Science http://nwpr.org en My Wine Won't Stop Crying — A Mystery In A Wineglass http://nwpr.org/post/my-wine-wont-stop-crying-mystery-wineglass <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgrTbvSnE50</p> Mon, 18 Nov 2013 19:29:35 +0000 Robert Krulwich 37487 at http://nwpr.org My Wine Won't Stop Crying — A Mystery In A Wineglass Bacteria On Dog Lovers' Skin Reveal Their Affection http://nwpr.org/post/bacteria-dog-lovers-skin-reveal-their-affection Well, it looks like there really is such as thing as a dog person.<p>Humans who share their homes with canines also share the similar bacterial houseguests on their skin, ecologists <a href="http://elife.elifesciences.org/content/2/e00458/article-info#ref-23">reported</a> Tuesday in the journal <em>eLIFE</em>.<p>In fact, two dog owners who don't even know each other have about as many of the skin bacteria in common as a married couple living together.<p>The signature doggie blend is a mixture of harmless bacteria from their tongues and paws, the report finds. Thu, 18 Apr 2013 18:05:00 +0000 editor 26112 at http://nwpr.org Bacteria On Dog Lovers' Skin Reveal Their Affection Rock Doc: The Bridge Fuel http://nwpr.org/post/rock-doc-bridge-fuel <p></p> Sat, 23 Mar 2013 00:02:04 +0000 Kirsten Peters 24724 at http://nwpr.org Rock Doc: The Bridge Fuel Let's Get Literal: Calculating Pi With Pies. Actual Pies http://nwpr.org/post/lets-get-literal-calculating-pi-pies-actual-pies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNiRzZ66YN0</p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 17:49:40 +0000 Robert Krulwich 24286 at http://nwpr.org Let's Get Literal: Calculating Pi With Pies. Actual Pies Real Or Fake? New Meat Alternatives Strive To Make It Hard To Tell http://nwpr.org/post/real-or-fake-new-meat-alternatives-strive-make-it-hard-tell <p>HOOD RIVER, Ore. -- Northwest-born Gardenburger and Tofurky are vegetarian alternatives to meat. They sell well, but they don&#39;t fool any meat lovers. This year, food companies from here and abroad aim to debut fake meat products that come closer than ever to mimicking the real thing. Dutch researchers claim they can grow hamburger in the laboratory from just a few bovine stem cells. But are people really craving a Petri-patty? Correspondent Tom Banse explores that question. Thu, 08 Mar 2012 14:13:40 +0000 Tom Banse 4497 at http://nwpr.org Real Or Fake? New Meat Alternatives Strive To Make It Hard To Tell They Did It To Pluto, But Not To Pink! Please Not Pink! http://nwpr.org/post/they-did-it-pluto-not-pink-please-not-pink <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9dqJRyk0YM</p> Tue, 06 Mar 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 4399 at http://nwpr.org They Did It To Pluto, But Not To Pink! Please Not Pink! Why Mt. Hood Never Erupts With A Bang http://nwpr.org/post/why-mt-hood-never-erupts-bang <p>MT. HOOD, Ore. -- Researchers at Oregon State University think they have figured out why Mt. Hood doesn&rsquo;t erupt with the same bang and violence as other Cascade volcanoes. Amelia Templeton reports. Wed, 15 Feb 2012 15:09:25 +0000 Amelia Templeton 3179 at http://nwpr.org Why Mt. Hood Never Erupts With A Bang Otter Creates Commission to Study Nuclear Energy Issues http://nwpr.org/post/otter-creates-commission-study-nuclear-energy-issues <p>Idaho Governor Butch Otter has created a nuclear energy commission to look at the future role of the Idaho National Laboratory.</p><p><br /> Thu, 09 Feb 2012 01:50:28 +0000 Sueann Ramella 2796 at http://nwpr.org Otter Creates Commission to Study Nuclear Energy Issues