sexual assault http://nwpr.org en WSU, U-Idaho Under Investigation For Sex Assault Complaints http://nwpr.org/post/wsu-u-idaho-under-investigation-sex-assault-complaints <p>Washington State University and the University of Idaho are among the schools under investigation over their handling of sexual assault cases. Federal law requires universities to investigate reports of sexual violence and harassment, and to take steps to prevent future incidents. The U.S. Department of Education released a list of 55 colleges and universities they say may have broken the law.</p><p> Fri, 02 May 2014 00:30:31 +0000 Jessica Robinson 45268 at http://nwpr.org WSU, U-Idaho Under Investigation For Sex Assault Complaints Book News: Author Of Controversial 'Seduction Guide' Apologizes http://nwpr.org/post/book-news-author-controversial-seduction-guide-apologizes <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7mstfCms6aE</p> Tue, 25 Jun 2013 11:26:00 +0000 Annalisa Quinn 29922 at http://nwpr.org Patty Murray In Seattle To Discuss Efforts To Protect Victims Of Military Sexual Assault http://nwpr.org/post/patty-murray-seattle-discuss-efforts-protect-victims-military-sexual-assault <p>Washington Senator Patty Murray was in Seattle Friday discussing her legislation aimed at combating military sexual assault.</p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 23:35:55 +0000 Patricia Murphy 28535 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Harassment Lawsuit Gets Congress Members Attention http://nwpr.org/post/wash-harassment-lawsuit-gets-congress-members-attention <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A sexual harassment lawsuit against Evans Fruit near Yakima, Wash., came under scrutiny this week during a congressional hearing.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The feds recently lost this expensive, high-profile case, and some Congress members are now asking… “Was it worth it?”</span></p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 00:05:30 +0000 Liz Jones 28058 at http://nwpr.org Washington Senator Patty Murray Introduces Bill To Combat Military Assault http://nwpr.org/post/washington-senator-patty-murray-introduces-bill-combat-military-assault <p>In its latest report, the Department of Defense says more than 2,700 service members reported being sexually assaulted in 2012.&nbsp;Tuesday, Washington Senator Patty Murray introduced a new bill she says will help better protect victims of military sexual assault from intimidation and systemic challenges.</p><p> Tue, 07 May 2013 23:03:35 +0000 Patricia Murphy 27143 at http://nwpr.org Sex Abuse Survivors Want To Eliminate Statute Of Limitations http://nwpr.org/post/sex-abuse-survivors-want-eliminate-statute-limitations <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/04/050813VA_AbuseBill_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. - Survivors of childhood sex abuse are lobbying in Salem to eliminate the time limit to press charges against their perpetrators. A committee held a hearing on a new bill Monday.<p>Letty Merritt, with the group OAASIS, is an advocate for sex abuse survivors. She says she was abused by four male relatives when she was younger. It wasn’t until her mid-30s, after years of therapy that she was finally able to speak out and press charges against her abusers. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 23:04:19 +0000 Virginia Alvino 25552 at http://nwpr.org Sex Abuse Survivors Want To Eliminate Statute Of Limitations Portland Man Files Lawsuit Claiming Sexual Abuse By Eugene Pastor http://nwpr.org/post/portland-man-files-lawsuit-claiming-sexual-abuse-eugene-pastor <p>A Portland man is suing the Oregon-Idaho Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church for sexual abuse he claims he suffered at the hands of a now-deceased Eugene pastor.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 01:10:05 +0000 Rachel McDonald 20606 at http://nwpr.org Lawsuit Alleges More Abuse Of Female Inmates http://nwpr.org/post/lawsuit-alleges-more-abuse-female-inmates <p>A new lawsuit alleges sexual abuse by workers at Oregon&#39;s only prison for women. It&#39;s the latest in a series of lawsuits brought by female inmates at the institution in Wilsonville. Tue, 26 Jun 2012 23:14:38 +0000 Chris Lehman 10679 at http://nwpr.org Lawsuit Alleges More Abuse Of Female Inmates