Radiation http://nwpr.org en Hanford Tank Farms Get All-Clear After High Radiation Reading http://nwpr.org/post/hanford-tank-farms-get-all-clear-after-high-radiation-reading <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/090413AK_Hanford_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The tank farms at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in southeast Washington have the all-clear for work to resume after a high-radiation incident briefly shut down much of the site last month.<p>In late August, Hanford workers responded to an emergency of a high-radiation reading near a tank known as C-101.<p>In a new letter to Hanford workers, Manager for the Office of River Protection Kevin Smith says it turns out there was no leak. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 00:00:31 +0000 Anna King 33659 at http://nwpr.org Hanford Tank Farms Get All-Clear After High Radiation Reading Hanford: Tank Farm Closure From High Radiation Reading Given Federal All-Clear http://nwpr.org/post/hanford-tank-farm-closure-high-radiation-reading-given-federal-all-clear <p></p><p>The tank farms at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in southeast Washington have the all-clear for work to resume after a high-radiation incident briefly shut down much of the site last month.</p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 13:06:01 +0000 33615 at http://nwpr.org Minute Traces Of Radioactivity Found In Pacific Tuna http://nwpr.org/post/minute-traces-radioactivity-found-pacific-tuna <p>Researchers with Oregon State University and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration say they’ve detected minute amounts of radioactivity from the Fukushima reactor meltdown in albacore tuna caught along the West Coast. It's not considered a health threat at all. Wed, 24 Oct 2012 23:48:17 +0000 Tom Banse 17282 at http://nwpr.org Minute Traces Of Radioactivity Found In Pacific Tuna Radioactive Hanford Waste Tank Has A Confirmed Leak http://nwpr.org/post/radioactive-hanford-waste-tank-has-confirmed-leak <p>Managers at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation have confirmed that a radioactive waste tank has a slow leak. That waste isn’t getting into the environment. Richland Correspondent Anna King reports. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 13:40:39 +0000 Anna King 17178 at http://nwpr.org Radioactive Hanford Waste Tank Has A Confirmed Leak Hanford Machinery Gets Off Site With Radioactivity http://nwpr.org/post/hanford-machinery-gets-site-radioactivity <p>A federal contractor at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation mistakenly sent a contaminated excavator to a repair shop offsite several weeks ago. No one caught the mistake until the excavator was checked back in late Monday. Wed, 03 Oct 2012 13:30:33 +0000 Anna King 16169 at http://nwpr.org Hanford Machinery Gets Off Site With Radioactivity Tsunami Debris That Washes Ashore Tested For Radiation http://nwpr.org/post/tsunami-debris-washes-ashore-tested-radiation <p>Oregon State Parks managers have two new Geiger counters to scan possible tsunami debris that floats in from Japan. On the Washington coast, state health department scientists are now regularly checking marine debris and fish for possible radiation from last year&#39;s Japanese nuclear meltdown. The testing is mostly just to reassure the public, not out of grave concern that radiation will get here. Tue, 19 Jun 2012 00:18:29 +0000 Tom Banse 10222 at http://nwpr.org Tsunami Debris That Washes Ashore Tested For Radiation Trading Places: Pendleton To Fukushima And Reverse http://nwpr.org/post/trading-places-pendleton-fukushima-and-reverse <p>You might find it unsettling to move to a place where some residents routinely scan their groceries with a Geiger counter. Also in this place, automated radiation monitors stand guard outside parks and schools. The place we&#39;re talking about is Minamisoma, Japan... just down the road from the nuclear reactors that melted down last year. But a 23-year-old art instructor from Pendleton says volunteering in this shaken city is like living a dream. She&#39;s helping out in her hometown&#39;s sister city. Correspondent Tom Banse visited Japan&#39;s Fukushima Prefecture and has this report. Thu, 07 Jun 2012 13:51:35 +0000 Tom Banse 9617 at http://nwpr.org Trading Places: Pendleton To Fukushima And Reverse Small Radiation Leak Contained At Hanford http://nwpr.org/post/small-radiation-leak-contained-hanford <p>RICHLAND, Wash. &ndash; Hanford Nuclear Reservation managers say they have contained a few drips of radioactive condensation found near a waste container. Federal Department of Energy officials say the contamination did not get off site, and is not a danger to workers at the southeast Washington facility. Tue, 14 Feb 2012 02:27:12 +0000 Anna King 3080 at http://nwpr.org