WWII http://nwpr.org en On D-Day, Oregon Dedicates World War II Memorial http://nwpr.org/post/d-day-oregon-dedicates-world-war-ii-memorial <p>In Oregon, D-Day meant the dedication of a <a href="http://www.oregonwwiimemorial.com/">long-awaited memorial honoring World War II vets</a>. Hundreds turned out for a ceremony Friday on the 70th anniversary of the Allied invasion of western Europe.</p><p> Sat, 07 Jun 2014 00:05:34 +0000 Chris Lehman 47128 at http://nwpr.org On D-Day, Oregon Dedicates World War II Memorial 'They Deserve The Honor:' Oregon's World War II Memorial Set To Open http://nwpr.org/post/they-deserve-honor-oregons-world-war-ii-memorial-set-open <p>June 6 is the 70th anniversary of the Allied invasion of western Europe. And this year’s D-Day will be especially meaningful for World War II veterans in Oregon. The state's long-awaited World War II Memorial will open on that day. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman spoke with one veteran of the conflict who plans to attend the dedication ceremony. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:23:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 46902 at http://nwpr.org 'They Deserve The Honor:' Oregon's World War II Memorial Set To Open Police Finish Arrests, Bail Set For First Suspect In Vet Killing http://nwpr.org/post/police-finish-arrests-bail-set-first-suspect-vet-killing <p></p><p>A judge in Spokane has set a steep bail for the first of two 16-year-old males charged with 1st degree robbery and 1st degree murder. Both males are accused of robbing and beating to death 88-year old Delbert Belton, a World War II veteran.</p><p> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 13:47:08 +0000 Paige Browning 33197 at http://nwpr.org Washington Veteran Having Difficulty Repatriating Captured War Flag http://nwpr.org/post/washington-veteran-having-difficulty-repatriating-captured-war-flag <p>Wednesday will mark the 67th anniversary of the Japanese surrender to end World War Two. With each passing anniversary, there are fewer and fewer living witnesses to the event. Correspondent Tom Banse reports time is also running low for an aging U.S. Marine veteran who wants to return a captured Japanese war flag. Mon, 13 Aug 2012 12:55:15 +0000 Tom Banse 13330 at http://nwpr.org Washington Veteran Having Difficulty Repatriating Captured War Flag Oregon Breaks Ground On New WWII Memorial http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-breaks-ground-new-wwii-memorial <p>Wednesday, state officials and veterans broke out the shovels in Willson Park on the grounds of the state capitol in Salem.</p><p>Once completed, the privately funded memorial will feature a 33 foot high granite obelisk engraved with the names of the nearly 4,000 Oregon WWII service members who were killed in action.</p><p>Former Oregon Legislator and World War II vet Bill Markham says it&rsquo;s about time. Thu, 07 Jun 2012 00:54:30 +0000 Virginia Alvino 9592 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Breaks Ground On New WWII Memorial Life at Big Pasco: La Dona Madison and Michael Madison http://nwpr.org/post/life-big-pasco-la-dona-madison-and-michael-madison <p>La Dona Madison worked at the &quot;Big Pasco&quot; military base in Washington during World War II. It was a busy place with soldiers eveywhere but not just American soldiers. She tells her son, Michael Madison, about some unusual guests at the base.</p> Wed, 08 Feb 2012 14:51:48 +0000 Sueann Ramella 2746 at http://nwpr.org Life at Big Pasco: La Dona Madison and Michael Madison