Sports http://nwpr.org en Some Northwest Kids Stand On The Backs Of Galloping Horses For Sport http://nwpr.org/post/some-northwest-kids-stand-backs-galloping-horses-sport <p>MOSES LAKE, Wash. &ndash; Some kids play soccer, others play chess and some stand on the backs of galloping horses. Lately, equestrian vaulting is finding a foothold with children in the Northwest. Parents say like any sport it teaches concentration and gives kids a boost of confidence. Correspondent Anna King reports. Wed, 04 Apr 2012 12:59:47 +0000 Anna King 6075 at http://nwpr.org Some Northwest Kids Stand On The Backs Of Galloping Horses For Sport High School Athletics Helmet Proposal Stirs Debate http://nwpr.org/post/high-school-athletics-helmet-proposal-stirs-debate <p>RENTON -- A proposal to reduce concussions in high school football is creating a lively debate among some of the state&rsquo;s high school coaches. Monday, that proposal will be a big focus at a meeting of the Washington Interscholastic Athletics Association in Renton. Ruby de Luna has details on the plan, known as Amendment 6. Mon, 12 Mar 2012 12:12:46 +0000 Ruby de Luna 4696 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Boxer Wins At Olympic Trials http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-boxer-wins-olympic-trials <p>SPOKANE, Wash. - A 27-year-old pipe fitter from the Northwest has earned a spot on the USA&#39;s first-ever women&#39;s Olympic boxing team. Queen Underwood of Seattle is considered to be one of the top contenders for the gold in boxing &ndash; male or female &ndash; at the 2012 London Games. Correspondent Jessica Robinson has more. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 14:25:18 +0000 Jessica Robinson 3458 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Boxer Wins At Olympic Trials Female Seattle Boxer Fights Battle Of The Mind In Face Of Olympics http://nwpr.org/post/female-seattle-boxer-fights-battle-mind-face-olympics <p>This year, women will box for the gold for the first time ever at the Summer Olympics in London. One of the top contenders is a boxer from the Northwest named Queen Underwood. Jessica Robinson reports.</p><p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 00:51:03 +0000 Jessica Robinson 3224 at http://nwpr.org Female Seattle Boxer Fights Battle Of The Mind In Face Of Olympics When You Think Spokane, City Wants You To Think Sports http://nwpr.org/post/when-you-think-spokane-city-wants-you-think-sports <p>SPOKANE, Wash. - The best amateur women boxers from around the country will participate in a historic event next week : team trials for the first-ever Olympic women&#39;s boxing competition. The location for the event is Spokane. As Jessica Robinson reports, the city has worked to brand itself as a sports destination. Fri, 10 Feb 2012 01:03:29 +0000 Jessica Robinson 2880 at http://nwpr.org When You Think Spokane, City Wants You To Think Sports Three Sisters Don't Pull Punches In Former Men-Only Sport http://nwpr.org/post/three-sisters-dont-pull-punches-former-men-only-sport <p>WENATCHEE, Wash. - Up until the last few decades it was considered indecent for women to box. This year, women&rsquo;s boxing will make its Olympic debut in the Summer Games of London. The contenders for the first-ever U.S. Olympic women&#39;s boxing team face off in Spokane Feb. 13-19. It&#39;s a big development on the international stage. But as Jessica Robinson reports, the face of boxing has already been changing in small clubs across the Northwest. Thu, 09 Feb 2012 13:56:58 +0000 Jessica Robinson 2820 at http://nwpr.org Three Sisters Don't Pull Punches In Former Men-Only Sport