JBLM http://nwpr.org en Tears, Vows To Remember As Permanent Memorial Unveiled At JBLM http://nwpr.org/post/tears-vows-remember-permanent-memorial-unveiled-jblm <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/101813AJ_MemorialDedication_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>As a decade of war winds down, Joint Base Lewis-McChord is adding to a memorial park for the fallen.<p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 23:33:51 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35951 at http://nwpr.org Tears, Vows To Remember As Permanent Memorial Unveiled At JBLM 3 Wash. Soldiers Jailed Following Stabbing Death http://nwpr.org/post/3-wash-soldiers-jailed-following-stabbing-death-0 <p style="font-family: arial; background-color: rgb(238, 238, 238);">Three Washington-based soldiers are in jail after the stabbing death of a fellow soldier over the weekend. The arrests came after the person who allegedly wielded the knife sought medical treatment for a cut to his hand.</p><p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 00:53:31 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35377 at http://nwpr.org 3 Wash. Soldiers Jailed Following Stabbing Death Staff Sgt. Bales To Plead Guilty http://nwpr.org/post/staff-sgt-bales-plead-guilty <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Army staff sergeant Robert Bales will plead guilty next week to murdering 16 Afghan villagers in early morning raids last year. The plea allows the soldier from western Washington’s Joint-Base Lewis </span>McCord<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to avoid the death penalty. John Henry Browne, an attorney for Bales, says his client will detail his own version of the crimes as part of the plea deal.</span></p><p> Thu, 30 May 2013 01:07:13 +0000 Martin Kaste 28404 at http://nwpr.org Staff Sgt. Bales To Plead Guilty Guilty Verdict At JBLM In Trial Of Sgt. Accused of Baghdad Shooting Spree http://nwpr.org/post/guilty-verdict-jblm-trial-sgt-accused-baghdad-shooting-spree <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051313TB_Guilty_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A case that featured harrowing testimony of combat-related mental illness ended Monday with a guilty verdict. Army Sergeant John Russell was convicted for murdering five fellow servicemen at a military mental health clinic in Baghdad in 2009.<p>A military judge found the 48-year-old Texas native guilty of premeditated murder. Mon, 13 May 2013 22:49:21 +0000 Tom Banse 27462 at http://nwpr.org Sequester Suspends Tuition Assistance For Troops http://nwpr.org/post/sequester-suspends-tuition-assistance-troops-0 <p>JOINT BASE LEWIS-McCHORD, Wash. - The Defense Department has suspended a workplace benefit cherished by many soldiers, airmen and Coast Guardsmen. The agency has put tuition assistance on indefinite hold because of the automatic federal budget cuts known as the "sequester." Thu, 14 Mar 2013 23:27:31 +0000 Tom Banse 24319 at http://nwpr.org Sequester Suspends Tuition Assistance For Troops JBLM Soldiers Don't Expect 'Rush' Of Females To Combat Roles http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-soldiers-dont-expect-rush-females-combat-roles <p></p><p>Two themes emerged from a roundtable of mostly female soldiers at the U.S. Army's biggest West Coast post. Joint Base Lewis-McChord organized the panel Thursday to speak on the Pentagon's decision to allow women into combat roles. Fri, 25 Jan 2013 01:37:27 +0000 Tom Banse 21702 at http://nwpr.org Women Soldiers Reflect On New Army Career Options http://nwpr.org/post/women-soldiers-reflect-new-army-career-options <p></p><p>The Pentagon's decision to allow women in combat roles has some female soldiers rethinking their career trajectories. Fri, 25 Jan 2013 01:16:53 +0000 Tom Banse 21700 at http://nwpr.org Women Soldiers Reflect On New Army Career Options Judge Orders Sanity Review For Bales http://nwpr.org/post/judge-orders-sanity-review-bales <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Army staff sergeant accused of murdering 16 Afghan civilians in an overnight rampage last March was arraigned in a military court room south of Tacoma Thursday. He could face death if found guilty. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 00:42:59 +0000 Patricia Murphy 21360 at http://nwpr.org Judge Orders Sanity Review For Bales Mid-Air Crash At JBLM Brought Down Helicopters In 2011 http://nwpr.org/post/mid-air-crash-jblm-brought-down-helicopters-2011-0 <p></p><p>A new Army report confirms it was a mid-air crash that brought down two Army helicopters at Washington’s Joint Base Lewis-McChord a year ago. It happened during a night vision training exercise. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 01:42:46 +0000 Austin Jenkins 20679 at http://nwpr.org Mid-Air Crash At JBLM Brought Down Helicopters In 2011 Pretrial Hearing For Staff Sgt. Bales Concludes http://nwpr.org/post/pretrial-hearing-staff-sgt-bales-concludes <p>A pretrial hearing for Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales has concluded at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Bales is the soldier accused of killing 16 Afghan civilians earlier this year – most of them young children. The defense is focused on Bales’ state of mind.</p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 00:37:17 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18326 at http://nwpr.org Pretrial Hearing For Staff Sgt. Bales Concludes