Smoke http://nwpr.org en When Wildfire Smoke Gets Bad - Ways To Stay Healthy http://nwpr.org/post/when-wildfire-smoke-gets-bad-ways-stay-healthy <p>Hot and dry conditions are expected to create above-normal wildfire conditions in parts of the Northwest this summer. While relatively few people will have to flee the flames, many more will experience a side effect of the fires: thick, acrid smoke.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 00:53:42 +0000 Chris Lehman 47762 at http://nwpr.org When Wildfire Smoke Gets Bad - Ways To Stay Healthy Locals Left Behind In Sun Valley Worry About Economic Impact Of Fire http://nwpr.org/post/locals-left-behind-sun-valley-worry-about-economic-impact-fire <p></p><p>Not everyone fled Sun Valley, Idaho, when a huge wildfire threatened the resort area. Many locals remained in the surrounding communities and kept the stores, restaurants and gas stations open. Now, firefighters are gaining the upper hand. The smoke is clearing. But without the return of vacationers, many locals worry the real disaster is economic – and that one is just beginning.</p><p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:04:56 +0000 Jessica Robinson 32954 at http://nwpr.org Locals Left Behind In Sun Valley Worry About Economic Impact Of Fire Wildfire Smoke Leads to Emergency Room Visits in Southern Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/wildfire-smoke-leads-emergency-room-visits-southern-oregon-0 <p></p><p>A photo snapped by a NASA Satellite this week captured huge plumes of wildfire smoke blanketing Southern Oregon. More than 50,000 acres of forest have burned there. In cities like Shady Cove and Grants Pass, the amount of particle pollution has reached unhealthy levels for more than a week.</p><p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 15:05:48 +0000 Amelia Templeton 32303 at http://nwpr.org Wildfire Smoke Leads to Emergency Room Visits in Southern Oregon Northwest Smoke Makes Air In Some Areas Worse Than L.A. http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-smoke-makes-air-some-areas-worse-la <p>About a dozen wildfires are still burning in the Northwest, keeping the air hazy and unhealthy. But experts predict few, if any, long-term health effects. Correspondent Anna King reports.</p><p> Mon, 01 Oct 2012 23:09:05 +0000 Anna King 16082 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Smoke Makes Air In Some Areas Worse Than L.A. Smoke Creating Vicious Cycle In Northwest Skies http://nwpr.org/post/smoke-creating-vicious-cycle-northwest-skies <p>The fight against numerous large fires in central Washington is turning the corner. Since the weekend, fire bosses have been able to release nearly 400 firefighters from the blazes near Wenatchee. But forecasters say it may be a while before the Inland Northwest sees clear, blue skies again. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 23:50:55 +0000 Jessica Robinson 15719 at http://nwpr.org Smoke Creating Vicious Cycle In Northwest Skies Thousands Of Face Masks Distributed In Smoke-Weary Central Wash. http://nwpr.org/post/thousands-face-masks-distributed-smoke-weary-central-wash <p>Washington state's Department of Health has shipped more than 20,000 face masks to central Washington towns blanketed by wildfire smoke. Air pollution monitors in Wenatchee, Ellensburg and nearby towns are consistently showing the air is hazardous to breathe.</p><p> Sat, 22 Sep 2012 00:51:10 +0000 Tom Banse 15600 at http://nwpr.org Thousands Of Face Masks Distributed In Smoke-Weary Central Wash. Progress In Wildfire Fight, But Stagnant, Smoky Air Lingers http://nwpr.org/post/progress-wildfire-fight-stagnant-smoky-air-lingers <p>In central Washington, fire commanders report progress securing fire lines and limiting the spread of wildfires in the direction of threatened homes. But smoky air continues to stress thousands of people in Wenatchee, Cashmere, Entiat and Chelan.</p><p> Sat, 22 Sep 2012 00:27:38 +0000 Tom Banse 15598 at http://nwpr.org Progress In Wildfire Fight, But Stagnant, Smoky Air Lingers Central Wash. Fires Grow, Smoke Still A Major Problem http://nwpr.org/post/central-wash-fires-grow-smoke-still-major-problem <p>The wildfire situation in central Washington continues to worsen. A complex of lightning-sparked fires north of Ellensburg has grown to more than 30,000 acres. Mandatory evacuations are in place near Liberty, Wash., along Highway 97. Thu, 20 Sep 2012 23:13:48 +0000 Austin Jenkins 15539 at http://nwpr.org Central Wash. Fires Grow, Smoke Still A Major Problem Wildfire Smoke Closes Schools; Tree Faller Dies http://nwpr.org/post/wildfire-smoke-closes-schools-tree-faller-dies <p>A tree faller assigned to a wildfire burning north of Wenatchee has died. The U.S. Forest Service says the man became ill Monday afternoon from an unspecified cause. He was transported to a hospital where he later died. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 01:32:58 +0000 Tom Banse 15408 at http://nwpr.org Wildfire Smoke Closes Schools; Tree Faller Dies Residents Report Central Washington Smells Like Smoke http://nwpr.org/post/residents-report-central-washington-smells-smoke <p>The smell of smoke hangs in the air across much of central Washington Wednesday. At least four significant wildfires are burning around Wenatchee, making the skies hazy. Vicky Cibcki works at the Anjou Bakery near the town of Cashmere. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 13:16:11 +0000 Colin Fogarty 15125 at http://nwpr.org Residents Report Central Washington Smells Like Smoke