Science Fiction http://nwpr.org en An 'Unexpected' Treat For Octavia E. Butler Fans http://nwpr.org/post/unexpected-treat-octavia-e-butler-fans When a writer passes before her time, readers and fans often mourn not only the loss of her presence in the world, but the loss of the words she may yet have written. Such was the case when, in 2006, speculative fiction writer Octavia E. Butler died unexpectedly at her home in Seattle. Butler is one of the most celebrated authors in the genre, her novels and short stories regularly graced with Hugo and Nebula awards. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:31:00 +0000 K. Tempest Bradford 48807 at http://nwpr.org Balancing Signal And Noise In 'Landline' http://nwpr.org/post/balancing-signal-and-noise-landline I'm deeply conflicted about how to review this book. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Amal El-Mohtar 48752 at http://nwpr.org Balancing Signal And Noise In 'Landline' Post-Apocalyptic World Falls Flat In 'California' http://nwpr.org/post/post-apocalyptic-world-falls-flat-california Edan Lepucki's debut, <em>California</em>, sold thousands of copies even before the official publication date <a href="http://thecolbertreport.cc.com/videos/iywdca/amazon-s-scorched-earth-tactics-and-edan-lepucki-s--california-">when talk-show host<strong> </strong>Stephen Colbert urged readers to pre-order</a> it from a national independent chain as a protest against the "books-and-everything else" giant, Amazon. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 21:27:00 +0000 editor 48639 at http://nwpr.org Post-Apocalyptic World Falls Flat In 'California' Better (?) Living Through Chemistry In 'Afterparty' http://nwpr.org/post/better-living-through-chemistry-afterparty The question you have to ask yourself is, how juicy do you like your science fiction?<p>And I mean that in terms of a spectrum. To me, classic space operas are saltines — dusty and dry and fit only as a calmative after a long binge of weirder, more foreign flavors. William Gibson? He's ... moist. Rudy Rucker is a juicy peach. Paul Di Filippo is that same peach, a week gone and with a tooth stuck in it.<p>So ask yourself: How sticky do I want my chin and fingers when I'm done? Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:44:00 +0000 Jason Sheehan 44826 at http://nwpr.org Better (?) Living Through Chemistry In 'Afterparty' We Read The Year's Best New Sci-Fi — So You Don't Have To http://nwpr.org/post/we-read-years-best-new-sci-fi-so-you-dont-have The World Science Fiction Convention is a gathering of fans ranging from sci-fi movie buffs to gamers to comics aficionados — but at its heart, WorldCon is for lovers of literature, and it hosts the Hugo Awards, the Oscars of sci-fi and fantasy.<p>During the ceremony, one award is given that's not a Hugo: the John W Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 18:03:00 +0000 K. Tempest Bradford 43646 at http://nwpr.org We Read The Year's Best New Sci-Fi — So You Don't Have To Questions For Hugh Howey, Author Of 'WOOL' http://nwpr.org/post/questions-hugh-howey-author-wool <strong></strong>After a varied career as a computer repairman and yacht captain, Hugh Howey turned his hand to writing. He'd self-published several novels and stories when the sci-fi dystopia <em>WOOL</em>, originally just a novella, found sudden runaway success in 2011. Howey found himself writing sequel after sequel to keep up with reader demand — the latest volume, <em>Dust</em>, was released in August.<p>Over email, Howey describes <em>WOOL</em> as "like the TV show <em>Lost</em>, except with an ending that makes sense. Sat, 31 Aug 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Petra Mayer 33574 at http://nwpr.org Questions For Hugh Howey, Author Of 'WOOL' Author, Feminist, Pioneer: The Unlikely Queen Of Sci-Fi http://nwpr.org/post/author-feminist-pioneer-unlikely-queen-sci-fi <em>Stephen Burt latest book is the poetry collection, </em>Belmont.<p>We can go to science fiction for its sense of wonder, its power to take us to far-off places and future times. We can go to political fiction to understand injustice in our own time, to see what should change. Sun, 11 Aug 2013 16:29:00 +0000 Stephen Burt 32439 at http://nwpr.org Food In Science Fiction: In The Future, We Will All Eat Lasers http://nwpr.org/post/food-science-fiction-future-we-will-all-eat-lasers Near the beginning of the <em>Road Warrior</em> there is a scene in which Mel Gibson's character eats dog food.<p>It is a perfect moment, a beautiful moment, a completely <em>defining</em> moment — a pause in the post-apocalyptic action where the writers gave us everything we needed to know about Gibson's Max Rockatansky in one, long, wordless scene. Sat, 13 Jul 2013 18:44:00 +0000 Jason Sheehan 30988 at http://nwpr.org Food In Science Fiction: In The Future, We Will All Eat Lasers