Fishing http://nwpr.org en China Wants Better Testing For Arsenic In US Shellfish Exports http://nwpr.org/post/china-wants-better-testing-arsenic-us-shellfish-exports <p>For the first time, U.S. officials reported on recent meetings in Beijing to discuss China's ban on shellfish imports from most of the West Coast.</p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 23:46:46 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 43542 at http://nwpr.org China Wants Better Testing For Arsenic In US Shellfish Exports Arsenic To Blame For Chinese Ban On Shellfish Imports From Washington http://nwpr.org/post/arsenic-blame-chinese-ban-shellfish-imports-washington <p>China banned all imports of shellfish from Alaska to Northern California last week. Chinese officials said two samples of geoduck&nbsp;came back with high levels of arsenic and the toxin that causes paralytic shellfish poisoning.</p><p> Sat, 21 Dec 2013 01:27:55 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 39039 at http://nwpr.org Arsenic To Blame For Chinese Ban On Shellfish Imports From Washington Oregon Dungeness Crab Now in Stores http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-dungeness-crab-now-stores <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon crab fishermen are out on their boats bringing in pots brimming with </span>Dungeness<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> crab. The season started at midnight Sunday.</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 01:11:17 +0000 Rachael McDonald 38874 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Dungeness Crab Now in Stores Why is Oregon's Dungeness Crab Season Delayed? http://nwpr.org/post/why-oregons-dungeness-crab-season-delayed <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon's </span>Dungeness<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> crab season has been delayed until Dec.&nbsp;</span>16<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. The season normally starts around the first of the month, but the crustaceans don't have enough meat yet.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 01:01:56 +0000 Rachael McDonald 38124 at http://nwpr.org Why is Oregon's Dungeness Crab Season Delayed? Ghost Fishing Nets Being Vanquished In Puget Sound http://nwpr.org/post/ghost-fishing-nets-being-vanquished-puget-sound <p>Fishing nets are designed to ensnare fish. But when those nets are lost or abandoned at sea, they don’t stop catching fish. Instead, they become ghost nets – floating death traps for the marine life that continue to get trapped in their mesh.</p><p> Tue, 21 May 2013 14:00:54 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27889 at http://nwpr.org 'Fish Fraud' Lower In Seattle And Portland http://nwpr.org/post/fish-fraud-lower-seattle-and-portland <p>Seattle and Portland are among the best cities in the country to buy fish that is accurately labeled. That's according to a new report by a marine conservation group.</p><p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:50:07 +0000 David Steves 23153 at http://nwpr.org 'Fish Fraud' Lower In Seattle And Portland Idaho Voters To Decide Right To Hunt Amendment http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-voters-decide-right-hunt-amendment <p>Voters in Idaho will be asked next month to make some additions to the state constitution. House Joint Resolution 2 is less than two pages long and adds hunting, fishing and trapping to Idaho’s Constitution. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 00:20:55 +0000 Aaron Kunz 17285 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Voters To Decide Right To Hunt Amendment Tribes Oppose Oregon Measure to Ban Gillnetting http://nwpr.org/post/tribes-oppose-oregon-measure-ban-gillnetting <p>Columbia River Indian tribes are opposing a ballot measure that would ban commercial gillnet fishing in Oregon. Reporting for EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 13:43:48 +0000 Courtney Flatt 14790 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Moving Ahead With Phase-Out Of Gillnetting http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-moving-ahead-phase-out-gillnetting <p>Oregon is moving ahead with a proposed phase-out of commercial gillnetting along the Columbia River. A state fish and wildlife panel Tuesday gave the initial go-ahead to the proposal made by Gov. John Kitzhaber. The action comes as the governor tries to head off a more restrictive ballot measure. Wed, 15 Aug 2012 00:40:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 13444 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Moving Ahead With Phase-Out Of Gillnetting Icicle Seafood Company Fined Over Release Of Ozone-Depleting Refrigerant http://nwpr.org/post/icicle-seafood-company-fined-over-release-ozone-depleting-refrigerant A Seattle-based seafood company has been fined 430,000 dollars for violations of the Clean Air Act. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. <p> Icicle Seafoods harvests and sells salmon, crab Pollock and other fish from the waters of the Northwest and Alaska. And one of the key components of catching fish and bringing them to market – is refrigerant. <p> R-22, to be more specific. It’s a substance that’s used to keep refrigerators cold and it’s being phased out because it depletes the ozone layer. Tue, 14 Aug 2012 13:01:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 13398 at http://nwpr.org