Dams http://nwpr.org en Tribes Optimistic About Returning Salmon to Upper Columbia Basin http://nwpr.org/post/tribes-optimistic-about-returning-salmon-upper-columbia-basin <p>Hydropower dams built without fish ladders have blocked migratory fish from the upper reaches of the Columbia and Snake Rivers for decades. Tribal leaders from across the region gathered for the past two days in Portland to strategize how to return salmon to their full historic range.</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 00:56:47 +0000 Tom Banse 44916 at http://nwpr.org Tribes Optimistic About Returning Salmon to Upper Columbia Basin Wanapum Dam Stabilizes With Drawdown, Engineers Say http://nwpr.org/post/wanapum-dam-stabilizes-drawdown-engineers-say <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030414AK_Damupdate3_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>As of Tuesday engineers say the Wanapum Dam’s major crack is stabilizing with the drawdown of the pool behind it.<p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 00:03:47 +0000 Anna King 42308 at http://nwpr.org Wanapum Dam Stabilizes With Drawdown, Engineers Say Dams Help The NW Cope With Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/dams-help-nw-cope-climate-change <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new study suggests Columbia River dams are helping the Northwest cope with climate change.</span></p><p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 13:23:52 +0000 David Steves 34776 at http://nwpr.org Dams Help The NW Cope With Climate Change Feds Say Dams Are Working Fine For Columbia Salmon http://nwpr.org/post/feds-say-dams-are-working-fine-columbia-salmon <p></p><p>Not much would change for dam operations on the Columbia River under the federal government’s new draft plan for protecting endangered salmon and steelhead.</p><p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 12:55:50 +0000 Courtney Flatt 33911 at http://nwpr.org Feds Say Dams Are Working Fine For Columbia Salmon Sediment Woes For Port Angeles Water Treatment Facility Put Elwha Dam Removal On Hold http://nwpr.org/post/sediment-woes-port-angeles-water-treatment-facility-put-elwha-dam-removal-hold <p>The largest dam removal in history is on hold.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dam removal on the Elwha River has been temporarily halted because massive amounts of sediment released from above the dams have clogged one of the city’s water treatment facilities.</span></p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 01:00:27 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 26320 at http://nwpr.org Sediment Woes For Port Angeles Water Treatment Facility Put Elwha Dam Removal On Hold Research Helps Design Fish-Friendlier Turbines http://nwpr.org/post/research-helps-design-fish-friendlier-turbines <p>When salmon swim through dam turbines, the changes in pressure can be catastrophic to their bodies. Researchers are trying to figure out how improve fish survival rates. And the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is paying attention. Reporting for EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 14:17:56 +0000 Courtney Flatt 21316 at http://nwpr.org Research Helps Design Fish-Friendlier Turbines Farmers and Tribes Extend Klamath Restoration Deal For Two More Years http://nwpr.org/post/farmers-and-tribes-extend-klamath-restoration-deal-two-more-years <p></p><p>Farmers and tribes have voted to extend a restoration deal that could lead to the removal of four dams on the Klamath River. The deal was set to expire today. Tue, 01 Jan 2013 01:31:45 +0000 Amelia Templeton 20520 at http://nwpr.org Klamath Tribes and Farmers Consider Extending Water Agreement http://nwpr.org/post/klamath-tribes-and-farmers-consider-extending-water-agreement <p>A major water rights agreement in the Klamath Basin is set to expire in December 31st. Amelia Templeton from our EarthFix team reports that farmers, tribes, and power company PacifiCorp are getting behind an extension. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:13:04 +0000 Amelia Templeton 18597 at http://nwpr.org Rep. Hastings Questions Panel on Dams, Hydropower http://nwpr.org/post/rep-hastings-questions-panel-dams-hydropower <p>A Washington congressmen returned to his hometown Wednesday to promote a bill protecting hydropower dams from removal. Courtney Flatt of EarthFix reports from Pasco, Washington. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 13:37:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 13611 at http://nwpr.org Earthquake Study Raises Risk Potential Around Central Washington Dams http://nwpr.org/post/earthquake-study-raises-risk-potential-around-central-washington-dams <p>Central Washington was considered at low risk for earthquakes back when big hydropower dams went up on the Columbia River many decades ago. But a recently completed seismic hazard assessment has found greater earthquake potential for the area than previously thought. Now the dam owners have to figure out how to respond. Seismic retrofits could cost ratepayers across the region hundreds of millions of dollars. Correspondent Tom Banse has this exclusive report. Tue, 14 Aug 2012 12:54:29 +0000 Tom Banse 13396 at http://nwpr.org Earthquake Study Raises Risk Potential Around Central Washington Dams