Retailers Say Real Estate Is Hard To Find Western Idaho Resort Muddles Through Extended Limbo http://nwpr.org/post/western-idaho-resort-muddles-through-extended-limbo <p></p><p>The real estate crash triggered some big bankruptcies in the Northwest, but few are as spectacular and convoluted as the foreclosure of the unfinished Tamarack Resort in western Idaho. What was supposed to be the Northwest's newest destination resort remains in extended legal limbo, but plucky homeowners are keeping it alive until a new buyer arrives. Fri, 08 Feb 2013 01:26:26 +0000 Tom Banse 22413 at http://nwpr.org Western Idaho Resort Muddles Through Extended Limbo Spokane Sues Fannie Mae And Freddie Mac http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-sues-fannie-mae-and-freddie-mac <p></p><p>The city of Spokane, Wash., is suing Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. The class-action suit claims the two mortgage giants should have to pay a real estate excise tax to Spokane and dozens of other cities across Washington. Sat, 12 Jan 2013 01:39:46 +0000 Jessica Robinson 21069 at http://nwpr.org Spokane Sues Fannie Mae And Freddie Mac Oregon Has Highest Distribution Rate Of Federal Foreclosure Assistance Funds http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-has-highest-distribution-rate-federal-foreclosure-assistance-funds <p>Oregon has been the most aggressive state in distributing federal funds aimed at preventing foreclosures. The state has tapped into nearly half of the $220 million it received under the &ldquo;Hardest Hit&rdquo; program. That&#39;s a higher rate than any of the other 17 states and Washington, D.C., that were awarded the funds. Tue, 31 Jul 2012 00:51:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 12503 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Has Highest Distribution Rate Of Federal Foreclosure Assistance Funds New Mediation Law Could Help Struggling Homeowners http://nwpr.org/post/new-mediation-law-could-help-struggling-homeowners <p>Oregonians facing foreclosure will soon have another tool to stay in their house. A law that takes effect Wednesday allows struggling homeowners the chance to look their lender in the eye. Wed, 11 Jul 2012 00:19:57 +0000 Chris Lehman 11417 at http://nwpr.org New Mediation Law Could Help Struggling Homeowners Home Prices Continue To Drop In Seattle, Portland http://nwpr.org/post/home-prices-continue-drop-seattle-portland <p>Home prices continue to fall in the Northwest. New figures released show yet another drop in both Seattle and Portland.</p><p>The S&amp;P/Case-Schiller Index measures housing prices in 20 large metropolitan areas around the country. The newest figures are through January and in them, both Seattle and Portland hit new lows for the current economic downturn. Average home prices in both cities are down about four percent from a year ago. Steve Thoele is an agent with Keller-Williams Realty in Portland. He blogs about housing trends in Oregon. Wed, 28 Mar 2012 00:06:57 +0000 Chris Lehman 5639 at http://nwpr.org Home Prices Continue To Drop In Seattle, Portland Kick Back & Relax to Real Estate http://nwpr.org/post/kick-back-relax-real-estate-0 <p>One of my favorite bands, <a href="http://www.dominorecordco.us/artists/real-estate/">Real Estate</a> stopped by NPR to perform a three-song Tiny Desk Concert.&nbsp; Real Estate&rsquo;s latest album <em>Days</em> has been on repeat for me since its release from Domino Records last fall.&nbsp; For being a surf-rock, lo-fi, breezy pop kind of band this album fits perfectly with a crisp autumn or winter day.&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/148160093/real-estate-tiny-desk-concert">Watch Real Estate&rsquo;s Tiny Desk Concert here</a>.</p> Mon, 12 Mar 2012 21:40:45 +0000 4738 at http://nwpr.org Kick Back & Relax to Real Estate