Science and Technology http://nwpr.org en Designing Better Asphalt http://nwpr.org/post/designing-better-asphalt <p></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 19:03:19 +0000 Gillian Coldsnow 42227 at http://nwpr.org Designing Better Asphalt Storied Research Subs Visit Northwest Coast http://nwpr.org/post/storied-research-subs-visit-northwest-coast <p></p><p>A storied research sub that explored and filmed the wreck of the Titanic is making an appearance in the Northwest. The deep-diving submarine "Alvin" is in Astoria Monday, &nbsp;August 26 through Friday, August 30 while its support ship changes crews. It's actually one of two well-known submersibles passing through the port town.</p><p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 13:50:08 +0000 Tom Banse 33140 at http://nwpr.org Storied Research Subs Visit Northwest Coast Northwest Scientists Discovering New Ways To Trace Chemical Weapons http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-scientists-discovering-new-ways-trace-chemical-weapons <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">President Barack Obama has been publicly warning Syria’s leaders not to use chemical weapons against their own people. The news is unexpectedly relevant in southeast Washington. Researchers at at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory are developing new scientific techniques to trace chemical agents back to their sources.</p><p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 02:31:17 +0000 Anna King 19444 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Scientists Discovering New Ways To Trace Chemical Weapons High Altitude Ballooning Business Builds Station In Tillamook http://nwpr.org/post/high-altitude-ballooning-business-builds-station-tillamook <p>An Oregon company is building a new high-altitude ballooning station in Tillamook. The Near Space Corporation is spending $6.9 million to build a factory and ballooning station at the Port of Tillamook Airport Business Park. Tue, 16 Oct 2012 01:12:59 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 16794 at http://nwpr.org High Altitude Ballooning Business Builds Station In Tillamook Turns Out Kennewick Man Not From Kennewick http://nwpr.org/post/turns-out-kennewick-man-not-kennewick <p>Kennewick Man spent most of his life on the coast, not in the region on the Columbia River where he was found. So says the federal scientist who fought for nearly 10 years to study the 9,500 year old bones. The scientist released some of his findings at a conference this week with Northwest tribes<br><br>Kennewick Man’s bones give an indication of what he ate, and how he lived. The research shows he wasn’t fond of oysters or clams but instead his menu included big sea creatures like seals.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 00:16:50 +0000 Anna King 16549 at http://nwpr.org Turns Out Kennewick Man Not From Kennewick 'Silent Earthquakes' Ripple Under Cascadia http://nwpr.org/post/silent-earthquakes-ripple-under-cascadia <p>Parts of Washington and Oregon are in the midst of silent earthquakes this week. You can't feel this so-called "slow slip" quake and it doesn't cause damage. Still, scientists want to learn more about the recently discovered phenomenon. Sat, 06 Oct 2012 00:12:11 +0000 Tom Banse 16333 at http://nwpr.org 'Silent Earthquakes' Ripple Under Cascadia Newly Detected Parasite Turns Northwest Honey Bees Into 'Zombees' http://nwpr.org/post/newly-detected-parasite-turns-northwest-honey-bees-zombees <p>There's more trouble for your hard-working backyard honey bee. Researchers have confirmed the first cases of "zombee" bees in Washington state and in the Portland area. Infection by a parasite prompts the bees to embark on what's being called a "flight of the living dead." Tue, 25 Sep 2012 00:14:41 +0000 Tom Banse 15722 at http://nwpr.org Newly Detected Parasite Turns Northwest Honey Bees Into 'Zombees' Study: Coastal Oregon Waters Slightly Caffeinated http://nwpr.org/post/study-coastal-oregon-waters-slightly-caffeinated <p>The Northwest is known for its love of coffee. Now evidence of that is showing up in the Pacific Ocean. Researchers have found low levels of caffeine at half a dozen locations on the Oregon Coast. Mon, 23 Jul 2012 23:37:54 +0000 Tom Banse 12124 at http://nwpr.org Study: Coastal Oregon Waters Slightly Caffeinated South-Central Oregon Caves Yield Early Human DNA http://nwpr.org/post/south-central-oregon-caves-yield-early-human-dna <p>An archeological dig at a group of remote caves in south-central Oregon may force some rethinking about how the first humans colonized North America. Scientists found the critical evidence in a form you might not expect. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 23:47:25 +0000 Tom Banse 11536 at http://nwpr.org South-Central Oregon Caves Yield Early Human DNA Report: Idaho National Lab Mishandled Dangerous Explosives http://nwpr.org/post/report-idaho-national-lab-mishandled-dangerous-explosives <p>Idaho National Laboratory in Idaho Falls has been failing to properly handle and store explosives, putting some workers in jeopardy. That&rsquo;s the upshot of a new report by the U.S. Department of Energy. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 23:14:49 +0000 Anna King 11355 at http://nwpr.org Report: Idaho National Lab Mishandled Dangerous Explosives