Climate Change http://nwpr.org en What Does Climate Change Mean For Ice Climbing? http://nwpr.org/post/what-does-climate-change-mean-ice-climbing <p>Ice climbers are a lot like snowboarders and skiers – they count on winter weather to create the right conditions for their sport. But here’s a big difference: mountain resorts can manufacture snow; no one has invented a machine to freeze waterfalls. And as winter temperatures rise, outdoor recreationalists worry that climate change could threaten some ice climbing destinations.</p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 15:18:24 +0000 Courtney Flatt 41912 at http://nwpr.org What Does Climate Change Mean For Ice Climbing? In The World's 'Sixth Extinction,' Are Humans The Asteroid? http://nwpr.org/post/worlds-sixth-extinction-are-humans-asteroid The dinosaurs were killed during the Fifth Extinction — which scientists suspect was caused by an asteroid. Now, we are living through an epoch that many scientists describe as the Sixth Extinction, and this time, human activity is the culprit. As one scientist put it: We're the asteroid.<p>Elizabeth Kolbert is the author of the new book <em>The Sixth Extinction</em>. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 18:50:00 +0000 editor 41353 at http://nwpr.org In The World's 'Sixth Extinction,' Are Humans The Asteroid? Secretary of the Interior Tours Mount Rainier National Park, Talks Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/secretary-interior-tours-mount-rainier-national-park-talks-climate-change <p></p><p>The Secretary of the Interior visited Mt. Rainier National Park on Monday on the heels of President Obama’s latest State of the Union Address. In it, the President acknowledged that climate change is a fact.</p><p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 15:09:07 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40937 at http://nwpr.org Entrepreneurs Looking For 'Windfall' Cash In On Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/entrepreneurs-looking-windfall-cash-climate-change <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1ltifF4gWU</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 18:57:00 +0000 editor 40615 at http://nwpr.org Entrepreneurs Looking For 'Windfall' Cash In On Climate Change Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-court-appeals-hears-climate-suit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two young Eugene women had their day in court Thursday in a lawsuit asking the state of Oregon to do more to prevent climate change. A three judge panel of the Oregon Court of Appeals heard arguments at the University of Oregon Law School in Eugene.</span></p><p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 00:11:42 +0000 Rachael McDonald 40119 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit Testy Exchanges, No Consensus On Governor's Climate Change Panel http://nwpr.org/post/testy-exchanges-no-consensus-governors-climate-change-panel <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/120613AJ_ClimateChange_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee has been dealt a setback in his campaign to reduce carbon emissions.<p> Sat, 07 Dec 2013 01:11:38 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38348 at http://nwpr.org Testy Exchanges, No Consensus On Governor's Climate Change Panel Snowpack, Sea Level, And Wildlife Main Climate Change Risks In The Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/snowpack-sea-level-and-wildlife-main-climate-change-risks-northwest <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">What do Idaho potato farmers and Puget Sound tribes that rely on shellfish have in common? They’re people in the Northwest who will be impacted by climate change, according to a new report led by Oregon State University and the University of Washington.</span></p><p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 14:13:48 +0000 Amelia Templeton 36816 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber And Inslee Face Legislative Roadblocks On Climate Agreement http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-and-inslee-face-legislative-roadblocks-climate-agreement <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon Governor John </span>Kitzhaber<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and Washington Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> set ambitious goals when they signed a regional climate change agreement last week, Monday, 10/28 with the leaders of California and British Columbia. But the governors alone can't reach those goals without their state legislatures.</span></p><p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 15:18:42 +0000 Cassandra Profita 36754 at http://nwpr.org How Climate Change Could Affect Hazardous Waste Sites http://nwpr.org/post/how-climate-change-could-affect-hazardous-waste-sites <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Obama Administration Friday rolled out strategies to deal with the effects of climate change -- and federal agencies are doing the same.</span></p><p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 14:47:45 +0000 Courtney Flatt 36753 at http://nwpr.org How Climate Change Could Affect Hazardous Waste Sites WA Governor Inslee Appointed to Climate Change Task Force http://nwpr.org/post/wa-governor-inslee-appointed-climate-change-task-force <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will soon help advise the White House on how to respond to the effects of climate change. President Barack Obama Friday appointed </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to a task force that includes governors, mayors and tribal officials.</span></p><p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 14:32:21 +0000 Courtney Flatt 36752 at http://nwpr.org