Electricity http://nwpr.org en Historic Site, Rock Art Cave Delay Transmission Line http://nwpr.org/post/historic-site-rock-art-cave-delay-transmission-line <p></p><p><em>Northwest history is colliding with the need to upgrade the region’s electric transmission grid.&nbsp;It’s happening on a windblown patch of riverfront property at the east end of the Columbia River Gorge.</em></p><p><em>The&nbsp;Bonneville&nbsp;Power Administration is trying to build a new transmission line across that land. But conflicts over historical preservation have increased the cost of the project to $185 million and stalled progress for more than a year. Colin&nbsp;Fogarty&nbsp;begins our story in&nbsp;Wishram, Washington.</em></p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 14:33:00 +0000 Colin Fogarty 31920 at http://nwpr.org Historic Site, Rock Art Cave Delay Transmission Line Canada Defends Hydropower 'Entitlement' From U.S. Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/canada-defends-hydropower-entitlement-us-northwest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/07/070313TB_Canadian_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Here's a little known fact that may affect your power bill: Every year, public utilities in the Northwest give British Columbia several hundred million dollars worth of electricity. That's to compensate Canada for managing the upper Columbia River to minimize flooding and maximize hydropower downstream.<p>Americans are pushing for a better deal, but the B.C. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 23:09:58 +0000 Tom Banse 30391 at http://nwpr.org Canada Defends Hydropower 'Entitlement' From U.S. Northwest An Electric Vehicle Charger To Help Balance The Grid http://nwpr.org/post/electric-vehicle-charger-help-balance-grid <p>Charging your electric vehicle could help balance the grid and save you money. Northwest researchers have developed a smart charger to do just that.</p><p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 23:33:38 +0000 Courtney Flatt 24386 at http://nwpr.org An Electric Vehicle Charger To Help Balance The Grid Northwest's Second Geothermal Power Plant Enters Service http://nwpr.org/post/northwests-second-geothermal-power-plant-enters-service <p></p><p>The Northwest's second geothermal power plant has entered service. A Boise-based company called U.S. Geothermal built the project at Neal Hot Springs, near the small town of Vale in eastern Oregon. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 01:21:09 +0000 Tom Banse 18637 at http://nwpr.org Northwest's Second Geothermal Power Plant Enters Service "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency http://nwpr.org/post/are-you-fan-enough-campaign-promotes-energy-efficiency <p>An alliance of Northwest power utilities kicked off a campaign this month to curb energy use by college football fans. EarthFix Reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:27:15 +0000 Aaron Kunz 16571 at http://nwpr.org "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency No Wind Tax Credit Could Mean Fewer Jobs http://nwpr.org/post/no-wind-tax-credit-could-mean-fewer-jobs <p>Those giant wind turbines that line ridges across the Northwest have brought green energy and construction jobs to many rural areas. But some of those jobs could disappear next year. That’s if Congress does not extend a tax credit that expires in December. Wind developers say the money is critical to the burgeoning industry. But critics say taxpayers should not subsidize wind energy. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 14:20:40 +0000 Courtney Flatt 16504 at http://nwpr.org No Wind Tax Credit Could Mean Fewer Jobs Northwest Utilities Exceed Green Power Minimum http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-utilities-exceed-green-power-minimum <p>Electric utilities in the Northwest have overachieved in meeting requirements to add renewable energy to their portfolios. That&#39;s according to fresh regulatory filings. Tue, 31 Jul 2012 00:00:33 +0000 Tom Banse 12501 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Utilities Exceed Green Power Minimum Conservation Group: ‘Take Permit’ Needs More Data http://nwpr.org/post/conservation-group-%E2%80%98take-permit%E2%80%99-needs-more-data <p>RICHLAND, Wash. &ndash; A national bird conservation group is asking the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to collect more information before it issues a permit for wind farms to kill golden eagles. Correspondent Courtney Flatt has more. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 14:14:08 +0000 Courtney Flatt 3455 at http://nwpr.org Conservation Group: ‘Take Permit’ Needs More Data