irrigation http://nwpr.org en Washington Pot Growers May Not Get Federal Irrigation Water http://nwpr.org/post/washington-pot-growers-may-not-get-federal-irrigation-water <p>Farmers in eastern Washington who want to get into the marijuana business may face an immediate hurdle. Right now the U.S. government is deciding whether it will give growers access to federal water. The agricultural heart of the state depends on these irrigation systems.</p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 00:52:08 +0000 Anna King 45158 at http://nwpr.org Washington Pot Growers May Not Get Federal Irrigation Water Farmers Struggle To Secure Fish Screens And Water In Time http://nwpr.org/post/farmers-struggle-secure-fish-screens-and-water-time <p>Dozens of central Washington fruit farmers are still high and dry without water for their valuable fruit trees. Many irrigation pipes don’t reach the lowered Columbia River behind the cracked Wanapum Dam.</p><p>But it turns out the farmers’ rush for water is now being slowed because of concerns over endangered tiny baby salmon.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 00:42:02 +0000 Anna King 43301 at http://nwpr.org Farmers Struggle To Secure Fish Screens And Water In Time Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River http://nwpr.org/post/washington-fruit-farmers-scramble-irrigate-lowered-columbia-river <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">And now an update on the cracked </span>Wanapum<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Dam on the Columbia River in Eastern Washington. &nbsp;Dam engineers are continuing to keep the pool behind the ailing structure drawn down to relieve pressure. &nbsp;So far they don’t know how bad the crack in the dam’s spillway is, but they are still investigating.</span></p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 13:51:15 +0000 Anna King 43125 at http://nwpr.org Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River Trinity River Water Could Save Klamath Fish, But California Farmers Need It Too http://nwpr.org/post/trinity-river-water-could-save-klamath-fish-california-farmers-need-it-too <p>Water struggles in the Klamath Basin are spreading to the Trinity River. Managers at the federal Bureau of Reclamation say by releasing extra water from the Trinity into the Klamath River, they may avoid a fish kill.</p><p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 13:54:05 +0000 Devan Schwartz 31333 at http://nwpr.org Temporary Rules Protect Drinking Water For People And Cattle In The Klamath Basin http://nwpr.org/post/temporary-rules-protect-drinking-water-people-and-cattle-klamath-basin <p>The Oregon Water Resources Commission has approved temporary rules that prioritize drinking water for people and cattle in the Klamath Basin.</p><p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 13:39:23 +0000 Amelia Templeton 30299 at http://nwpr.org Irrigation Canal Rupture Could Stress Many Eastern Washington Farms http://nwpr.org/post/irrigation-canal-rupture-could-stress-many-eastern-washington-farms <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/050113AK_Canal_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A major irrigation canal has sprung a leak in Eastern Washington. That could stress crops across a huge swath of the Columbia Basin just as the weather inches up into the 80s this weekend.<p>The river-like Main Canal of the aging Columbia Basin Project is largely out of commission. Six concrete panels that line it buckled and have to be replaced. Wed, 01 May 2013 23:58:28 +0000 Anna King 26830 at http://nwpr.org Irrigation Canal Rupture Could Stress Many Eastern Washington Farms