megaload http://nwpr.org en Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input http://nwpr.org/post/megaloads-opponents-seek-more-public-input <p>The latest dispute over whether huge megaload trucks should be allowed on Northwest roads is currently in Oregon. Opponents of the massive big-rigs are taking their objections to court.</p><p> Sat, 05 Apr 2014 00:14:22 +0000 Chris Lehman 43907 at http://nwpr.org Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input New Year Likely To Bring More 'Megaload' Fights http://nwpr.org/post/new-year-likely-bring-more-megaload-fights <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/123113JR_Megaloads_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Two large pieces of oil equipment crossing the Northwest are expected to start moving again after the New Year's holiday.<p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 01:09:20 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39493 at http://nwpr.org New Year Likely To Bring More 'Megaload' Fights North Idaho Homeowners Uneasy About Lakeside ‘Megaload’ Route http://nwpr.org/post/north-idaho-homeowners-uneasy-about-lakeside-megaload-route <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The huge piece of oil equipment wending its way through eastern Oregon is expected to cross over into Idaho early Saturday. Meanwhile, another so-called </span>“megaload”<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> project has emerged farther north. The proposed extra-heavy haul is making some homeowners nervous in a north Idaho resort town in Coeur </span>d'Alene<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 14:30:24 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39001 at http://nwpr.org North Idaho Homeowners Uneasy About Lakeside ‘Megaload’ Route Foul Weather, Not Protesters, Cause Latest Delay For Megaload http://nwpr.org/post/foul-weather-not-protesters-cause-latest-delay-megaload <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/120413AK_Strandberg_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A so-called megaload is stuck just a few miles south of Pendleton on it’s winding route through the Northwest.<p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 00:04:32 +0000 Anna King 38235 at http://nwpr.org Foul Weather, Not Protesters, Cause Latest Delay For Megaload Megaload Pulls Out Of Northeast Oregon Port Despite Protestors http://nwpr.org/post/megaload-pulls-out-northeast-oregon-port-despite-protestors <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A massive load of oil equipment is on its way to Canada, along a winding route that began near </span>Hermiston<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, in northeast Oregon. Protesters tried to stop the shipment by getting in the way. But the so-called </span>megaload<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> rumbled forward, on its journey through Oregon and Idaho.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 13:58:24 +0000 Anna King 38137 at http://nwpr.org Megaload Pulls Out Of Northeast Oregon Port Despite Protestors Limited Alternative Routes For GE’s ‘Megaloads’ http://nwpr.org/post/limited-alternative-routes-ge-s-megaloads <p>A subsidiary of General Electric says it’s looking for alternative options for moving huge water purification equipment from the Northwest to Alberta, Canada. A route through the middle of Idaho turned into a legal battle with the Nez Perce Tribe. But options appear to be limited.</p><p> Sat, 26 Oct 2013 00:59:45 +0000 Jessica Robinson 36323 at http://nwpr.org Limited Alternative Routes For GE’s ‘Megaloads’ Federal Judge Halts 'Megaloads' On Idaho Highway http://nwpr.org/post/federal-judge-halts-megaloads-idaho-highway <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/091313JR_Megaloads_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal judge has halted so-called "megaload" traffic through a wild and scenic corridor in Idaho.<p> Sat, 14 Sep 2013 00:00:45 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34147 at http://nwpr.org Federal Judge Halts 'Megaloads' On Idaho Highway Nez Perce Seek Court-Ordered Roadblock With Second 'Megaload' On Horizon http://nwpr.org/post/nez-perce-seek-court-ordered-roadblock-second-megaload-horizon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/080913JR_Megaloads_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Nightly protests on Idaho's Highway 12 delayed but did not stop a huge piece of oil equipment crossing the state. The so-called “megaload” passed through a scenic river corridor and entered Montana on Friday.<p>Now, the Nez Perce Tribe is asking a federal judge to prevent more extra-large shipments.<p>The tribe and Idaho Rivers United are suing the U.S. Forest Service for not stopping the enormous truck load. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 00:39:14 +0000 Jessica Robinson 32340 at http://nwpr.org Nez Perce Seek Court-Ordered Roadblock With Second 'Megaload' On Horizon Nez Perce Attempt To Halt Oil Sands Shipment Through Reservation http://nwpr.org/post/nez-perce-attempt-halt-oil-sands-shipment-through-reservation <p></p><p>The national debate over oil development took an unusual turn on an Idaho highway early Tuesday morning. For nearly two hours, members of the Nez Perce Tribe blocked the passage of a giant water evaporator headed for the oil sands of Alberta, Canada.</p><p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 13:24:51 +0000 Jessica Robinson 32100 at http://nwpr.org 'Megaload' To Hit The Road, Even Without Federal OK http://nwpr.org/post/megaload-hit-road-even-without-federal-ok <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/080513JR_Megaloads_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The head of the Nez Perce Tribe says he's "shocked" by the "audacity" of an Oregon shipper that plans to haul extra-large loads through a protected stretch of Idaho. The company says it will start moving a so-called "megaload" Monday night. That’s despite the fact that it doesn't have approval from the U.S. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 22:40:44 +0000 Jessica Robinson 32072 at http://nwpr.org 'Megaload' To Hit The Road, Even Without Federal OK