Joint Base Lewis-McChord http://nwpr.org en JBLM Eyed As Possible Shelter for Immigrant Kids http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-eyed-possible-shelter-immigrant-kids <p>A flood of immigrant children arriving at the U.S.-Mexico border could spill over into Washington state. For some of these undocumented kids, their journey north could lead to Joint Base Lewis-McChord, near Tacoma.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:12:41 +0000 Liz Jones 48009 at http://nwpr.org JBLM Eyed As Possible Shelter for Immigrant Kids NW Soldier Death in California Highlights Training Accidents http://nwpr.org/post/nw-soldier-death-california-highlights-training-accidents <p>The death of a Washington-based soldier over the weekend highlights the danger of training for war. Private Andrew Sass was killed Saturday in an incident at the National Training Center in California.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 00:01:55 +0000 Austin Jenkins 47950 at http://nwpr.org NW Soldier Death in California Highlights Training Accidents Spokane Native Receives Medal Of Honor http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-native-receives-medal-honor <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/082613AJ_Obama_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Spokane native Ty Carter has received the nation’s highest military decoration.&#160;<p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 23:10:03 +0000 Austin Jenkins 33175 at http://nwpr.org Spokane Native Receives Medal Of Honor JBLM Solider to Receive Medal of Honor http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-solider-receive-medal-honor <p>Staff Sgt. Ty Carter will be one of only a handful of living American soldiers to receive the nation’s highest military honor.&nbsp; Mon, 29 Jul 2013 23:36:37 +0000 Patricia Murphy 31729 at http://nwpr.org JBLM Solider to Receive Medal of Honor Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty At JBLM To 16 Murders In Afghanistan http://nwpr.org/post/sgt-robert-bales-pleads-guilty-jblm-16-murders-afghanistan <p>A judge has accepted the guilty plea of a a soldier accused of murdering 16 Afghan civilians. The plea spares the life of the soldier based at Joint Base Lewis McChord. He still faces trial to determine if he'll ever be eligible for parole.</p><p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 22:53:16 +0000 Patricia Murphy 28805 at http://nwpr.org Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty At JBLM To 16 Murders In Afghanistan Army Refuses To Release Investigation Into PTSD Probe At Madigan Army Medical Center http://nwpr.org/post/army-refuses-release-investigation-ptsd-probe-madigan-army-medical-center <p></p><p>The Army says it won’t release the investigation into how Madigan Army Medical Center handled some soldiers' diagnoses for post-traumatic stress disorder. The denial comes one week after the Secretary of the Army was at Joint base Lewis McChord to announce the completion of an Army-wide review on the same subject. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 00:39:56 +0000 Patricia Murphy 22588 at http://nwpr.org Army Refuses To Release Investigation Into PTSD Probe At Madigan Army Medical Center Sgt. Bales' State Of Mind Is Key To His Defense In War Crime Case http://nwpr.org/post/sgt-bales-state-mind-key-his-defense-war-crime-case <p>In eight days of hearings, Army prosecutors outlined in grisly detail the case against Staff Sgt. Robert Bales. He’s the Washington soldier charged with killing and wounding 23 Afghan civilians in a rampage this past March. Bales’ pretrial hearing concluded Tuesday at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Now the Army will decide whether the evidence supports a full court martial and, if so, whether the death penalty is appropriate in this case.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 14:34:22 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18343 at http://nwpr.org Sgt. Bales' State Of Mind Is Key To His Defense In War Crime Case Afghan Survivors And Witnesses Testify At Army Hearing http://nwpr.org/post/afghan-survivors-and-witnesses-testify-army-hearing-0 <p></p><p>Witnesses and survivors recounted a horrific scene following a massacre at two villages in Kandahar Province that killed 16 civilians and wounded 6. They testified via live video from Afghanistan during a pretrial hearing for Army Staff Sergeant Robert Bales at Joint Base Lewis McChord.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:27:06 +0000 Patricia Murphy 18240 at http://nwpr.org Afghan Survivors And Witnesses Testify At Army Hearing Fourth Day Of Pretrial Hearings For Accused JBLM Soldier http://nwpr.org/post/fourth-day-pretrial-hearings-accused-jblm-soldier <p></p><p>Friday is the fourth day of pretrial hearings for U.S. Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales. Bales is accused of massacring 16 Afghan civilians, mostly women and children, in March. The proceedings at Joint Base Lewis-McChord are also known as an Article 32 hearing. They will determine whether the case will advance to court-martial, where the government has stated it plans to seek the death penalty. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 02:03:53 +0000 Patricia Murphy 18111 at http://nwpr.org Fourth Day Of Pretrial Hearings For Accused JBLM Soldier Bales Hearing Underway http://nwpr.org/post/bales-hearing-underway <p></p><p>Prosecutors have made opening arguments in a hearing for the Washington soldier accused of massacring 16 Afghan villagers earlier this year. The pretrial hearing for Staff Sgt. Robert Bales is expected to last several days. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 01:50:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 17877 at http://nwpr.org