nuclear power http://nwpr.org en Richland-Built Technology To Treat Radioactive Water In Japan http://nwpr.org/post/richland-built-technology-treat-radioactive-water-japan <p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:55:49 +0000 Anna King 47171 at http://nwpr.org Richland-Built Technology To Treat Radioactive Water In Japan Nuclear Power Plant Safety Report http://nwpr.org/post/nuclear-power-plant-safety-report <p>A new report from the Union of Concerned Scientists says the Northwest’s only commercial nuclear power plant reported three safety problems in 2013. Officials at the plant say they’ve been on top of the issues.</p><p> Sat, 08 Mar 2014 01:19:35 +0000 Courtney Flatt 42462 at http://nwpr.org Nuclear Power Plant Safety Report Power Planners Ponder The Northwest Without A Nuclear Power Plant http://nwpr.org/post/power-planners-ponder-northwest-without-nuclear-power-plant <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Northwest power planners may do their own analysis on the impacts of shutting down the region’s only nuclear power plant, which operates near Richland, Washington.</span></p><p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 14:42:40 +0000 Cassandra Profita 40031 at http://nwpr.org Power Planners Ponder The Northwest Without A Nuclear Power Plant Numbers Debate Rages Over Northwest Nuclear Plant http://nwpr.org/post/numbers-debate-rages-over-northwest-nuclear-plant <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/121913AK_Columbiagenerating_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>There’s a new debate raging over the Northwest’s only commercial nuclear power plant. But it’s not about safety or how to dispose of nuclear waste.<p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 00:45:44 +0000 Anna King 38981 at http://nwpr.org Numbers Debate Rages Over Northwest Nuclear Plant No Exterior Leak From Hanford Tank, According To Department Of Energy http://nwpr.org/post/no-exterior-leak-hanford-tank-according-department-energy <p>Here’s an update on a double-hulled tank that’s leaking internally at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in southeast Washington. The Department of Energy said Friday that recent tests show there is no leak of radioactive material outside of the tank. But the State of Washington says it still wants Hanford managers to pump the liquids out of the tank immediately. Correspondent Anna King has more.</p><p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 13:43:19 +0000 Anna King 31332 at http://nwpr.org Japanese Officials Visit Hanford For Nuclear Cleanup Strategies http://nwpr.org/post/japanese-officials-visit-hanford-nuclear-cleanup-strategies <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/052013AK_Japan-Hanford_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The people overseeing the cleanup of the Fukushima nuclear power plant disaster are learning some valuable lessons from the long-running cleanup at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation. A Japanese government delegation recently toured some of the southeast Washington site.<p>In Japan, workers in gloves and masks are grinding down sidewalks and roads, wiping down rooftops and bagging contaminated soil. Tue, 21 May 2013 13:26:04 +0000 Anna King 27885 at http://nwpr.org Japanese Officials Visit Hanford For Nuclear Cleanup Strategies Northwest Nuclear Plant Scores Higher Safety Rating http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-nuclear-plant-scores-higher-safety-rating <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051513AK_Nukeplant_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal regulators say the Northwest’s only commercial nuclear power plant is now back on course after an 11-year safety miscalculation. The new designation means the Columbia Generating Station in southeast Washington gets a more relaxed inspection and oversight status.<p>Between 2000 and 2011, workers at the nuclear plant used faulty estimates for how much radiation could escape during a crisis. Wed, 15 May 2013 23:30:15 +0000 Anna King 27609 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Nuclear Plant Scores Higher Safety Rating Possible Leak At Hanford Nuclear Reservation http://nwpr.org/post/possible-leak-hanford-nuclear-reservation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/021513AK_Hanford_tankleak_Wrap_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>RICHLAND, Wash. – A tank full of radioactive waste at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in southeast Washington may be leaking. Friday the U.S. Department of Energy and its contractors say liquid levels in an underground radioactive waste tank are going down.<p>The single-hulled tank is called T-111. It’s located in central Hanford in a group of tanks called T-farm. Fri, 15 Feb 2013 22:52:22 +0000 Anna King 22853 at http://nwpr.org Possible Leak At Hanford Nuclear Reservation Idaho Nuclear Task Force Issues Final Report http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-nuclear-task-force-issues-final-report <p>The Idaho nuclear task force presented its final report to lawmakers Wednesday afternoon. It’s raising concerns from environmentalists who say it leaves the door open to transporting radioactive material into the state.</p><p>Earthfix reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Thu, 07 Feb 2013 14:33:39 +0000 Aaron Kunz 22370 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Nuclear Task Force Issues Final Report Idaho Governor Underscores Commitment to Keep Nuclear Waste Out of Idaho http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-governor-underscores-commitment-keep-nuclear-waste-out-idaho <p>Idaho Governor Butch Otter underscored his commitment Monday to keeping more spent nuclear waste from entering Idaho. EarthFix Reporter Aaron Kunz explains. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 14:16:50 +0000 Aaron Kunz 20853 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Governor Underscores Commitment to Keep Nuclear Waste Out of Idaho