Technology http://nwpr.org en The Balance Between Privacy And Public Safety Debated in Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/balance-between-privacy-and-public-safety-debated-oregon <p>Oregon lawmakers are wading into the debate on the balance between personal privacy and public safety. Advocates on both sides weighed in on the issue before an Oregon Senate panel Thursday.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 01:04:35 +0000 Chris Lehman 46715 at http://nwpr.org The Balance Between Privacy And Public Safety Debated in Oregon One County’s Controversial Move To Protect Homeowners From Landslide Risk http://nwpr.org/post/one-county-s-controversial-move-protect-homeowners-landslide-risk <p>There are landslide-prone areas across the mountainous Northwest. And many people choose to live in these risky, beautiful places. The question is: How can government strike a balance between people’s property rights, and safety? Wed, 28 May 2014 14:30:57 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 46610 at http://nwpr.org One County’s Controversial Move To Protect Homeowners From Landslide Risk App By WSU Team Lets Cops Know When They’re Fatigued http://nwpr.org/post/app-wsu-team-lets-cops-know-when-they-re-fatigued <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Researchers at Washington State University say the same kind of self-tracking technology that's become popular among smartphone users could also help police officers stay safer on the job. On Tuesday, a criminal justice professor will debut an app at a White House conference that monitors alertness.</span></p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 14:25:17 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39933 at http://nwpr.org App By WSU Team Lets Cops Know When They’re Fatigued Field Test Near Pasco Renews Attention On Viability Of Carbon Storage http://nwpr.org/post/field-test-near-pasco-renews-attention-viability-carbon-storage <p>This week, technicians in southeast Washington continue a field test to show how carbon dioxide could be injected and trapped deep underground. It's an experiment led by the Pacific Northwest National Lab. Injection of fifty tanker truck loads of CO2 will take about four weeks. Then comes about a year and a half of monitoring to see if the global warming gas stays locked away forever beneath ancient lava flows.</p><p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 14:05:54 +0000 Tom Banse 31693 at http://nwpr.org Field Test Near Pasco Renews Attention On Viability Of Carbon Storage Largest Underwater Observatory Preparing For Launch Off Northwest Coast http://nwpr.org/post/largest-underwater-observatory-preparing-launch-northwest-coast <p>Scientists are in the final weeks of preparation for the launch of the world’s largest underwater observatory.</p><p>It’s a 239 million dollar project that was funded by the National Science Foundation to better understand and monitor the depths of the Pacific Ocean – from volcanic eruptions to deep-sea earthquakes that could lead to tsunamis.</p><p>EarthFix’s Ashley Ahearn visited with the team and has this update.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:19:45 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 26040 at http://nwpr.org "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency http://nwpr.org/post/are-you-fan-enough-campaign-promotes-energy-efficiency <p>An alliance of Northwest power utilities kicked off a campaign this month to curb energy use by college football fans. EarthFix Reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:27:15 +0000 Aaron Kunz 16571 at http://nwpr.org "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency Assessing Technology Introduced At 1962 Seattle World’s Fair http://nwpr.org/post/assessing-technology-introduced-1962-seattle-world-s-fair <p>This year marks the 50th anniversary of the 1962 Seattle World’s Fair. The event gave visitors a peek at how they might communicate and use something called a computer in the 21st Century. Ahead a look at some of the technological innovations unveiled at Seattle's Space Age Worl'ds Fair. KUOW's Harriet Baskas and Jack Straw Productions reports. Tue, 09 Oct 2012 13:25:22 +0000 Harriet Baskas 16444 at http://nwpr.org Assessing Technology Introduced At 1962 Seattle World’s Fair Grant Funds Largest Wave Research Site In US http://nwpr.org/post/grant-funds-largest-wave-research-site-us Oregon will soon be home to the first large-scale wave research site in the United States. A $4 million grant from the Department of Energy is helping fund the facility. <p> The project will be connected to the electrical grid on-shore so that researchers can test how much power the buoys convert into electricity. Belinda Batten is with Oregon State University and will direct the facility. She says the project will help developers make wave energy more commercially available with large-scale technology. <p> Batten: “In order to test those devices, we have to connect to the grid. Thu, 27 Sep 2012 13:04:02 +0000 Courtney Flatt 15869 at http://nwpr.org State Parks Forced To Get Creative, Wired To Survive http://nwpr.org/post/state-parks-forced-get-creative-wired-survive <p>A wi-fi connection and smart phone bar codes could be coming to a state park near you. Those are just two of the ideas under consideration as Washington State Parks tries to recruit a new generation of visitors. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins explains. Fri, 15 Jun 2012 13:32:44 +0000 Austin Jenkins 10054 at http://nwpr.org State Parks Forced To Get Creative, Wired To Survive Moscow's New Intermodal Transit Center Part of Sustainable Development Trend http://nwpr.org/post/moscows-new-intermodal-transit-center-part-sustainable-development-trend University of Idaho and City of Moscow officials held a groundbreaking ceremony Wednesday for a new $2 million Intermodal Transit Center on the Palouse. The facility will be located on the east end of the university campus and serve as a hub for regional buses, taxis, and other transportation services. Thu, 24 May 2012 13:45:58 +0000 Glenn Mosley 8864 at http://nwpr.org