EPA http://nwpr.org en Farmers Urge EPA To "Ditch The Rule" http://nwpr.org/post/farmers-urge-epa-ditch-rule <p>And now a story about farmers and water. It’s a common and often contentious issue out here in the West. Well now farmers across the country are also riled up. That’s because the U.S. EPA wants to revise the clean water act. As Correspondent Chris Lehman explains depending on who you talk to these revisions are either a “land grab” under the “brute force” of the federal government or a simple clarification of rules that ensure all Americans have clean water to drink. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:35:14 +0000 Chris Lehman 48453 at http://nwpr.org Farmers Urge EPA To "Ditch The Rule" Oregon Sues EPA Over Wood Stove Rules http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-sues-epa-over-wood-stove-rules <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100913CL_manning_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon is accusing the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency of dragging its feet in coming up with new wood-stove regulations. The state announced a lawsuit Wednesday against the federal agency.<p>Oregon was joined in the legal action by six other states, along with the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency in the Seattle-area.<p>Jeff Manning of the Oregon Department of Justice says those 25-year-old rules should be updated to require sales of newer, cleaner-burning stoves. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 00:20:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 35492 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Sues EPA Over Wood Stove Rules Tests On Idaho River Reveal Challenge Of Cleaning Up Waterways http://nwpr.org/post/tests-idaho-river-reveal-challenge-cleaning-waterways <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A river basin cleanup in north Idaho is showing just how difficult it is to remove long-term pollution from Northwest waterways. This month, the EPA is running tests on layers of muck from the bottom of the Coeur </span>d'Alene<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> River. It’s downstream from a federal </span>superfund<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> site.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:05:22 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34571 at http://nwpr.org Tests On Idaho River Reveal Challenge Of Cleaning Up Waterways Portland Manufacturer Challenges Its Ranking As Top Toxic Polluter http://nwpr.org/post/portland-manufacturer-challenges-its-ranking-top-toxic-polluter <p></p><p>Portland-based manufacturer Precision Castparts is denouncing a recent study that ranked the company number one in the nation for toxic air pollution.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:36:02 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33407 at http://nwpr.org Portland-Based Manufacturer Tops List Of Toxic Polluters http://nwpr.org/post/portland-based-manufacturer-tops-list-toxic-polluters <p></p><p>The Portland-based manufacturing firm Precision Castparts Corporation is the number one toxic air polluter in the country in a new ranking released by the University of Massachusetts.</p><p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 14:02:53 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33024 at http://nwpr.org Yakima Dairies Agree to Reduce Nitrate Contamination http://nwpr.org/post/yakima-dairies-agree-reduce-nitrate-contamination <p>Four Eastern Washington dairies have agreed to reduce pollution that’s been contaminating drinking water. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 14:25:38 +0000 Courtney Flatt 23892 at http://nwpr.org EPA Releases $305M Draft Clean Up Plan For Seattle's Duwamish River http://nwpr.org/post/epa-releases-305m-draft-clean-plan-seattles-duwamish-river <p></p><p>For over a decade, state and federal agencies have been trying to figure out how to clean up Seattle’s Duwamish River. The Duwamish was declared a superfund site in 2001. It’s contaminated with dioxins, PCBs and other hazardous chemicals left over from years of industrial use. The Environmental Protection Agency has just released their proposed plan for public review. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 00:36:01 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 23464 at http://nwpr.org Eugene Non-Profit Faces Loss Of Federal Stimulus Grant http://nwpr.org/post/eugene-non-profit-faces-loss-federal-stimulus-grant <p>EPA auditors are recommending that federal stimulus funds granted to a Eugene non-profit be taken back. They say Cascade Sierra Solutions, which works to clean up the US trucking industry, has problems with its books. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 13:03:38 +0000 Jes Burns 15426 at http://nwpr.org Eugene Non-Profit Faces Loss Of Federal Stimulus Grant Work Begins On Central Washington Superfund Site http://nwpr.org/post/work-begins-central-washington-superfund-site <p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has started the cleanup of a superfund site near Moses Lake in central Washington. As correspondent Anna King reports, this restoration has been in the works for decades.</p><p>The contaminated area is made up of an old Air Force airport, a county airport and some adjacent lands. Dumpsites there are loaded with chemicals like PCBs, lead and petroleum. The EPA has started testing and designing a treatment system to remove trichloroethylene from the groundwater at the superfund site. Tue, 12 Jun 2012 00:09:41 +0000 Anna King 9832 at http://nwpr.org Work Begins On Central Washington Superfund Site North Idaho Couple Celebrates Court Victory http://nwpr.org/post/north-idaho-couple-celebrates-court-victory <p>A north Idaho couple is celebrating a major legal victory at the nation&#39;s highest court. Justices on the U.S. Supreme Court ruled Wednesday that Mike and Chantell Sackett have the right to challenge a decision by federal regulators that their property is a protected wetland. Wed, 21 Mar 2012 23:10:39 +0000 Colin Fogarty 5277 at http://nwpr.org North Idaho Couple Celebrates Court Victory