TED http://nwpr.org en Can Autism Be An Asset? http://nwpr.org/post/can-autism-be-asset <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/255743572/overcoming" target="_blank">Overcoming</a>.<p><strong>About Temple Grandin's TEDTalk</strong><p><a href="http://www.colostate.edu/templegrandin/" target="_blank">Temple Grandin</a> struggled with autism until she realized her ability to "think in pictures" allows her to solve problems that others can't.<p><strong>About Temple Grandin</strong><p>Temple Grandin is a professor of animal science and a renowned expert on cattle. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 16:24:00 +0000 editor 39653 at http://nwpr.org Can Autism Be An Asset? What's It Like To Be Young And Bullied? http://nwpr.org/post/whats-it-be-young-and-bullied <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/255743572/overcoming" target="_blank">Overcoming</a>.<p><strong>About Shane Koyczan's TEDTalk</strong><p><a href="http://www.shanekoyczan.com/" target="_blank">Shane Koyczan</a> describes growing up endlessly tormented by bullies. When he turned to spoken-word poetry to cope, he found that millions related to his anti-bullying message.<p><strong>About Shane Koyczan</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/Koyczan" target="_blank">Shane Koyczan</a> is a poet, author and performer. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 15:48:00 +0000 editor 39517 at http://nwpr.org What's It Like To Be Young And Bullied? What's The Real Story Of David And Goliath? http://nwpr.org/post/whats-real-story-david-and-goliath <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/11/05/243293489/misconceptions" target="_blank">Misconceptions</a>.<p><strong>About Malcolm Gladwell's TEDTalk</strong><p>The story of David and Goliath has transcended its biblical origins to become a common shorthand for unlikely victory. But, asks author Malcolm Gladwell, is that really what the David and Goliath story is about?<p><strong>About Malcolm Gladwell</strong><p><a href="http://gladwell.com/" target="_blank">Malcolm Gladwell</a> is a staff writer for the <em>New Yorker</em> magazine. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 22:44:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 37559 at http://nwpr.org What's The Real Story Of David And Goliath? What Does Electroshock Therapy Feel Like? http://nwpr.org/post/what-does-electroshock-therapy-feel <em>Part 1 of the </em>TED Radio Hour <em>episode <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/06/24/195193839/turning-points" target="_blank">Turning Points</a>. Watch Sherwin Nuland's other TEDTalk on <a href="http://www.ted.com/talks/sherwin_nuland_on_hope.html" target="_blank">hope</a>. </em><p><strong>About Sherwin Nuland's TEDTalk</strong><p><a href="http://yalemedicine.yale.edu/winter2012/people/faculty/sherwin_nuland.profile">Sherwin Nuland</a> is a successful surgeon and author known for his bestselling books on the nature of life and death. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:12:00 +0000 editor 30122 at http://nwpr.org What Does Electroshock Therapy Feel Like? Can Everything Change In An Instant? http://nwpr.org/post/can-everything-change-instant <em>Part 4 of the </em>TED Radio Hour<em> episode <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/06/24/195193839/turning-points" target="_blank">Turning Points</a>.</em><p><strong>About Joshua Prager's TEDTalk</strong><p>When <a href="http://www.joshuaprager.com/" target="_blank">Joshua Prager</a> was 19, a devastating bus accident left him paralyzed on his left side. He returned to Israel twenty years later to find the driver who turned his world upside down. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:12:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30103 at http://nwpr.org Can Everything Change In An Instant? TedX Tacoma Explores Concept Of 'Desire' http://nwpr.org/post/tedx-tacoma-explores-concept-desire <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The annual </span>TedX<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Tacoma returns on May 3 in the spirit of TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) to share “ideas worth spreading.”</span></p> Mon, 29 Apr 2013 22:58:38 +0000 Gillian Coldsnow 26700 at http://nwpr.org TedX Tacoma Explores Concept Of 'Desire'