NWPR Books http://nwpr.org en With A Good Twist Or Two, This Haunted 'House' Adds Plenty Of Stories http://nwpr.org/post/good-twist-or-two-haunted-house-adds-plenty-stories Don't pay too much attention to the shifty eyes in the old portrait. Same goes for the mysterious tapping down the hall of the vast family manor — and, for that matter, the secrets lurking in its attic. Don't even be fooled by the ghost.<p><em>The Hundred-Year House</em> may be crowded with the tropes and tricks of classic horror, but make no mistake: It's not a horror story. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Colin Dwyer 48750 at http://nwpr.org With A Good Twist Or Two, This Haunted 'House' Adds Plenty Of Stories Book Review: 'Shooting Star' http://nwpr.org/post/book-review-shooting-star Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>A 30-year-old novel has just been translated to English but keeps its Spanish name, "Muerte En Una Estrella." The author is Sergio Elizondo, and the translators are Rosaura Sanchez and Beatrice Pita. Our reviewer Alan Cheuse says it crackles.<p>ALAN CHEUSE, BYLINE: Elizondo finds a story written decades ago, but still fresh, in incidents from the Chicano civil rights movement of the 1960s and '70s. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:13:00 +0000 Alan Cheuse 48751 at http://nwpr.org In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero http://nwpr.org/post/little-engine-could-some-see-early-feminist-hero "Chug, chug, chug. Puff, puff, puff. Ding-dong, ding-dong."<p>The beloved tale of the little blue engine — who helps bring a broken-down train of toys to the good little boys and girls on the other side of the mountain — has been chugging along for a very long time. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 48697 at http://nwpr.org In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero Balancing Signal And Noise In 'Landline' http://nwpr.org/post/balancing-signal-and-noise-landline I'm deeply conflicted about how to review this book. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Amal El-Mohtar 48752 at http://nwpr.org Balancing Signal And Noise In 'Landline' For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder http://nwpr.org/post/one-crime-writer-peaceful-shetland-perfect-place-murder Crime writer Ann Cleeves puts it best in her novel <a href="http://www.npr.org/books/titles/329526105/dead-water-a-shetland-mystery" target="_blank">Dead Water</a>:<em> </em>"Shetland didn't do pretty. It did wild and bleak and dramatic."<p>The Shetland Islands are a damp and rocky place, with endless miles of green and gray. Humanity seems to cling to the land here like a few tenacious barnacles. "I love the idea of long, low horizons with secrets hidden underneath," Cleeves says.<p>These Scottish islands lie hundreds of miles from any mainland, as far north as the tip of Greenland. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:51:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 48759 at http://nwpr.org For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder Post-Apocalyptic World Falls Flat In 'California' http://nwpr.org/post/post-apocalyptic-world-falls-flat-california Edan Lepucki's debut, <em>California</em>, sold thousands of copies even before the official publication date <a href="http://thecolbertreport.cc.com/videos/iywdca/amazon-s-scorched-earth-tactics-and-edan-lepucki-s--california-">when talk-show host<strong> </strong>Stephen Colbert urged readers to pre-order</a> it from a national independent chain as a protest against the "books-and-everything else" giant, Amazon. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 21:27:00 +0000 editor 48639 at http://nwpr.org Post-Apocalyptic World Falls Flat In 'California' 'The Great Fish Swap': How America Is Downgrading Its Seafood Supply http://nwpr.org/post/great-fish-swap-how-america-downgrading-its-seafood-supply What's the most popular seafood in the U.S.? Shrimp. The average American eats more shrimp per capita than tuna and salmon combined. Most of that shrimp comes from Asia, and most of the salmon we eat is also imported. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:46:00 +0000 editor 48356 at http://nwpr.org 'The Great Fish Swap': How America Is Downgrading Its Seafood Supply Hard-Boiled Hero Jack Irish Lives, And Drinks, In A Shadowy Melbourne http://nwpr.org/post/hard-boiled-hero-jack-irish-lives-and-drinks-shadowy-melbourne Peter Temple writes prize-winning thrillers, four of them about his sometimes hapless investigator, Jack Irish. The books capture Melbourne, Australia: its pubs, racetracks, big boulevards rattling with traffic, and narrow alleys — called lanes — painted with graffiti.<p>Jack Irish was headed for a life as a successful suburban solicitor, or lawyer, when one of his criminal clients murdered Jack's wife, and Jack dropped the law to become a drunk. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:24:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 48414 at http://nwpr.org Hard-Boiled Hero Jack Irish Lives, And Drinks, In A Shadowy Melbourne Ja Rule: 'I Took It Upon Myself To Become A Man' http://nwpr.org/post/ja-rule-i-took-it-upon-myself-become-man <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hILwzc_a8AE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4QDigdVvnI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qsp4gQomUGw</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 12:55:00 +0000 NPR Staff 48321 at http://nwpr.org Ja Rule: 'I Took It Upon Myself To Become A Man' Author Plumbs The Human Psyche Through 'Animal Madness' http://nwpr.org/post/author-plumbs-human-psyche-through-animal-madness Transcript <p>DON GONYEA, HOST: <p>Oliver was anxious all the time. He demonstrated compulsive behavior, and he howled every time his parents left him alone at home. Oliver was a dog - a Bernese Mountain Dog.<p>But he, like many animals, displayed some amazingly human psychological traits. That was the inspiration for Laurel Braitman's new book. It's called "Animal Madness." It looks at the mental states and behaviors of animals and how they sometimes mirror our own. Laurel Braitman joins me now from KQED in San Francisco. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 19:16:00 +0000 editor 48320 at http://nwpr.org